Daughter of Frank and Mary Catherine Wonch. Born in New York. MarriedIsaac Seymour Mudge, M.D. in Michigan and had at least 10 known children.Died in Wales Twp., St. Clair Co., Michigan. Cause of death: Cancer ofstomach.
ALTERNATE DATE OF DEATH: Jan 13 1885
Evangeline A. (Foote) Pugsley, 94, a 65-year resident of Framingham
PROVIDENCE, R.I. -- Evangeline A. (Foote) Pugsley, 94, a 65-year resident of Framingham, died Sunday, Aug. 1, 2004, in Providence, R.I.
Born in Dorchester, she was the daughter of the late Harvey W. and Lena (Ilsley) Foote.
She a graduate of Watertown High School and Deaconess Hospital School of Nursing. She was a member of the Deaconess Alumnae Association and one of the original participants in the Framingham Heart Study.
A longtime active member of Grace Congregational Church, she moved to Barrington, R.I., in 2001. She will be fondly remembered for her kind heart and interest in other people.
She leaves her son, Roland Pugsley and his wife, Sharon, of Barrington, and her daughter, Jean Sherbeck and her husband, Stuart, of Issaquah, Wash.; six grandchildren; and five great-grandchildren.
A memorial service will be held Monday, Aug. 16, at 11 a.m. at Grace Congregational Church, 73 Union Ave., Framingham.
Funeral arrangements are under the direction of the William J. Smith and Son Funeral Home in Warren, R.I.
Wednesday, August 11, 2004
She was the widow Meek when she married Rupert.
Birgit D. Swanson, June 11, 1983, beloved wife of the late Rudolph;loving mother of Anna May Swanson, Norma Foelschow and Rudolph Swanson;dear sister of Elna Persson. Memorial service Sunday, 3 p.m. at NelsonFuneral Chapel, 5149-51 N. Ashland Ave., at Foster.
Chicago Tribune, 12 June 1983
Age 86. August 16, 2006 of Southgate. Loving father of Sandra (Gary)Kirkham, James Jr. (Nancy) and Tina. Also survived by four grandchildrenand eight great grandchildren. Preceded in death by first wife Ruby,second wife Elsie and daughter Linda Wardrop. Arrangements by John MolnarFuneral Home, Southgate Chapel
Detroit Free Press, 20 August 2006
He was active in the Boston Rotary Club from 1946 to 1977, was a memberof the Russell Masonic Lodge, Arlington, served on the executive board ofthe Salvation Army's South End Boy's Club, and also was a member of theGreater Boston Chamber of Commerce and the Congregational Church ofHarwich Port.
Abstract from Boston Globe, 21 Aug 1981
Sven R. Swanson, March 20, 1981, in California, beloved husband of Birgit Dagmar; loving father of Anna May Swanson, Norma Sutcliffe and Curt"Rudy" Swanson; fond brother of Esther Swanson in Sweden. VisitationTuesday from 9 a.m. until time of services 11 a.m., at Nelson FuneralChapel, 5149-51 N. Ashland Ave., at Foster. Interment Parkholm. Member ofSwedish Engineers' Club. 561-5147.
Chicago Tribune, 23 March 1981
The parents of Thomas were Cornelius Gray and Mary McDaniels.
Richard Egerden was the only known son of Rychard Egerden. He was christened at the Parish Church in Wye on June 5, 1539, the parish record reading: "Richard Egerden the Son of Rychard was baptized on the fyth day of June Ano  [WPR]. Richard was a tanner by trade and resided in the village of Brook throughout his life. The parish of Brook was formed from the larger parish of Wye in the 1560's. Thus, while Richard was christened at the Wye Parish Church, all subsequent records of his family are found in the registers of the Brook Parish Church [see Brook Parish Registers; Bishops Transcripts, Volume 30; FHL #1751592, item #5 - hereafter cited as BPR]. Richard was listed as a Sideman in the Brook Parish Register under the year 1581 [BPR, pg. 16].
Richard Egerden was married twice. By his first wife, Tamson (Thomasine), he is known to have had at least four children (possibly others who died young):
1. GREGORY3, christened at the Brook Parish Church on October 8, 1571 [BPR, pg. 6].
2. ELIZABETH, christened at the Brook Parish Church on March 13, 1575/6 [BPR, pg. 10].
3. MICHAEL, christened at the Brook Parish Church on February 1, 1579/80 [BPR, pg. 14].
He married (1) Joan Paine; and (2) Joan Wickens.
Michael was buried at Faversham, County Kent on March 8, 1628/9.
4. JOAN, married William Higgenson.
The burial of Richard's first wife was recorded in the Brook Parish Registers as follows: "Tamson Egerdon the wiffe of Richard Egerdon was buried the 6th day of September 1604" [BPR, pg. 38]. On the same page of the parish register was entered Richard's remarriage, that is: "Richard Egerden and Elizabeth Wiggent were married the 9th day of April 1605" [BPR, pg. 38]. Richard and his second wife had two children - twins:
5. WILLIAM, christened at the Brook Parish Church on January 27, 1607/8 [BPR, pg. 41].
6. FRANCES, christened at the Brook Parish Church on January 27, 1607/8 [BPR, pg. 41].
She married (1) Edward Goldsmith; and (2) John Coveney.
Richard Egerden died in the village of Brook in December 1609, and was buried at the Brook Parish Church on December 31st of that year [BPR, pg. 43]. He left a Last Will and Testament, dated October 28, 1609, which was proved on January 18th of the following year [see Canterbury Probate Records. Archdeaconry Court: Register of Wills. Vol. 56, 1605 - 1618; pp. 354 - 358, FHL #0188954]. A subsequent codicil to the will was dated December 25, 1609, thus placing Richard's death sometime between then and December 31st when he was buried, as aforementioned. Richard's will mentioned his wife, Elizabeth Egerden, and five surviving children, Michael Egerden my soone", my daughter Joane nowe William Higgensons wyfe", Ffrancis Egerden my youngest daughter, Gregorye Egerden my eldest soone", and William Egerden my youngest soone", as well as two grandsons, Richard Egerden soone of the saide Gregorye and John Egerden my soone Gregoryes second soone. Also mentioned in the will was a Thomasine Beers, but her relationship (if any) to the Egerden family is not known. According to Duncan Harrington, there was quite a family squabble over Richard's will.
Norman "Biz" Braithwaite, 53, of Wells Branch died April 13, 2000, whilevisiting in St. Thomas, Virgin Islands.
He was born in Newton, Mass., a son of Dudley and Ellen Braithwaite, attended local schools and was a graduate of Natick (Mass.) High School.
He was a Navy veteran who served on the USS John F. Kennedy as a radar specialist during the Vietnam War.
Mr. Braithwaite was a licensed electrician and owned his own electrical contracting business.
He was a member of the Fraternal Order of Eagles.
Surviving are a daughter, Janet Lynn Braithwaite of Maui, Hawaii; a son, Daniel G. Braithwaite of Miami, Fla.; a granddaughter, Kylie Fay Braithwaite of Miami; and a brother, Steven of Ashland, Mass.
A memorial service will be held at 3 p.m. Sunday at Sea Road Church, Kennebunk, with The Rev. Paul Johnson officiating.
Portland Press Herald, 28 April 2000
Elon Sanderson was the third in lineal descent to own Indian Hill wherehe resided until his death. He worked may years in the saw and gristmillsowned by his father, and was a born mechanic. His attention, however,adding two farms tohis estate. In all his undertakings he was ablyseconded by his wife. He was blest with a cheerful and sunny dispositionwhich endeared him to all, and his genial good humor and love of fun wereunfailing. He received his education in the town schools and in theacademies of New Salem and Shelburne Falls. A member of the Franklincounty and the three county a gricultural societies. He was well known asa man of indefatigable ind ustry, strict morality and unwaveringintegrity.
Likely to have married a Mr. Crowe. A possible child is Kimberly RaeCrowe (b.abt 1960)
Gregory Egerden, son of Richard Egerden and his first wife, Tamson, was born in Brook, County Kent probably in September or October 1571. He was christened at the Brook Parish Church on October 8, 1571 [BPR, pg. 6]. Gregory lived in the village of Brook his entire life, and like his father, followed the tannerʼs trade. Gregory was active in the Brook Parish Church and served both as a "Sideman" (1598) and a churchwarden (1600, 1602) [BPR, pp. 31, 34, 35]. Gregoryʼs marriage was recorded in the Brook Parish Registers as follows: "Gregorie Egerdon and Elisabeth [---]don were married the third day of februarye 1596" [BPR, pg. 28]. Unfortunately, a blot obliterates much of Elizabethʼs surname. (The first letter appears to be an "E" or a "C" and the last three letters are clearly "don"; three or four letters in between are entirely illegible.)
Gregory and Elizabeth Egerden had five known children:
1. RICHARD, christened at the Brook Parish Church on August 21, 1597 [BPR, pg. 29].
2. JOHN, christened at the Brook Parish Church on January 20, 1599/1600 [BPR, pg. 32].
3. ELIZABETH, christened at the Brook Parish Church on June 3, 1604 [BPR, pg. 37]
4. JANE, married Henry Knight.
5. GREGORY, christened at the Brook Parish Church on February 9, 1614/5 [BPR, pg. 48],
and buried there on February 16, 1614/5 [BPR, pg. 48].
Gregory Egerden died in the village of Brook, County Kent in August of 1618, and was buried there on August 16th of that year [BPR, pg. 51]. He left a Last Will and Testament, dated August 15, 1618, which was proved on September 5, 1618 [see Canterbury Probate Records. Archdeaconry Court: Register of Wills. Vol. 56, 1605 - 1618; pp. 73 - 74, FHL #0188954]. Gregoryʼs will mentioned the following heirs: "Elizabeth my wyfe", "my soone Richard Egerden", "my soone John Egerden", "Elizabeth Egerden my daughter", and "Jane my daughter". No record has been found of the burial of Gregoryʼs wife, Elizabeth.
She may have been related to James Stroode, who had a number of children christened at the Brook Parish Church in the 1580ʼs and 1590ʼs.
The 1930 census indicates his adopted status. He married about 1923 andhad one child. His wife is not listed in the cesus.
The documented roots of the Egerden family of Wye, County Kent, England go back to the early part of the sixteenth century. RYCHARD EGERDEN was born there in the hamlet of Brook, Ashford Parish say 1519. He is said to have had two siblings, a brother William, and a sister Godlyffe. The former may have been the "Willyam Egerdon", whose son Willyam was christened at the Wye Parish Church on February 28, 1540/1 [see Church of England: Wye Parish Registers; FHL #1836327, item #13 - hereafter cited as WPR]. The sister, Godlyffe Egerden, was married to John Allin at the Wye Parish Church on September 23, 1548 [WPR]. A number of other Egerdens were mentioned in the subsequent parish records of Wye and Brook, however their connection to the direct line presented here has not been determined. It would appear that members of the family resided throughout the parish of Wye, as well as in the neighboring villages of Brook, Brabourne and Faversham.
There are indications, though unconfirmed, that the Egerden family may have resided in Wye for three or four generations at this time. Records obtained by Duncan Harrington of Harrington Research Services (Folkestone, County Kent, England) noted the name of "Richard Egerden" in reference to a rental of the Manor of Wye circa 1452-54. This Richard may have been a grandfather or other paternal relation of Rychard Egerden.
There is no record of Rychard Egerden's wife, and only one son has currently been traced:
1. RICHARD, christened at the Wye Parish Church on June 5, 1539.
Rychard Egerden died three months prior to his son's birth. He was buried at the Wye Parish Church on March 7, 1538/9, the parish record reading: "Rychard Egerton was buryed ye vii day of marche 1538" [WPR]. (Note: Surrounding entries on this page, together with the posthumous birth of Rychard's son in May or June of 1539, make it certain that the year recorded as "1538" represented old-style dating.) There is no further mention in the Wye Parish Registers of Rychard's widow. It is very probable that she was remarried sometime shortly after Rychard's death. Unfortunately, marriage records for the Wye Parish Church did not commence until the year 1545, thus post-dating any probable remarriage.
Mrs. Mary Fletcher Jackson, of 1610 Harrison Ave, died July 17, 1977, ather home after a long illness.
She was born in Utica, daughter of the late Edward and Mary Devereaux Fletcher. She received her education in Utica schools, and had later resided in Plattsburg, New York, and Dannemora, New York for several years She married J. Leonard Vernal Jackson, former warden of Clinton Prison at Dannemora, in 1928 in Utica. Mr. Jackson died in 1958. She was a member of the Church of the Blessed Sacrament.
She leaves a sister, Miss Helen C. Fletcher of Utica; a brother, Vincent Fletcher; also several nieces and nephews.
The funeral will be at 10:45 Tuesday from the Doyle Funeral Home and at 11:15 in Blessed Sacrament Church. Burial will be in Mount Olivet Cemetery. Calling hours are Today from 2-4 and 7-9.
The Daily Press, Utica, 18 July 1977
Archie Duane Millard, 81, of Fergus Falls, died Tuesday, June 10, 2008,at his lake home under hospice care and family attendance.
He was born Jan. 19, 1927, in Canby, to Christine Bresson and Philip Millard.
Growing up Archie pitched for local baseball leagues and was approached to sign with the St. Louis Cardinals, but had already enlisted in the US Air Force in 1944.
After being discharged in 1947, Archie married Evelyn Claeys at St. Edward's Catholic Church in Minneota, and joined Otter Tail Power Company, where he served in various capacities until 1987, including seven years as Jamestown Division Manager.
Throughout his life Archie served in various church and non-profit organizations, among them, the Fargo Diocesan Council with Bishop Justin A. Driscoll; Director of United Fund in Fergus Falls; Chamber of Commerce, and District Chairman of Boy Scouts of America, Red River Valley Chapter.
Before moving to Fergus Falls, Archie served on the School Board and City Council in Lake Benton, and later in Jamestown, N.D., as Chairman of the Airport Authority.
Archie was a family man and had a passion for flying and teaching others the joy of flight. He was an avid pilot, and his ratings included instructor, IFR, and float plane. Archie also completed two log cabins with his sons. Other activities shared with family and friends included fishing and hunting.
He was preceded in death by one infant grandson
Survivors include his wife Evelyn, and children, Steven (Diane) of Fergus Falls, Dennis of Virginia Beach, Va., Timothy of Jordan, William (Julie) of Fergus Falls, Patrick (Julie) of Fergus Falls, Kathleen of Livermore, Colo., James (Mary) of New London, and Kevin (Blake) of Seattle, Wash.; 12 grandchildren; and four great-grandchildren.
Memorials are preferred to Lakeland Hospice or the donor?s choice.
Visitation: Thursday from 5 to 7 p.m., with a prayer service at 6:30 p.m., at the funeral home, and one hour prior to the service at the church
Service: 1:30 p.m. Friday, at Our Lady of Victory Catholic Church, Fergus Falls
Clergy: Rev. Kenneth Brenny
Burial: St. Otto's Catholic Cemetery, Fergus Falls
GATES, Madeline Mildred - 96, Aylesford Road, Kings Co., died January 18,1998, in Valley Regional Hospital, Kentville. Born in Millville, KingsCo., she was a daughter of the late Amos and Lillie (Robinson) Keddy. Shewas a member of Morristown United Baptist Church and a member ofMillville 60 Plus Club. Surviving are sons, Donald, Aylesford; Max,Kingston; daughters, Mildred Morse, Berwick; Jean (Mrs. John McNeil),Millville; Marjorie (Mrs. Howard Bower), Hall Road; brother, Harvey,Millville; sisters, Stella Veinotte, Aylesford; Beatrice Cleaver, StoneyCreek, Ont.; 14 grandchildren; 27 great-grandchildren; 14great-great-grandchildren; a great-great-great-granddaughter. She waspredeceased by her husband, Fred Lorimer Gates; sons, Russell, Boyd;brothers, Norman, Kenneth; sister, Thelma Keddy; granddaughter, JeanneKeddy. Visitation 2-4, 7-9 p.m. today, funeral 2 p.m. Tuesday, both inH.C. Lindsay Memorial Chapel, Berwick, Rev. Margo MacDougall officiating.Burial in Aylesford Union Cemetery. Donations to Morristown UnitedBaptist Church or any charity.
According to a divorce petition submitted in 1740, Jonathon deserted herand moved to South Carolina 24 Dec 1733 and was never heard from again.
Rodrigo D́ıaz de Vivar (c. 1040 - July 10, 1099), known as El CidCampeador, was a Castilian nobleman, a military leader and diplomat who,after being exiled, conquered and governed the city of Valencia. RodrigoD́ıaz was educated in the royal court of Castile and became the alférez,or chief general, of Alfonso VI, and his most valuable asset in the fightagainst the Moors.
El Cid was born circa 1040 in Vivar, also known as Castillona de Bivar, a small town about six miles north of Burgos, the capital of Castile. His father, Diego Láınez, was a courtier, bureaucrat, and cavalryman who had fought in several battles. Despite the fact that El Cid's mother's family was aristocratic, in later years the peasants would consider him one of their own. However, his relatives were not major court officials; documents show that El Cid's paternal grandfather, Lain, only confirmed five documents of Ferdinand I's, his maternal grandfather, Rodrigo Alvarez, certified only two of Sancho II's, and the Cid's own father confirmed only one. This seems to indicate that El Cid's family was not composed of major court officials.
El Cid was married in July 1075 to Alfonso's kinswoman Jimena D́ıaz. The Historia Roderici calls her daughter of a Count Diego of Oviedo, a person unknown to contemporary records, while later poetic sources name her father as an otherwise unknown Count Gomez de Gormaz.
Tradition states that when the Cid laid eyes on her he was enamored of her beauty. Together El Cid and Jimena had three children. Their daughters Cristina and Maŕıa both married into the high nobility; Cristina to Ramiro, Lord of Monzón, grandson of Garćıa Sánchez III of Navarre via an illegitimate son; Maŕıa, first (it is said) to a prince of Aragon (presumably the son of Peter I) and second to Ramón Berenguer III, count of Barcelona. El Cid's son Diego Rodŕıguez was killed while fighting against the invading Muslim Almoravids from North Africa at the Battle of Consuegra (1097).
His own marriage and those of his daughters raised his status by connecting El Cid to the peninsular royalty; even today, most European monarchs and many commoners of European ancestry descend from El Cid, through Cristina's son, king Garćıa Raḿırez of Navarre and to a lesser extent via a granddaughter Jimena of Barcelona, who married into the Counts of Foix.
Richard was remarried on September 23, 1627 at Ashford Parish to Mrs. Joan Harlocke (aka. Hearlock), a widow. Richard Egerden died sometime prior to January 14, 1640/1, when his widow, Joan Egerden, was remarried at Ashford parish to Nicholas Edgoare (or Edgererr), of Orleston parish.
Norman G. Davis, 77, of 842 Ryan Road, Florence, died Tuesday at a carefacility in Leeds. He was a house painter for the former George E. Davis& Son Painting Contractors. He was a former patrol officer and auxiliarypoliceman with the Police Department. He was a maintenance worker at theformer Northampton Commercial College and the Hotel Northampton. He alsoworked for Long View Trailer Sales in Hatfield. He was born here, andattended local schools. He was an Army veteran of World War II. He was aformer member of the First Baptist Church, and belonged to the NorthAmerican Camping Association. He also was a former member of the Bellesand Beaus Square Dance Club of Easthampton. He leaves his wife, theformer Edna L. Brown; a son, Alan G. of Northampton; a daughter, Diana H.Hayden of Florence, and three grandchildren. The funeral will be Fridayafternoon at Pease Funeral Home, with burial in Bridge Street Cemetery.Calling hours will precede the funeral, and memorial contributions may bemade to the Linda Manor Extended-Care Facility patients fund.
Union-News, Springfield, 21 March 1996
He was a patient or inmate in the Northampton State Hospital in 1900 -1920 and listed as single in the censuses. Evidently he was mentally ill.
KEDDY, John Lindsay (Jack) - 60, Millville, Kings Co., died January 23,1997, in Valley Regional Hospital, Kentville. Born in Millville, he was ason of the late Norman and Annie (Joudrey) Keddy. He was retired fromWeavexx after 29 years. He was a former cub, scout and venture leader andwas a former fire commissioner for the Aylesford Fire Department. He wasan avid hunter, trapper and enjoyed woodworking. He was an active memberof Morristown United Baptist Church, where he served as a past deacon andtrustee and sang in the church choir. Surviving are his wife, the formerPearle Collins; son, Kevin and daughter-in-law Bonnie Keddy, Tupper Lake,Kings Co.; daughter, Shelley and son-in-law Garnet Aalders, Millville;foster brother, Hartley Lonergan, Millville; grandchildren, Janelle,Krista and Vanessa Keddy, Berwick; Karl and Michael Aalders, Millville.He was predeceased by an infant brother, Alden. Cremation has takenplace. Funeral will be 2 p.m. Saturday in Morristown United BaptistChurch, Pastor Margo MacDougall and Rev. Doug Porter officiating. Burialwill be in Morristown Cemetery. Family flowers only. Donations may bemade to Heart and Stroke Foundation of Nova Scotia or Morristown UnitedBaptist Church. Arrangements entrusted to H.C. Lindsay Memorial Chapel,Berwick.
Jimena Diaz of Asturias was born circa 1055. Died after 1113. Jim'sfamily is a mystery. Could also be a mystery at the same time he livedit. In the opinion of Maria Emma Escobar, in this family is odd, becausethe data that we know do not fit together, as if in his life he hadwanted to cover something weird. His parents were Diego Fernández (asshown by documentation of the Cathedral of Oviedo), Count of Oviedo, andCristina. Paternal grandfather: Ruy Alonso. Maternal grandparents:Fernando Gundemariz (the son of the Count of Oviedo skull, GondemarPinióliz) and according to some, Jimena de León (who died after 1037 andwas the daughter of Alfonso V, king of León and Urraca of Navarre: seeKings Kings of Leon and Navarra). Fernando's parents were GondemarGundemariz Pinióliz (1012) and Mumadona (a holy woman who his sonFernando, a wealthy scoundrel, he only dislikes). Paternal grandparents:some mention Pinolo Jiménez (969 to 1-II-1049/50, son of Jinen Jiménezand Aragonta) and Alonso Muniz (7-III-163/64, daughter of MunioRodŕıguez). Maria Emma Escobar argues that no evidence anywhere thatFernando was married Gundemariz Jimena de León (daughter of the king ofLeón). Fernando was married to the Galician Mumadona Ordoñez, daughter ofOrdoño Raḿırez (son of Ramiro III, king of Leon) and Cristina de Leon(daughter of Vermudo II). It appears that the confusion stems from JimenaAlfonso VI called "Suprino", something like a niece or cousin, but it islikely that this was because she probably descended from the InfantaCristina, daughter of Vermudo II and half-sister of Alfonso V. Maria EmmaEscobar also clarifies that Gondemar Pinióliz was not the son of PinioloJiménez. That was a mistake committed inconceivable that Menéndez Pidal,as is the nephew Piniolo Gondemar Jiménez Pinióliz: Aragonta Gondemar andhis sister were children of Piniolo Pinióliz Gundemariz. Jimeno JiménezAragonta married and were parents of Piniolo Jiménez.
She bore one child that died young. She lived next door to her aunt Maryfor many years.
Marion Davis, b. 26 Dec 1887, d. Jun 1987 at Northampton, MA
HURON - Arbutus Thomas, 86, died Tuesday, Aug. 24, 1999, at her home.
Arbutus Elenor Gray was born Sept. 8, 1912, near Alpena. She graduated from Alpena High School in 1930 and attended Aberdeen Normal School and later Huron College. She then began teaching in rural schools.
She married Ernst Thomas on Jan. 1, 1936, in Huron. They lived in Lincoln, Neb., Baltimore, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia and Denver. She resumed her teaching career in 1948 when they moved to Huron. She taught at several schools until retiring in 1971. They moved to Billings, Mont., and returned to Huron in 1972. Her husband died on April 22, 1982.
She was a member of First United Methodist Church, United Methodist Women, Hope Circle and more.
Survivors include three sons: Lowell of Underwood, ND, Alan of Pierre and Loren of rural Palmer, Alaska three granddaughters one step-granddaughter four great-grandchildren three step-great-grandchildren and a brother, Burl of Spokane, Wash.
Services will begin at 11 a.m. Friday at First United Methodist Church in Huron, with burial in Restlawn Memory Gardens Cemetery.
Argus Leader, Sioux Falls, 25 August 1999
AYLESFORD, Feb. 24 - Funeral services for the late Norman Eulric Keddy,who passed away at Western Kings Memorial Hospital, Tuesday, Feb. 11,were held Thursday, Feb 13, at the Morristown Baptist Church at 2:30p.m., Rev. A. G. McClare officiating, at one of the largest funeralservices ever held in that church. Floral tributes were many andbeautiful, testifying to the esteem in which he was held. Two solos "HowGreat Thou Art" and "Good Night and Good Morning", were sung by GeorgeKinsman. Pallbearers were Howard Beals, Carroll Ulhman, Howard Jefferson,Milton Palmer, Ron Baltzer and Lester Chase. Interment in the family lot,Morristown Cemetery. Mr. Keddy, 63, was a son of the late Amos and Lila(Robinson) Keddy, born at Millville, where he received his schooling. Hewas a carpenter by trade and in 1924 married the former Annie ViolaJoudrey, who survives him. For six years they lived at Lake George, wherehe was foreman for the late Mrs. Church, returning to Millville, wherethey have since resided. Mr. Keddy was a member of the Aylesford BaptistChurch and took a keen interest in home and community affairs. Survivingbesides his wife are a son, John; a foster son, Hartley Lonergan; fourgrandchildren; three sisters Mrs. Fred Gates (Madeline); Mrs. StellaVeinott, both of Aylesford; Mrs. Beatrice Moody, Hamilton, Ont.; twobrothers, Hartley and Kenneth, both of Millville. One son Aulden passedaway in infancy.
Seth Wilson, 92, died Monday, but the imprint that the Ozark ChristianCollege dean emeritus left on the Joplin campus is deeply embedded, saidMatt Proctor, OCC president.
If ever a name could be connected with the pioneering of OCC, it would be that of Wilson, who in 1940 was tabbed as dean of the Christian-vocation school that started in Bentonville, Ark.
Wilson, who taught 51 years in college and seminary classes, continued as dean when the college changed its name to Ozark Bible College and moved to Joplin in 1944. He retained that role until 1979. He also served as secretary to the trustees from 1942 to 1991, and he became dean emeritus in 1979.
The college changed its name back to Ozark Christian in 1985, when Midwest Christian College of Oklahoma City, Okla., consolidated with Ozark Bible on the Joplin campus.
"Any history of Ozark Bible College would have to start, 'In the beginning, Seth,'" said Ken Idleman, former longtime OCC president.
Wilson received a bachelor's degree in 1936 from Cincinnati (Ohio) Bible Seminary, where he also took graduate courses and taught. He wrote several books, and hundreds of essays, studies and outlines related to the study of the life of Christ.
"He declined an offer to teach in a graduate seminary, preferring to apply his life to reaching the beginning students, working with the churches, and getting more people to know and love the Lord," said Lynn Gardner, former OCC academic dean and professor.
Wilson, a native of Maryville, was knocked unconscious in an accidental fall Thursday at his home, according to Leasa Frye, OCC public relations director. He was taken to Freeman Hospital West that day, but he never regained consciousness. He died about 3:30 a.m. Monday, Frye said.
Survivors include his wife, Anna Wilson; four sons, Ben Wilson, Carl Wilson, Jonathan Wilson and Timothy Wilson; and six daughters, Leta Wilson, Rebecca Souder, Dora Desrosiers, Lois Miller, Judy Sullens and Joy Hill. No addresses were available for the children.
The Joplin Globe, 12 December 2006
Leona M. Morse, nee Manz, beloved wife of John; fond mother of EdwardRadatz and William Radatz; grandmother of three; sister of Rose Shafferand Wilbert Manz. Funeral Friday, 10 a.m., at Becvar Funeral Directors,5218 S. Kedzie. Interment Evergreen. In lieu of flowers, memorials toElsdon United Methodist Church will be appreciated. Member of MarquettePark Senior Citizens Club.
Chicago Tribune, 16 October 1980
A longtime Vancouver attorney who wanted to be remembered as "anold-fashioned country lawyer" died Thursday.
Donald Simpson, 80, collapsed at his west Vancouver home Thursday morning. The cause of death was listed as coronary artery disease. He had suffered a series of heart attacks over the past several months and was told about a month ago by doctors that there was nothing they could do for his condition.
A favorite among courthouse clerks, he visited the ground-floor Superior Court Clerk's office Monday to say goodbye. Simpson said his doctor considered him a "short-timer."
He leaves behind a sterling reputation both as an attorney and as a gentleman whose clients would often become his friends.
Simpson earned his law degree from the University of Washington and spent a year as a law clerk for the legendary Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas. He spent a short time with a Seattle law firm and then worked as an attorney in the U.S. Army during World War II.
He decided to return to his hometown after the war and open a law office. Over the next 50 years, Simpson became something of a legend himself.
"He was the epitome of what a lawyer should be," Clark County Superior Court Judge James Ladley said this morning. "He was beyond reproach and his legal ability was outstanding. He was what you would aspire to be."
His father, George B. Simpson, was the only Washington Supreme Court Justice to hail from Vancouver.
Father and son started their own law firm in 1951 after George Simpson lost a hard-fought re-election bid for the state's high court.
George Simpson died three years later of a heart attack.
Even after his father died, Don Simpson kept his dad's hand-painted name above his own on the office door at 501 W. 12th St. "I'm not going to take it off. He was my father," Simpson said in an interview last December.
Clark County had purchased Simpson's property to make way for an expansion of the adjacent juvenile center.
Simpson moved out last April but kept his law practice going.
He moved into a new office a few blocks away in the Hi-School Pharmacy headquarters courtesy of longtime friend and Hi-School Pharmacy president Steve Oliva. Simpson told Judge Ladley last week that while his health had declined, he was still working on a couple of cases for clients.
"He was just an all-around accomplished but unassuming person," said longtime friend Ken Teter of Vancouver, who was a schoolmate of Simpson's and a fellow Eagle Scout. "He had great abilities, but he didn't flaunt them."
He is survived by his wife, Barbara, two children, George B. Simpson of Vancouver and Patricia Simpson of Langley, Wa.; and three grandchildren.
The office door will survive, as well. His son said he plans to take it off the hinges and save it as a keepsake.
Columbian, The (Vancouver, WA)
Date: June 21, 1996
Attorney Donald George Simpson, 80, a lifelong Vancouver resident, died of coronary artery disease Thursday, June 20, 1996.
After graduating from the University of Washington Law School in 1940, Mr. Simpson spent a year as a law clerk for Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas. He then served as an attorney with the 101st Airborne Division of the Army in Europe during World War II, and attained the rank of 2nd lieutenant.
After the war he returned to Vancouver and opened a law office, where he had practiced for the last fifty years.
Mr. Simpson was a member of the Clark County Bar Association, Washington State Bar Association, American College of Trust and Estate Counsel and of the Royal Oaks Country Club.
He was also a life member of the Vancouver Elks 823, and had been active with the Boy Scouts of America.
He was born Nov. 21, 1915, in Vancouver.
Survivors include his wife of 45 years, Barbara E., at home; a son, George B. of Vancouver; a daughter, Patricia L. Simpson of Langley, Va.; a sister, Carol Sim of Vancouver; and three grandchildren.
A memorial service will begin at noon on Tuesday at First United Methodist Church. Private burial will be in Park Hill Cemetery. Hamilton-Mylan Funeral Home is in charge of arrangements.
Memorial contributions may be made to Cascade Pacific Council, Boy Scouts of America, 2145 S.W. Front Ave., Portland, OR 97201 or to Clark County Volunteer Lawyers Program, 406 W. 12th St., Vancouver, WA 98660.
Columbian, The (Vancouver, WA)
Date: June 23, 1996
Some sources say Hannah Wright was not the daughter of Samuel Wright andMargaret Stratton or Compton but that she may have been their niece.Other sources show Hannah as their daughter.
Married 17 Dec 1960 to Erwin Heiden.
HUDSON - Florence M. (Downey) O'Neil, 83, of Hudson, died Monday, June 4,2007, at home with her loving family at her side.
She was the wife of Francis J. O'Neil, who died in 1977.
Born in Boston, the daughter of the late Richard and Florence (Cannon) Downey, she was a graduate of St. Columbkille High School in Brighton.
She was a self-employed salesperson for Avon Cosmetics for more than 40 years.
Mrs. O'Neil was part of a group that sang for the USO during World War II in the Boston area, and was known for her collection of stylish hats.
She leaves her children, Richard E. O'Neil, Michael J. O'Neil and his wife, Leslee, Catherine D. Parker and her husband, Bradlee, all of Hudson, and Louise Hutt and her husband, Lenny, of Westborough; her sister, Dorothy Whalen of Scituate; her sister-in-law, Ann Nancy Jacobs of Hudson; her grandchildren, Ben and Adam Bradley, Nicole and Jason Parker, and Neil and Emily Hutt; and many nieces and nephews.
A funeral Mass will be celebrated Thursday, June 7, at 9 a.m., at St. Michael Church, 21 Manning St., Hudson.
Burial will be in Forestvale Cemetery in Hudson.
Visiting hours will be held Wednesday, June 6, from 5 to 8 p.m., at the Tighe-Hamilton Funeral Home (www.tighehamilton.com), 50 Central St., Hudson.
MetroWest Daily News, 4 June 2007
The only known brother of Gunnor was Arfast/Herfast, of whom we gain whatlittle insight we have from a trial of heretics conducted by King RobertII of France. Arfast testified that he had pretended to join the sect,all the better to denounce them when the time arose. he later donatedlands to the monastery of St. Pere, to which he retired. He had at leasttwo sons.
During the famous trial of Herefast de Crepon (who was alleged to be involved with the Cathars) in 1022, the crowd outside the church in Orleans became so unruly that, according to Moore:
"At the king's command, Queen Constance stood before the doors of the Church, to prevent the common people from killing them inside the Church, and they were expelled from the bosom of the Church. As they were being driven out, the queen struck out the eye of Stephen, who had once been her confessor, with the staff which she carried in her hand."
Wyllys H. Lathrop beloved husband of Marie, nee Kannaill; loving fatherof Marie (Daniel) Colanto, Theresa Etzel, Joseph (Marge), Judith (George)Serlovsky, Patricia (Paul) Symer, Thomas, John and Paul; dear grandfatherof 16; great-grandfather of 4; fond brother of Ruth (the late Norman)Ludwig and the late Leona Wilson; uncle of many nieces and nephews.Funeral Monday, October 15 at 9 a.m. from the Sourex Manor Funeral Home,5745 W. 35th Street Cicero to Our Lady of Charity Church for 9:30 Mass.Interment Queen of Heaven Cemetery. In lieu of flowers Mass isappreciated.
Chicago Tribune, 13 October 1984
Marie A. Lathrop, nee Kannall, age 101. Beloved wife of the late Wyllys;loving mother of Marie (Dan) Colanto, Therese Etzel, Judith (George)Serlovsky, Patricia Symer, Thomas (Irene) Lathrop, John (Dora) Lathrop,Paul Lathrop and the late Joseph Lathrop; dear grandmother of 21; andgreat-grandmother of 20. Member of Telephone Pioneers. Funeral ServicesMonday, Oct. 24 at 9 a.m. from the Sourek Manor Funeral Home, 5645 W.35th St., Cicero to Our Lady of Charity Church for 9:30 a.m. Mass.Interment Queen of Heaven Cemetery. Visitation Sunday, 3 to 9 p.m.708-652-6661.
Chicago Tribune, 21 October 2011.
Departed Ipswich, England 1634 "Good Bark Francis" landed at Boston, MA
Erected Northampton, Massachusetts a granite cenotaph to his memory Immigrated 1634 On the ship, "Francis," from Bocking, Essex Co., England Immigrated 1634 From Ipswich, Suffolk, England to Springfield,Massachusetts aboard the "Francis" Christened 5 NOV 1592 St. Mary's, Bocking, Essex, England
Father of the Stebbins' in USA 1635 Settled at Agawam, MA (Springfield, MA) Religion: Puritan
![Brøderbund WFT Vol. 12, Ed. 1, Tree #2066, Date of Import: Jul 19,2000]
April 30, 1634--took shipping-- Ipswich, England aboard "Francis", Mr.John Cutting, Captain. November 12, 1634, Ipswich, England, took the Oath ofAllegiance. He wasage 40 and wife Sarah was 43. All the children were under age and couldnot take the oath of allegiance. Probably arrived at Boston, Mass. in1634 or early 1635. Settled at Roxbury, Mass. 1639---settled atSpringfield, Mass. December 24, 1640---received first parcel of land,and it grew to 73 acres 1645--House just north of Union Street. February 1664---has removed to Northampton, Mass.
!Reference: "The Cooley Genealogy: The Descendants of Ensign Benjamin Cooley, An Early Settler of Springfield and Longmeadow, Massachusetts; and other members of the family in America," by Cooley, Mortimor Elwyn (Tuttle Pub., Rutland, VT) pp. 457-58.
From the "Caney/Peckham Genealogy" by Susan P. Canney at www.Ancestry.com World Tree - Database: 'Canney':
On the passenger list of the shio "Francis", sailing from Ipswich, England., the last of April 1634, were "Rowland Stebbins, 40, Sarah his wife, 43, four Children [ages given], and one servant, Mary Winche, 15." The Francis was one of the ships help up by order of the King, and Rowland did not take the oath of allegiance until the ship cleared the custom house on 12 November 1634.
He was one of the early settlers in Springfield, Ma. He is siad to have been a friend of William Pynchon in England, and though he settled in Roxbury, MA., 1634, in 1639 the Stebbins family was living in Pynchon's settlement, Springfield, MA, where from time to time Rowland was granted land. He moved there about 1639 and received land in the second division 24 Dec 1640. He had a seat in the Springfield meeting house in 1663 and after Feb 1664/5 he moved to live with his son, John, in Northampton, MA.
In his will he appointed "my much honored friend Capt. John Pynchon" (son of William) one of the overseers; son John to be executor; and after legacies were paid the rest of the estate to be equally divided between his "two beloved sons Thomas and John."
Walter Albert Schletty, 83, Finlayson, passed away at home July 7th.
He married Gertrude Radatz on September 14, 1916, in St. Paul. He had been employed by the St. Paul Public Works Dept. for over 17 years until ill health made it difficult to continue. He has been a long time member of the Finlayson community, having moved there in 1934.
Survivors are his wife, Gertrude, two sons, Roy R. of Minneapolis and George of Finlayson, a daughter, Mrs. Naomi Wiljakala of Finlayson, 4 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren.
Services were held at 2 p.m. Thursday, July 10th at the Larson-Haglund Funeral Home in Sandstone. Rev. Earl Snader officiated. Interment followed at Spring Park Cemetery, Sandstone. Larson-Haglund Funeral Home, Sandstone, made the arrangements.
Ida graduated from Beresford High School in 1932.
After marriage, Ida lived in Berkeley, CA
WESTBORO - Louis E. Hitchings, 73, of 44 Church St., died Tuesday, Sept.4 in Exeter Hospital, Exeter, N.H.
He leaves his wife of 48 years, Kathryn L. (MacDonald) Hitchings; six daughters, Susan L. Walcott, Priscilla G. Lovejoy, and Christine L. Erb, all of Westborough, Jennifer M. Witruke of Leicester, Sarah B. Palladini of Blackstone, and Amy M. Carlson of Millbury; 18 grandchildren; nephews and a niece. A son, James N. Hitchings of Westborough, died in 1959. A brother, Clement E. Hitchings also predeceased him. He was born in Westborough, son of Ira and Grace (Tomlin) Hitchings, and graduated from Worcester Trade School in 1946. He was an Army veteran of the Korean War, serving as a sergeant.
Mr. Hitchings was a carpenter many years in the Westborough-MetroWest area, and was later a carpenter many years for Northboro Lumber Co.
He was an avid golfer.
The funeral service will be held at 11 a.m. Friday, Sept. 7, in First United Methodist Church, 120 West Main St. Burial will be in Pine Grove Cemetery. Calling hours are from 5 to 8 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 6, in Britton-Summers Funeral Home, 4 Church St.
Worcester Telegram & Gazette, 6 September 2001
(VII) Edwin Cyrus, son of Edwin Ford Miller, was born at Haydenville, May10, 1867. He attended the public schools of his native village and theWesleyan Academy of Wilbraham, where he was graduated in the class of1882. Later he studied horticulture and pomology under Professor JohnCraig, of Cornell University, one of the foremost authorities on thesesubjects. From 1889 to 1896 he was a clerk in the First National Bank ofNorthampton. Since 1896 he has been associated with his father on thehomestead, "Hillside Farm," and lives in the house built by hisgrandfather. Besides the famous orchard, the farm has a model dairy. Hispractical and theoretical knowledge of fruit raising has been put intouseful practice, not only on the homestead which has become a model forthe orchards of New England apple growers, but as a consulting orchardistand institute lecturer. The farm produces an average yield of threethousand barrels of apples, and has some three thousand trees, old andyoung. Mr. Miller believes that ample proof has been given that applesrequire plenty of air and sunshine and that high ground is best adaptedfor growing apples in New England. Much of the Miller orchard is quitehilly, as the name implies. He is a regular contributor to the variousagricultural and horticultural publications, including The Homestead, TheNew England Farmer, The American Cultivator, The Greens Fruit Grower, TheFruit Grower of St. Joseph, Missouri, The Fruit Trade Journal, BetterFruit of Hood River and to the Springfield Sunday Republican. He ispresident of the Hampshire-Franklin Fruit Growers Association, and memberof the Massachusetts Horticultural Society, and the American PomologicalAssociation. For his lectures Mr. Miller has large photographs oforchards illustrating the points he is to make and when a lantern isavailable he uses the stereopticon. He lectures on all the phases oforchard management from setting out the trees to marketing the crop. Hispictures are said to be the finest of the kind in the country. Of hislectures in the Maine Farmers' institutes the New York Tribune Farmersays: "He not only dwelt upon the essentials of the business from theselection and preparation of the soil to the time the finished product isplaced upon the tables of the consumers in a manner that left every pointclear in the minds of his hearers, but by his earnestness, sincerity andenthusiasm, as well as the fact that he has shown by his acts that he hasfaith in the business, he imparted a desire to strive for the high idealshe has set for himself to every person in his audiences. Maine farmershave long ago tired of listening to the man who works from theories aloneand who builds fancy pictures about an imaginary business into which henever had courage to put his capital or the faith to put his future, andwhen a man like Mr. Miller comes among them he is sure of theirattention. Everyone who heard him will, from that time on, be betterequipped for the work he may be doing, and will have a lifelong interestin the work being done at Hillside Orchards on the hills ofMassachusetts." Of the orchards of Hillside Farm, the Horthampton Heraldsaid recently: "These apple orchards are reputed to be among the veryfinest in New England, if not the best - considering the care it is givenin every detail of first-class fruit production, picking and packing andthe alertness, celerity and persistency with which the owners perceive,adopt and carry out the most approved horticultural methods." Mr. Millermarried, at Northampton, June 17, 1891, Edith Dunbar Childs, born atNorthampton, December 5, 1867, daughter of Henry and Esther (Kinsley)Childs. Children: I. Charlotte, born at Northampton, October 27, 1895. 2.Gladys, born at Haydenville, May 5, 1902.
GENEALOGICAL AND PERSONAL MEMOIRS RELATING TO THE FAMILIES OF THE STATE OF MASSACHUSETTS (Volume 2)
BRIDGETOWN - Charles Frederick Hoyt, died suddenly Thursday at the age of80.
Born in Bridgetown, he was the eldest son of Charles Hoyt of Middleton and the late Marion (Munro) Hoyt, and was educated at MacDonald School in Middleton and Kings Collegiate School in Windsor.
He with the Canadian Army in World War II in Holland and Italy, returning to Germany when NATO occupied the country. Coming back to Nova Scotia, he served in recruiting and in various offices in army headquarters.
He retired in 1961 as sergeant administrative clerk, Army Service Corps. He was a member of the Royal Canadian Legion Branch 33 and a member of the vestry of St. James Anglican Church in Bridgetown.
He is survived by his father and step-mother; his wife, the former Irene Tupper; one son Ted, RCENE, Rivers, Mass.; two step-sons, Jack, CFB Greenwood, and Charles, RCN, Bermuda; two sisters, Helen (Mrs. L. R. Maloney) of Belmont. Mass., and Phyllis (Mrs. J. J. Kelly) of Cape Cod, Mass.; two half brothers, Jim of Trenton, Ont., and Bill of Brantford, Ont.; two half-sisters, Marjorie (Mrs. J. R. Baker) of Victoria, B.C., and Kathleen (Mrs. D. G. Lacey) of San Francisco.
The body is at the Bridgetown Funeral Home. Funeral service will be at St. James Anglican Church Monday at 2:30 p.m. with Rev. Louis White officiating. Interment in Riverside cemetery in Bridgetown.
Halifax Herald, 16 July 1966
Edward Radatz, 2158 W. 121st place, Blue Island, beloved husband ofLeona, nee Manz, fond father of Edward and William, brother of LouiseHanold, Anna Clune, William, Gertrude Schletty, Emma Kortekaas, LillianTeschner, and Catherine Hadley. Funeral Thursday, 1:30 p.m., at chapel,5218 S. Kedzie avenue. Interment Mount Auburn. Pro. 3810.
Chicago Tribune (IL)
January 27, 1948
A likely death record for Patricia Thwing:
Patricia Sills died 14 Oct 1990 at Chicago, IL.
From Wikipedia, 12 June 2006:
Gruffydd ap Rhys II (died 25 July 1201) was a prince of Deheubarth in south-west Wales. He was the son of Rhys ap Gruffydd (The Lord Rhys) and grandson of Gruffydd ap Rhys.
Gruffydd was the eldest son of Rhys ap Gruffydd by his wife Gwenllian, daughter of Madog ap Maredudd prince of Powys. Rhys intended Gruffydd to be his main heir, and in 1189 he was married to Matilda, daughter of William de Braose, by whom he had two sons, Rhys and Owain. In Rhys' last years a feud developed between Gruffydd and his brother Maelgwn ap Rhys, both supported by some of their other brothers. In 1189 Rhys was persuaded to imprison Maelgwn, and he was given into Gruffydd's keeping at Dinefwr. Gruffydd handed him over to his father in law, William de Braose. In 1192 Rhys secured Maelgwn's release, but by now he and Gruffydd were bitter enemies. In 1194 Maelgwn and another brother Hywel defeated their father and imprisoned him, though he was later released by Hywel.
Rhys ap Gruffydd died in 1197. Gruffydd was recognised as his successor after an interview with Archbishop Hubert the justiciar, but Maelgwn used troops supplied by Gwenwynwyn ab Owain of Powys to attack Aberystwyth. He captured the town and the castle, and took Gruffydd himself prisoner, later handing him over to Gwenwynwyn who in turn transferred him to the English who imprisoned him in Corfe Castle. In 1198 Gwenwynwyn threatened the English holdings at Painscastle and Elfael, and Gruffydd was released from captivity to try to mediate in the dispute. His efforts failed, and in the ensuing battle Gwenwynwyn was defeated. Gruffydd retained his liberty and by the end of the year had captured all of Ceredigion from Maelgwn except for the castles of Cardigan and Ystrad Meurig. In 1199 he took Cilgerran Castle. Maelgwn made an agreement with King John of England, selling Cardigan castle to him in exchange for the possession of the remainder of Ceredigion.
In July 1201 another brother, Maredudd ap Rhys, was killed, and Gruffydd took over his lands. However on 25 July Gruffydd himself died of an illness and was buried in Strata Florida Abbey.
possibly died 7 March 1942. If so he is burried Bedford Cemetery, BattleCreek, MI; and he would have been a vetran as a Pvt. 1 KY Infantry.
Gerd A. Wiesel, beloved wife of Curtis; devoted mother of Michelle [Paul]Symanski; dear grandmother of Susan and Michael. Services and funeral inStockholm, Sweden.
Chicago Tribune, 26 June 1973
In 1978, Bud retired from Teamsters Local number 12 and spent hisretirement with family and friends. During his retirement, his favoriteactivities included bowling and traveling. He was also a big fan of theOakland A's.
Bud's private funeral service on the Neptune Society yacht, "Naiad," was planned; and, his ashes were to have been scattered in the Pacific Ocean.
Walter R. Danly of 137 N. Edgewood avenue, La Grange, devoted husband ofKarin, nee Svenonius ; dear father of Raymond, brother of James, BeaverDam, Wis., and Tom of Chicago. Resting at chapel, 40 S. Ashland avenue,La Grange, from Tuesday. Funeral 2:30 p.m. Wednesday. Interment Oakridgecemetery. Please omit flowers.
Chicago Tribune, 16 October 1950
The ancestry of Richard Edgerton has not been conclusively established. However, recent research conducted by Robert C. Edgerton, L. Welch Pogue and Brian G. Edgerton (among others) has produced a preponderance of evidence suggesting that may have been the son of Richard and Ellen (Stroud) Egerden, of Wye, County Kent, England. Their son, Richard, was christened in the hamlet of Brook (in Ashford parish, Wye) on November 22, 1622. No further record of this Richard is found in the parish records at Brook or Wye; and as Richard Sr. died prior to 1641, it is quite reasonable to suppose that Richard may have set out on his own, eventually emigrating to the New World, possibly for religious reasons or to escape the political turmoil of the English Civil War. A "Richard Edgarton" from Ashford Parish in Kent County appears in Volume I of Charles E. Banksʼ Topographical Dictionary of 2885 English Immigrants to New England, 1620-1650; however, Mr. Bankʼs source for this entry is not known. For further details on the Egerdens of Wye, County Kent, England, please see The Tentative Ancestry of Richard Edgerton.
Over the years, a number of alternate theories have been proposed regarding the parentage of Richard Edgerton; however, none have offered any credible evidence to support them. The most widespread of these, based upon family tradition, claims that Richard was the youngest of four sons of John Edgerton, Earl of Bridgewater. According to the tradition, Richard emigrated to Saybrook, Connecticut in 1632, along with his elder brother, John (second son of the Earl of Bridgewater). John Edgerton Sr. died in England in 1649, and upon the subsequent death of the eldest son, John Jr. (as the next-eldest son) returned to England to succeed to the familyʼs title and estates. Richard remained in America, where he married and became the progenitor of the Connecticut line of Edgertons. This tradition, though long-held, has not yet been supported by any known documentation or research. There are a number of accounts of a John Edgerton in Saybrook during its early years, but direct evidence of this is also wanting.
A similar scenario, placing Richard as the son of Sir Rowland Egerton and his wife, Bridget (daughter of Arthur Lord Grey de Wilton), is outlined in The Egertons of Oulton, by Sir Philip de Malpas Grey-Egerton (1869).
The first mention of Richard Edgerton in America is found on the records of Saybrook, in Middlesex, Connecticut. From the Town Meeting Notes there, dated January 4, 1648, he was listed as owning a "house lot and three acres and a half of land". At the same meeting, Richard was held libel for defective fences and allowing hogs in a neighborʼs corn field (see Saybrook Town Records - Printed Edition; Volume I; pg. 156). In 1650, Richard was among forty proprietors who were granted additional lands in Saybrook. There are several unconfirmed reports of Richard being in Saybrook as early as 1636 or 1637; but documentary evidence of this has not been presented.
A plat map of the early layout of Old Saybrook (reconstructed from Volume 1 of the Saybrook Land Records) was compiled in 1935 by Mr. Gilman C. Gates, of the Saybrook Historical Society, for his publication, Saybrook at the Mouth of the Connecticut River. Richard Edgertonʼs home-lot, as shown on this map, comprised three-and-a-half acres and was located along the North Cove, with the Connecticut River to the north. The home-lot bordered the Meeting House yard on the south, and the home-lots of Matthew Griswold and Joseph Hingham (to the west) and John Clark (to the east).
On April 7 (or 8), 1653, Richard Edgerton was married at Saybrook, Connecticut to Mary Sylvester. The marriage was recorded twice - first at Saybrook (VR I:23), where it was noted only as the "marriage...of Richard Odyushun" (no mention of the brideʼs name), and later at Norwich (VRp I:34). The former record gives a date of April 8th, while the latter lists a date of April 7th.
The parentage and ancestry of Mary (Sylvester) Edgerton has not yet been discovered. The fact that her name was omitted from the Saybrook marriage record indicates that she was almost certainly not of that town, a fact confirmed by the complete absence of any Sylvester families mentioned in the early Saybrook records. It has been proposed that Mary may have been a daughter of Giles and Mary (Arnold) Sylvester, whose family had settled on Shelter Island in the mid-1600ʼs. Recent research into this Sylvester family, principally conducted by Mr. Henry B. Hoff, F.A.S.G., would appear to refute this supposition. For further details, please see The Ancestry of Mary Sylvester, found in the Notes section of this database.
Richard and Mary Edgerton had three daughters born in Saybrook (Mary, Elizabeth and Anne), their births being recorded as the "children of Richard Odyushun" (VR 1:23), apparently a phonetic spelling for Edgerton, indicating how the name was pronounced at the time. The family of Richard Edgerton was more fully recorded in the Norwich Vital Records (Volume I, page 34 of the published records), with a few discrepancies of dates. The dates included here are mainly from the Norwich records, which are generally cited as the more reliable.
In 1660, the original town of Saybrook was largely abandoned, the majority of its inhabitants moving inland north, where they founded the town of Norwich along the banks of the Thames River. The land there (comprising approximately nine miles square) had been deeded to them by Uncas, sachem of the Mohegan tribe, in gratitude for the colonistsʼ recent assistance in repelling a siege by the rival Narragansett tribe. The town was sanctioned by the Connecticut General Court in 1659, with the main migration taking place the following year. Originally known by its Indian name, "Mohegan", the town was renamed Norwich in 1662, probably after Norwich, England, where many of the original settlers had come from.
Richard Edgerton was one of the thirty-five original proprietors of Norwich, and was granted a home lot, consisting of "six acres, more or less, abutting on land of Thomas Post on the southeast, abutting on the river on the southwest 10 rods & 10 feet, abutting on the highway 12 rods & 12 feet." Additional lands were assigned to him in later divisions, as noted in the Norwich Book of Grants. He was admitted a Freeman of the Colony of Connecticut on May 14, 1668, his name appearing on the Norwich roll of Freemen the following year. He served as Townsman (selectman) in 1678, and Constable in 1680. Like the majority of his colonial counterparts, Richard probably earned his livelihood as a farmer and planter.
Richard and Mary Edgerton had six more children born in Norwich - four sons, John, Richard, Samuel and Joseph; and two more daughters, Sarah and Lydia. The four sons each married and had families that perpetuated the Edgerton name in Norwich for many generations. There appears to be no further record of the eldest two daughters, Mary and Elizabeth; they may have died in childhood, perhaps prior to the move to Norwich. The third daughter, Anne (aka. "Hannah"), is generally reported to have married Thomas Willey "of Colchester", although the primary source of this information is unknown and there is no further account of the couple. The two younger daughters were also married and resided in Norwich - Sarah to Joseph Reynolds, and Lydia to Nathaniel Backus.
James Savageʼs Genealogical Dictionary of the First Settlers of New England, (Vol. II, pg. 100) provides the following entry for Richard Edgerton:
"EDGARTON, RICHARD, Saybrook, m. 8 Apr. 1653, Mary Sylvester, had Mary, b. 3 Feb. 1655; Eliz. 25 Dec. 1657; Ann or Hannah, 24 Sept. 1659; rem. next yr. to Norwich, there had John, 12 June 1662, Richard, 10 Mar. 1665; Sarah, Apr. 1667; Samuel, May 1670; Lydia, Apr. 1675; and Joseph, 8 Mar. 1677."
As of 1982, the Richard Edgerton house was still standing and was at that time one of only three of the original Norwich dwellings still in use. In 1959, the house was moved (due to highway construction) from its original location at 140 West Town Street. The most recent location was 139 Sturtenvant Street, but it is reported that the city was again re-zoned and the house may have been relocated once again. A photograph of the Richard Edgerton home (taken in 1982) is provided by Jessie Edgerton Garnerʼs Edgerton Tales and Details, 1836 - 1986 (Hanover, Illinois, 1986; pg. 5) Robert C. Wolfert, of Ronkonkoma, New York (an Edgerton descendant), has provided some recent photographs of the Richard Edgerton house, taken in October 2000.
Richard Edgerton died at Norwich, Connecticut in March of 1691/2, his death being noted in the vital records there (VRp I:34). He left a will, which was proved at New London County Court on June 7, 1692, as noted in the following entry under that date found in the New London County Court Records (unnumbered):
"The Last Will and Testament of Richard Edgerton Deceased together with an Inventory of sd Estate was Exhibited in Court, proved and ordered to be Recorded & power of administration is granted according to the will."
The will itself has not been discovered and was probably among those destroyed in a New London fire in September 1781. The will was referred to in subsequent deeds and land transfers, from which some of its contents may be inferred. From a Norwich deed dated April 1, 1695, Richard Edgerton sold to his brother Samuel, "all that my thirty acres of land lying on Middle Hill which was given me by my father as appears by his will, which thirty acres was part of my fatherʼs Third Division Lott" (Norwich LR 2A:208).
It is most likely that Richard divided his Norwich property among his four sons - they are all found owning lands in Norwich in the subsequent years. At the time of his death, Richard still owned lands in Saybrook, Connecticut, which were apparently bequeathed to his children. From a Saybrook deed, dated February 16, 1718/9, five of Richardʼs heirs - "Richard Edgerton, Samuel Edgerton, Joseph Edgerton and Joseph Reynolds & Nathaniell Backus in right of their wives Sarah and Lydia Decʼd" - deeded to John Edgerton and Joseph Edgerton, "Grandsons of Richard Edgerton", lands which had belonged to their father Richard Edgerton (Saybrook LR 2:527).
Richard Edgerton was probably buried in the ancient Norwich burying lot, which lay next to his home. A memorandum on the Norwich town records notes that: "The Towne hath purchased a burying place of Thomas Post - in the home lot of said Post - towards the rear of his lot." This lot was adjacent to the Edgerton home, so it seems certain that Richard would have been interred there, as were most of the early settlers of Norwich. The Norwich Founders Monument, inscribed with the names of the thirty-five original proprietors (including Richard Edgerton), was erected on the site. The cemetery later became known as the "Post and Gager" Cemetery.
No death record or burial site has yet been found for Mrs. Mary (Sylvester) Edgerton.
He had epilepsy. He was unmarried and living in Hartford in 1917.
By trade John Reynolds of Norwich was a wheelwright, and he lived inNorwich, probably working at his trade, some forty-two years. It was thisJohn Reynolds of Norwich who with Simon Huntington, Thomas Adgate, JohnPost and William Backus in October 1663, was made a Freeman at Hartford,the seat of the colonial government.
John Reynolds Sr. became a Selectman of Norwich in 1669. In 1690, according to early custom, John deeded to his only living son, Joseph, half of the house and homelot, and the other half in reversion upon the death of himself and wife.
John Reynolds, the immigrant, died at Norwich July 22, 1702, after living there some forty-two years from 1660. On a record dated January 31, 1701/2, he is mentioned as one of the first settlers "now surviving." His will is dated July 15, 1702, seven days before his death. The will mentions as survivors his wife Sarah, only son Joseph, and four married daughters, Sarah Post, Mary Lathrop, Elizabeth Lyman and Lydia Miller.
George H. Lynds, 95, passed away February 25. Survived by children DonaldHorner, Georganna "Sue" Hale, Sandra K. Scott, Gary A. Lynds; 10grandchildren; several great grand- children; 3 great greatgrandchildren. In lieu of flowers donations may be made to the DenverRescue Mission. Visitation 4-8 PM, Thursday. Services 12 Noon, Friday,both at Highland Mortuary. Interment Highland Cemetery.
The Denver Post, 28 February 2007
May have been married to a Gibbs before Fish.
Rhys ap Gruffydd (1132-1197) was the ruler of the kingdom of Deheubarth (South Wales) from 1155 until his death. Rhys was one of the more successful and powerful Welsh princes, but even he was forced to acknowledge English supremacy, and did so by accepting the title of "Lord" rather than "Prince" or "King", becoming The Lord Rhys (in Welsh, "Yr Arglwydd Rhys").
Rhys was the youngest son of Gruffydd ap Rhys, a prince of Deheubarth, and of Gwenllian, a sister of Owain Gwynedd. He was probably born in Ireland. Both his parents died when he was around four years old, Gwenllian as a result of leading her husband's army into battle in his absence, Gruffydd himself on his return. He was brother to Anarawd, Cadell, Maredudd. After the death of their father in 1137, all four brothers ruled and worked to expand the kingdom and raid neighbour ing princes. By 1155, following the death (Anarawd (1143) and Maredudd (1155)) or disablement (Cadell) of his brothers he became sole ruler of the kingdom. About this time, he built Aberdyfi Castle. As ruler, he proceeded to challenge the new king of England, Henry II (reigned 1154-1189). Having successfully held out against Henry for a year or two, Rhys was defeated and most of his territory was taken from him. This was the point at which he agreed to pay homage to Henry, and peace temporarily reigned.
In 1162, Rhys took advantage of Henry's absence in Normandy to attempt to recover some of his lost lands. This resulted once again in defeat, following which Rhys was taken to England as a prisoner. Once released, however, he went back to his old defiant ways. Henry, preoccupied with domestic problems, could not respond effectively, and the failure of the English troops in Wales and troubles in England helped Rhys to prosper. After the death of Owain Gwynedd in 1170 he was acknowledged leader of the Welsh princes and called himself "Prince of South Wales".
In 1171 he signed a pact with Henry II and helped the king suppress the rebellion of 1173-74. After Henry's death, Rhys was again active, revolting against Richard I and deeply involved in internal Welsh feuds. Rhys found it difficult to maintain his position, and was obliged to enter into a protracted struggle against the Norman lord, William de Braose. He died peacefully, an old man at the peak of his power, in 1197.
He was succeeded by Gruffydd ap Rhys.
William J. Radatz, beloved husband of Mary A. O'Gara Radatz; lovingfather of Margaret Kahr, Catherine Martin, and Rose Phillips; fondbrother of Louise Hanold, Anna Clune, Gertrude Schletty, Emma Kortekaas,Lillian Teschner, Katherine Hadley, and the late Edward Radatz; deargrandfather of eight. Funeral Saturday, 10:15 a.m., from funeral home,79th street at Loomis boulevard, to St. Adrian's church. Interment HolySepulchre cemetery.
Jordan Wickstrom was born in Seoul, South Korea, and later adopted by afamily from South Dakota. He spent the next 18 years of life living inthe small town of Beresford, S.D. He attended Beresford High School andgraduated in 2006 as the class president. Jordan decided to continue hiseducation and chose Iowa State. He spent his first semester as a theatermajor but soon decided to change to journalism. Currently, he findshimself working at the Iowa State Daily. There he covers hockey andsoftball and writes a weekly opinion column.
The 202 Times, 2007
Lucille Helen (Schmitt) Turner died unexpectedly at Holland Hospitalafter collapsing in her home on Friday, March 25, 2011. She was 82 yearsold.
In 2008, Mrs. Turner moved to Michigan from her life-long home in Evansville, Indiana, to be closer to her son and his family. She was a member of Zion Lutheran Church in Holland.
Lucille retired from the Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation after 20+ years of teaching. In retirement, Lucille became a real estate broker.
Lucille is survived by her only son, David Turner, his wife, Penelope and their daughter - Lucille's only grandchild - Abbey Road Turner, all of Grand Haven. She is also survived by two sisters, Juanita Todd and Lillian Mullen; along with several nephews and nieces. A brother, Paul Schmitt, preceded her in death.
A memorial service is scheduled at Freedom Village in Holland at 2 p.m. on Friday, April 1.
In lieu of flowers, donations in her name may be made to support local Lutheran elementary school education at the following institution: St. John's Lutheran School, 525 Taylor Ave., Grand Haven, MI 49417.
The Holland Sentinel, 30 March 2011
Split Deheubarth with his brother Rhys "Gryg" ap Rhys after theirfather's death.
1212 at King John's orders, defeated his 2 estranged nephews, Rhys Ieuane & Owain. Shortly after rebelled against john
1212 Joined Llewelyn Fawr's alliance against John. His 7 year old son, one of 30 Welsh hostages, John murdered.
Jul 1216 Refused John's call for support to defend throne against Louis Capet of France
WARD, Edith Lakeland, 89 of Lakeland, died March 28, 2002. Survived byone daughter; three sons; three brothers; two sisters; nine grandchildrenand 10 great-grandchildren. Heath Funeral Chapel.
The Tampa Tribune, 3 April 2002
LAKELAND -- Mrs. Edith Ward of Lakeland died of heart failure Thursday March 28, 2002 at Lakeland Regional Medical Center. She was 89.
Born in Regina, Saskatchewan, on Feb 5, 1913, she came to Lakeland from Auburn, NY, 45 years ago. She was a homemaker. She was a member of the Lakeland Regional Medical Center Auxiliary. She was a Presbyterian.
She was preceded in death by her husband, Charles A. Ward. She is survived by her daughter, Marjory Sheppard, Lakeland; sons, Charles Ward, Don Ward, both of Lakeland, Roger A. Ward, Gainesville; brothers, Fred Green, Clarence Green, both of Lakeland, Charles Green, Scarborough, Maine; sisters, Jessie Ward, Cortland, NY, Mary Reilley, Weedsport, NY; nine grandchildren; 10 great-grandchildren.
After her husband's death in 1973, Clara moved to
Bethesda Nursing Home in 1995.
WESTHAMPTON Frank B. Montague, 73, of 49 Montague Road, a longtime townofficial, died Tuesday at home.
He was a dairy farmer until 1956, when he sold his herd of Guernsey cows and went into the trucking business. He also worked for Omasta Brothers Construction Co. and was a custodian for the Hampshire Regional School District from 1971 until his retirement in 1988.
Born and schooled here, he was a 1943 graduate of Smith Vocational High School in Northampton.
He was a selectman and served on the Board of Health, the Board of Public Welfare, the Finance Committee and the Board of Assessors. He was a member of the Congregational Church for more than 50 years, a town constable for more than 40 years and a member of the Volunteer Fire Department for 42 years.
He leaves his wife of 53 years, the former Marion Warner; a son, Peter E. of Westhampton; three daughters, Sandra M. Sluman of Lake Worth, Fla., Deborah E. Montague of Guilford, N.H., and Sylvia A. Montague of Olympia, Wash.; two brothers, Edward A. Jr. and Sidney A., both of Westhampton; a sister, Ruth E. Wentworth of South Amherst; five grandchildren; and a great-granddaughter.
The memorial service will be Saturday afternoon at the Congregational Church, with burial at the convenience of the family in Center Cemetery. There are no calling hours.
Pease Funeral Home is in charge. Memorial contributions may be made to the Hospice of Hampshire County, P.O. Box 1087, Northampton, MA 01061, or the Congregational Church Organ Fund, Westhampton, MA 01027.
Union-News (Springfield, MA)
Date: March 11, 1999
Robert the father on his marriage [apparently wife's name not known]received Little Woodham (Woodham Mortimer) in Essex from Henry II by theservice of 1/2 fee and probably Amberden (in Debden) as another 1/2 fee.In 1190/1 he, or his son, was assessed to the scutage of Wales for oneknight's fee of the Honour of Peverel of London in Essex. Woodham andAmberden were held by Robert the son in 1212 as one fee. The father'smarriage presumably took place in or before 1168, when he was pardoned adebt in the account of the sheriff of Essex. It is not easy todistinguish this Robert from his son Robert at a time when either mighthave been the tenant of Woodham, or to distinguish them from theirnamesake and contemporary Robert de Mortimer of Attleborough. . . Thereseems to have been as close a connection between the Mortimers ofAttleborough, and their said overlords as between Robert of Essex and theKing. It would appear likely that it was Robert of Essex, the protégé ofHenry II, who witnessed at Valoignes the later version of the treaty ofFalaise, some time in the early months of 1174, as being in the train ofKing Henry, while William de Mortimer of Attleborough was one of thehostages under that treaty for William the Lion--Earl of Huntingdon untilhis defeat at Alnwick in July 1174; also that it was Robert of Essex who,at Le Mans, witnessed a charter of Henry II, dated 1175-81 or 1177. Thatthere was a close connection between the families of Attleborough andRichard's Castle is suggested by heraldic evidence; by the recurrence inboth families of the names Robert and William (Hugh probably came in atRichard's Castle from Say); and by the few details that are known about ashadowy Pernel de Mortimer, who seems to have belonged to both families.Of her it is known that before 1199 (probably before May 1194) she heldland in Dengey Hundred, in which are Woodham Mortimer and Amberden, whichlater was given to Tiltey Abbey; that in July 1199, as a widow, she wasR. del Ech for dower in Cambe (where Mortimers of Attleborough had largeholdings); and in 1203 levied a fine with William de Buckenham as to theadvowson of Buckenham and land there--a Mortimer of Attleborough manor.
Thomas W. Turner, 86, of Evansville, passed away in his sleep on Tuesday,January 19, 2010, at Deaconess Hospital. He was born July 31, 1923, inClarksville, Tenn. He moved to Evansville as a child with his mother,Zulema, and his brother, Robert.
Turner excelled as a football player and played varsity as a freshman. He earned three varsity letters and was the captain of the varsity team for two years. In 1941, he was awarded All-State Honorable Mention and the Courier Press Award. In 1942, he was awarded the Quarterback Club and the Kiwanis Award from the Downtown Kiwanis Club. He was also awarded All-City for two years. He made National Athletic Society at Central High School in 1942. Turner received a football Scholarship to the University of Nevada.
Turner served in the U.S. Army in 1943 and was a World War II veteran. He was stationed in New Guinea and then in the Philippines. He played football for the Army for three years and wrestled for two years with Army services in the 175 to 185 weight class following the AAU and NCAA rules. After returning from the service, he attended the University of Nevada. Then he attended the University of Evansville where he played football and was on the 49's team, which won all games played. Turner lettered in varsity three years at the guard position as an offensive and defensive player. Turner graduated from the University of Evansville with a Bachelor's Degree in 1950 and from Indiana University with a Master's Degree. After graduating from the University of Evansville, he started teaching biology and physical education at Central High School. Turner was also the assistant coach for football, head of the physical education and health department, and was the athletic director. He started wrestling programs in Evansville Public Schools along with Al Horn from Reitz. Then Turner became the wrestling coach for Central and an official for the IHSAA and NCAA-AAU. Turner was put in the Hall of Fame for Head Wrestling Coach of Indiana on February 25, 1977. He was the first to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. He retired from teaching in 1983.
He was a member of the 100 Club and 49's Club of the University of Evansville, Quarterback Club of Evansville, Hadi Shrine for 50 years, Scottish Rite for 50 years, Lessing Lodge for 46 ? 50 years, American Legion for 47 years, VFW Post #1114 Elite Team, Alumni Association of IU School of HPER, Sheriff's Association of Indiana, Retired Teachers Association, Petroleum Club, Kennel Club, Coterie Dance Club of Evansville and was an excellent ballroom dancer.
Turner also opened some of the first swimming pools in Evansville at the Rolling Hills Country Club, the Executive Inn, and Harke Pool and was the manager.
Tom was loved by his students and many people of the Tri-State. He was a great person to know and will be greatly missed.
Turner is survived by a wife, Georgia L. Turner, who loved him dearly. They were together for 26 years. Also surviving are a son, David Turner (wife, Penelope) of Grand Haven, Michigan; and a granddaughter, Abbey Road Turner, age 4. Additional survivors include a half sister, Mrs. Douglas E. Shelton of Pembroke, Ky.; nieces, Mary Schoettlin and JoAnn Elliot (husband, Terry) of Evansville; and nephew, Robert Turner Jr., who resides in Aurora, Colorado; other survivors include great-nieces and nephews along with great-great-nieces and nephews. Turner was predeceased by both his mother, Zulema, his father, Yancy, and brother, Robert.
The family would like to extend a thank you to all the nurses, aides and therapy, who took care of Tom during his stay at Deaconess Hospital and Dr. Robert Rusche for his excellent care.
Services 2 p.m. Saturday, January 23, 2010, at Alexander Memorial Park Heritage Chapel, 2200 Mesker Park Drive, officiated by the Rev. Jeff Long with entombment to follow. Friends may visit today from 2 to 8 p.m. and Friday from 2 to 8 p.m. at Alexander West Chapel, 2100 W. Illinois Street.
Evansville Courier & Press, 21 January 2010
Parents ?? :
Father: HENRY JACOB SHORB
Mother: MARY ELIZABETH HENRY
Former Vancouver resident Carol Adair Simpson Sim, died Thursday, Aug.24, 2000, at St. Luke's Regional Medical Center in Boise, Idaho. She was97.
Mrs. Sim was born July 25, 1913, in Vancouver. She graduated from Vancouver High School in 1930 and from the University of Washington in 1934, where she was a member of Alpha Chi Omega Sorority. She married Van Murray Sim in 1937. They moved to Cashmere and then to St. Louis, Mo., where he attended St. Louis University Medical School. She returned to Vancouver in 1970, after their divorce, and was employed by Washington Social and Health Services until her retirement in 1978. In 1996, she moved to Idaho to be closer to her family, residing first in Eagle and then in Boise.
She enjoyed the Oregon coast, shopping with her friends, reading, listening to music, collecting blue-and-white china and antiques, traveling and family gatherings.
She was preceded in death by her son, Stephen M.
Survivors include one daughter, Susan Kiracofe of Star, Idaho; two granddaughters, Kathryn Kiracofe Collins of Caldwell, Idaho, and Laura Kiracofe-Mangum of Eagle, Idaho; three great-grandchildren; one niece; and one nephew.
A memorial graveside service will begin at 4 p.m. Sunday at Park Hill Cemetery. The family will host a reception immediately following at a location to be announced at the service.
The Columbian, 18 September 2000
HUDGINS, Betty Mae - 79, Brickton, passed away peacefully on June 6,2005, in Soldiers Memorial Hospital, Middleton. Born in Digby on March11, 1926, she was the dearly loved daughter of the late Frank and Janet(Ellis) Wilson. She was the dedicated wife of William "Bill" Hudgins andher life was committed to the care and well-being of her family. Bettywill be fondly remembered by all of those who knew her for her kindnessand generosity. She instilled in her children a strong sense of familyand believed that families are always there for each other. Her greatestgift was one of strength and survival. Her motto in life, "you have tosurvive another day, for tomorrow might just be a better one", wasevident in her constant struggle with poor health. She never complainedand often rose above her health issues to care for others. She was a pastmember of the United Church Women's Institute where she and her dearfriend, Ann Brown, spent many a late night inventing new crafts andplanning their next adventure. Betty enjoyed playing bridge with thelocal bridge club. She loved to paint and shared her art with all friendsand family. Surviving are son, Patrick (Val), Windsor; daughter, Heather(Stephen) Hudgins-Grant, Kentville; grandchildren, Jacqueline Shortliffe,Halifax; Adam Shortliffe, Vancouver, B.C.; Luke Hudgins, Windsor; Leigh(Kim) Grant, Halifax; Kristopher Grant, Kentville; Adam (ChelseaBrewster) Grant, Halifax; Justin Grant, Kentville; great-grandchildren,Rebecca Coffey, Brennan Raby, Patrick Grant; sisters, Helen Fleet andJanet Merry; brother, Robert; devoted friend, Joan Hudgins, and severalnieces and nephews. She was predeceased by adoring husband of 49 years,Bill; brother, Frank, and sister, Mary. Visiting will be 2-4 and 7-9 p.m.today in Warren T. Roop Funeral Home, Middleton (902-825-3448). Funeralservice 2 p.m. Thursday in Lawrencetown United Church, Rev. Judith Perryofficiating. Interment in Fairview Cemetery, Lawrencetown. Donations tothe DVA Unit, Soldiers Memorial Hospital, Nova Scotia LighthousePreservation Society or a charity of choice.
Halifax Herald, 8 June 2005
She married (1) Simon de Kyme, and (2) William de Vivonia, and (3) AmauryIX de Rochechouart.
Died as a result of sporting injury.
Roger Bacon b. EST 1165, m. Unknown. Roger, son of George sued by hissister-in-law Agnes, widow of his brother Thomas, for distaining hertenants in Baconsthorpe and Lodue and breaking her park. He raised armswith the barons against the King and had his estates confiscated. Hislands were returned by favor of Henry III in 1216. Roger's direct lineextends to Robert, Reginald, Richard, Sir Robert, Sir Thomas to John,alias Roger (Friar Bacon) where it ends in 1546. Roger was the progenitorof Bacons of Drinkston and Hessett, Suffolk England.
Listed as female named Donovan in 1901.
Listed as male named Donald in 1911.
Other sources say that he was the son of Ardent and Deborah's daughter - Effie Lulano Tupper.
Herleva (or Arlette) was the mother of William the Conqueror.
Little is known for certain about Herleva's background, or the circumstances of William's birth. The written evidence dates from a generation or two later, and is not entirely consistent. Probably she was the teenage daughter of a tanner named Fulbert from the small Norman town of Falaise, where they lived. Translation being somewhat uncertain, Fulbert may instead have been a furrier, embalmer, or a person who laid out corpses for burial.
Legend has is that it all started when Robert, the young Duke of Normandy saw Herleva washing in the river near his castle. He was unable to resist her and took her for his mistress. She later gave birth to his son, William in 1027 or 1028.
Their love affair didn't last. While Robert went on a pilgrimage, Herleva married Herluin de Conteville in 1029. From this marriage she had two sons: Odo and Robert, who both became prominent during William's reign. They also had at least one daughter, who married William, lord of La Ferté-Macé.
William the Conqueror had a (half or full) sister, Adelaide, who may have been Herleva's daughter, but could possibly have been a daughter of Robert by some other mistress. Adelaide married first Enguerrand, count of Ponthieu, second Lambert of Lens, and third Odo, count of Champagne.
Herleva probably died around 1050.
OLEAN - Margaret V. Peavy of 228 Rowland Ave. died Tuesday (July 23,1996) at her home.
Born Dec. 2, 1916, in Parnasus, PA, she was a daughter of Edward and Mary Ellen Ryan Golden. She was married Nelson A. Peavy, who predeceased her.
She was a 1935 graduate of Port Allegany, PA, High School and attended the Westbrook Commercial Academy in Olean. Mrs. Peavy lived in Olean since 1936. She worked at the Service Stores Inc. as a bookkeeper. She also taught physical educaton at Archbishop Walsh from 1961 to 1965, was the women's basketball coach at St. Bonaventure University for several years and was an active member of the Special Olympics since its inception.
She also worked at The Rehabilitation Center for 17 years, retiring in 1983.
Mrs. Peavy was active in the Girl Scouts for over 54 years. During World War II, she was active in the Civil Service Air Patrol. She attended St. Mary of the Angels Church.
Surviving are two daughters, Mary Say of Bliss, NY, and Margaret (Peggy) Scicchitano of Olean; two sons, David Peavy of Gardner, KS, and Joseph Peavy of Greeley, CO; 12 grandchildren; 12 great-grandchildren; and several nieces and nephews.
Besides her husband, she was predeceased by a son, James F. Peavy, in 1987; one daughter, Patricia Naramore, in 1992; a sister, Elizabeth Spring; and a brother, Leo R. Golden.
There will be no visitation. Friends are invited to attend a memorial Mass of Christian Burial Thursday (July 25, 1996) at 9:30 a.m. in St. Mary of the Angels Church.
Memorials may be made to the Girl Scouts, the Rehabilitation Center or Special Olympics.
Arrangements are under the direction of Guenther Funeral Home Inc., Olean.
George Bacon m. Unknown. Gave and released to his sister Agnes, widow ofSir Roger DeHalis all the lands belonging to his family in Normandy.(Reg. Abbot De Langley, fol. 90).
FLORENCE - A private service will be held later for Delbert "Dean" VanSelus of Florence, who died Dec. 23 at age 78. The family chose not tolist the cause of death.
Van Selus was born Aug. 29, 1927, Albert Lea, Minn., to Albert and Cecile Baker Van Selus.
He graduated from Triangle Lake High School and served in the Navy. He worked in construction until he retired. Van Selus enjoyed hunting, fishing and spending time with his family and friends. He was a longtime member of the Florence Elks lodge, serving as exalted ruler in 1976-77.
Survivors include his wife, Peggy; two sons, Larry Van Selus of Sequim, Wash., and Dan Poen of Florence; two daughters, Julie Steele of Hillsboro and Diane of Arizona; eight grandchildren and five great-grandchildren. A grandson, Jason Poen, died previously.
Dunes Memorial Chapel in Reedsport is in charge of arrangements.
The Register-Guard, Eugene, OR, 29 December 2005
Anna Kahr, nee Putz, beloved wife of the late Frank; fond mother of FrankJr. [Margaret], Anne [Duane] Duff, Walter, Charles [Alice], and Joseph[Dorothy]; grandmother of 11; great-grandmother of one; dear sister ofJohanna Holt, Celia Hahn, and Joseph. Funeral Friday, Sept. 19, at 9:30a.m., from Kowske Funeral Directors, 1449 W. 51st street, to St.Augustine church. Mass 10 a.m. Interment St. Mary cemetery.
Chicago Tribune, 18 September 1969
She was a widow when she married John Wright
Funeral services were conducted Nov. 22 for William Becker, 46, ofBridgewater Township. Mr. Becker met with an accidental death fromasphyxiation in a trailer while hunting with four other Rice County mennear Lutsen on Nov. 17. The funeral service took place at St. LawrenceCatholic Church at 9 a.m. The Rev. F. L. Tschann officiated. Burial wasin the St. Lawrence Cemetery. Pallbearers were Ralph Kotz, Harold Kotz,Jerome Kotz, Roman Kotz, Irvin Becker and Kenneth Becker. Relatives andfriends who came from a distance to the funeral were from Ashton, Iowa,Seattle, Wash., Endeaver and Sinsinawa, Wis., St. Paul, Minneapolis,McGrath, Farmington, Northfield, Rochester, and New Prague. WilliamBecker, the son of Nick and Barbara Strouth Becker, was born on Oct. 26,1910, in Bridgewater Township. He attended St. Lawrence School andDistrict 29. He lived all his life on the farm in Bridgewater Township.He was married to Janet Hatfield on Nov. 13, 1933, at the St. LawrenceCatholic Church. Mr. Becker, who had been a farmer all his life, servedas clerk of District 29 for many years. He was a director of the Co-opOil Company and had been a director of the Forest Creamery before itclosed. He belonged to the St. Lawrence Church and the St. LawrenceSociety. He is survived by his widow, Janet; three daughters and threesons: Patricia, 21, who is a nurse at St. Mary's Hospital, Rochester;Gordon, 20, at home; Barbara, 18, who is in the convent at Sinsinawa,Wis., Connie, 16, Larry, 14, and James, 5, all at home. Also survivingare his father, Nick Becker of St. Paul; two brothers: Al Becker ofDundas and Math Becker of Faribault; and a sister, Mrs. Math Kotz ofrural Faribault.
Faribault Daily News, 3 December 1956
Eliakim moved to Plymouth, MA soon after the birth of their first childand at the time his parents moved to Lebanon, CT. He and Mary becamemembers of the church in Plymouth in 1737, and he served there on thejury and was a representative to the Assembly in 1742. About 1750 theymoved to Lebanon, CT. She died shortly after, on 24 March 1753 atLebanon, CT.
Eliakim went to Nova Scotia from Connecticut after the expulsion of the French. In 1760, having remarried, Eliakim and his brother Elias and others from Connecticut emigrated to lands granted to them at Cornwallis, Nova Scotia, where he died during the first winter. Most of the family remained there. He came with two other New Englanders, William and Jane West (presumably parents of Elizabeth West who would marry his son Charles) and settled in Cornwallis, NS in 1763. He died in Cornwallis, on 28 February 1761.
John J. Martin Jr., age 55, of Tinley Park, husband of Catherine; fatherof Mary K. Schleyer, Karen Marie Martin, John J. Martin III, and John M.Martin; grandfather of four; son of John J. and Mary Martin St.; brotherof Mary Beedle and Joseph Martin. Resting at Hirsch Memorial Chapel,183rd & Harlem, Tinley Park, Sunday and Monday 2 to 9 p.m. Funeral MassTuesday, 10 a.m. at St. Julie Church. Interment Holy Sepulchre.
Chicago Tribune, 30 April 1978
May 24, 2007, at 3:00pm, at Evergreen Memorial Gardens, 1101 NE 112thAve., in Vancouver, WA. Hope passed away Friday, May 11, 2007, at home.
Born March 27, 1918 in Racine, WI, Hope was the only child of Gustav Frederick Koehler and Theresa Eigle Koehler. She grew up in Salt Lake City, UT, Seattle, WA, and Los Angeles, CA. In 1939, Hope married Rex Devol Farner, and later married Kenneth M. Klein, in 1979.
Hope was a member of Kenton United Presbyterian Church, Eastern Star, EGA, ANG, ROAL and NAME. She enjoyed family, travel, the beach, miniatures, painting, stitching, gardening and puffins.
Survivors include: Frederick Farner; daughters, Theresa Norelius and Christina Farner; stepdaughter, Doris (Klein) Moore; four grandchildren: Dwayne Farner, Alan Farner, Theresa Lingenfelter, and David Norelius ; four step-grandchildren: Louise Rhoads, Nadine Hayden, Erik Klein, and Karl Klein; five great- grandchildren; and four step-great-grandchildren.
Memorial contributions may be sent to Good Shepherd Montessori, 805 SE Ellsworth Rd., Vancouver, WA 98664.
The Columbian, 23 May 2007
Timothy George Engel, 48, of Evansville, passed away Monday, Nov. 30,2009, at Highland Manor in Indianapolis.
Timothy is survived by his wife, Tammy; children, Amanda Engel and Zachary Engel and wife, Sara; five grandchildren; parents, George and Bettye Engel; and brothers, Chris and Tom Engel.
A memorial service will be held at 6:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 4, 2009, at Alexander East Chapel. Visitation will be Friday from 3 p.m. until service time.
Evansville Courier & Press, 3 December 2009
I have seen another report that her parents are Joshua and Elizabeth.
Berton Huftalin, 83, Dies Sunday Noon
Berton Huftalin, 83, esteemed and well known elderly resident of both Cortland and Sycamore communities, died Sunday noon at the old Huftalin family farm home in Cortland, where he resided with his daughter, Mrs. Ross Ilsley and family. His passing was sudden and due to a heart attack. Mr. Huftalin had been active as usual, until suddenly stricken.
He was born in Franklin, N.Y., May 20, 1866 and was the son of David N. and Katie Huftalin. When he was one year old, he moved to DeKalb County with his parents, and at the age of nine years, the family located on the present Huftalin farm, where he lived the major part of his life. On February 14, 1894, he was married to Hannah Fulcher of Cortland. To this union, two children were born, Mrs. Ross Islmey(sic) of Cortland and Frank Huftalin of Malta. They left the farm in 1920, moving to Sycamore, where they lived for 18 years, then returned again to the farm. While residing here, he served as the maintenance man at the court house. Mrs. Huftalin's death occurred in 1939.
Mr. Huftalin was a fine man and was very well liked. He will be greatly missed in the home, also in the community. Surviving his death besides his daughter and son, are seven grandchildren and a sister, who lives at Salina, Kans. One sister predeceased him.
Funeral services are being held this Tuesday afternoon at 2 o'clock at the Kebil Funeral Home with Rev. Robert Cochran of Maple Park in charge. Burial will take place at the Mound Rest Cemetery in Cortland.
Sycamore True Republican, Sycamore, IL, 7 March 1950
Funeral services for Catherine Evans Greenwood, 89, of Albert Lea, willbe held at 11 a. m. Friday at the United Methodist Church in Albert Lea.The Rev. John Bromeland will officiate. Interment will be in St. PeterCemetery in New Richland. Visitation will be from 4 to 7 p.m. Thursday atBayview/Freeborn Funeral Home and one hour prior to the service at thechurch. To sign the guest book, go to www.bayviewfuneral.com.
Catherine died Monday, Oct. 8, 2007, at Just Like Home Place where she had been living.
Catherine Evans Greenwood was born April 14, 1918, to John and Grace (Barney) Evans in Michigan City, N.D. When she was 2 years old the family moved to Steele County, and then to Freeborn County when she was 14 years old. Catherine attended grades one through eight in Medford and graduated from Freeborn High School. She married Irven A. Greenwood on Oct. 8, 1937, in Gordonsville. Irven preceded her in death in 1965. Catherine worked as a cook for many restaurants, some of them being the Elks Lodge, Skyline Supper Club and Holiday Inn. In 1972 she married Herbert Enstad and they were later divorced. After her retirement she volunteered as a senior companion with Senior Resources until she was 86 years of age. Catherine enjoyed going to family events such as reunions and other special occasions.
She also enjoyed reading and crossword puzzles. Catherine was well known for her positive outlook. She was a member of the VFW Auxiliary, former Moose Lodge, and a former Girl Scout leader. Catherine was also a member of United Methodist Church, Albert Lea, and active in the UMW and circle. She was a past Sunday school teacher.
Catherine is survived by her children, Delores (Roger) Schultz of Albert Lea, Margaret Lidke of Albert Lea, Phyllis (John) Brenneman of Woodbury, Ralph (Mary) Greenwood of Cedar Falls, Iowa, Lowell (Donna) Greenwood of Rock Falls, Wis., and Helen (Dennis) Hamberg of Albert Lea; sisters, Ethel (Harold) Kaplan of Aitkin, Dorothy (Arnold) Lund of Clarks Grove, and Maxine (Wally) Berntson of Manitou Springs, Colo.; brothers, Donald (Betty) Evans of Aitkin, Robert (Lila) Evans of Peoria, Ariz., and Kenneth Evans of Lewiston; 21 grandchildren; 33 great-grandchildren; and eight great-great-grandchildren.
Catherine was preceded in death by her parents; husband, Irven Greenwood in 1965; daughter, Rebecca Greenwood in 1965; grandson, Steven Greenwood; great-grandson, Alex Zwieg; sister, Shirley Whitehurst; and sons-in-law, John Lidke and Raymond Zwieg.
Albert Lea Tribuen, 10 October 2007
Before marrying Linder, he was married and divorced to Dorothy.
Parents were Niels and Anne Sorensen Hansen
Eliakim was selectman at Sandwich for 12 years and served on thecommittee "to supply the pulpit" in 1722. He owned much land and was a"shopkeeper". He did not agree with the doctrine preached in thecongregation, and on 13 April 1732 was one of two contractors who built anew meeting house for the opponents of the established minister. In 1736he and his family moved to Lebanon, Connecticut
Cousin of William.
Hulda was confirmed in the First Evangelical Lutheran Church in 1901. Theother girls thought that she was her mother's favorite. They said shenever had to do any work. Hulda married Swan Magnuson in Duluth,Minnesota, about 1917. By 1920, they had moved back to Ogema and Swan wasa dairy farmer. They had two daughters. In 1923, they moved to Chicagoand Swan became a janitor. Hulda had another child that died at birth.Hulda died about 1967.
Marcia U. (Davis) Shepard of East road, former president of the NewEngland Conferences of the State Federation of Women's Clubs, diedWednesday in a West Brookfield nursing home. She was 78.
Mrs. Shepard was born in Belchertown and was a resident of Warren for 67 years.
She was past president of the Massachusetts State Federation of Women's
Clubs and past matron of the Order of Eastern Star.
She was a member and lecturer of the Massachusetts Audubon Society and was a member of the Warren Tuesday Club, the Warren Grange No. 189, the Warren Public Library Assn. and the Warren Federated Church.
She leaves her husband, Charles E. Shepard, former state secretary of administration and finance and former state representative from Warren; three sons, Charles B. Jr. and David E., both of Warren, and Herbert E. Shepard of Acton; a sister, Virginia Hamel of Warren; 12 grandchildren; and nine great- grandchildren.
Funeral services will be held tomorrow at 11 a.m. in the Warren Federated Church. Burial will be in Pine Grove Cemetery.
The Boston Globe, 14 December, 1984
HISTORY OF RICE COUNTY 1882. BRIDGEWATER TOWNSHIP. J .G. HATFIELD wasborn in Ohio in 1836, and removed with his parents to Indiana when twoyears of age where he was educated. He was married in 1859, to Miss MaryH. Donaldson who was born in Pennsylvania in 1836. In 1864, they came toMinnesota, located on a farm in Bridge-water in section twenty-nine,where he still resides, the farm containing eighty acres, all wellim-proved. They have been blessed with five chil-dren, four of whom areliving. He is a member of the school board.
EARLY PIONEERS AND INDIANS OF MINNESOTA AND RICE COUNTY, BY LILLIE CLARA BERG. PUB. 1959. Hatfield, J. Gilmore. J. Gilmore Hatfield (1836-1901), a half-brother of Robert Hatfield, the following subject, was born in Ohio. He was married in Indiana on December 28, 1859, to Mary Donaldson (1836-1932) who was born in Pennsylvania. They and Gilmoreʼs brother, Robeson, settled on an 80 acre well improved farm in section 29 in Bridgewater Township, Rice County, Minn., in the summer of 1860, where Gilmore lived until his death on February 17, 1901. They had five children: Marion (1860-1944); Anna M. (Mrs. Amos Hutton) (1863-1901); John E. (1865-1938); Sarah R. (1868-1870); and Margaret P. (Mrs. Edward S. Bateman) (1871-1950). The 21 grandchildren still living are the eleven Hatfields: James G. Of R.F.D., Finlayso, Minn.; Miss Georgiana H., of Salem, Ore.; Ethel I. (Mrs. S. P. Fjeld) of Seattle, Wash.; Grace M. (Mrs. Ernest E. Schrader) and Janet E. (Mrs. William Becker), both of R.F.D., Dundas, Minn.; Ann M. (Mrs. Shirley L. Emery) of R.F.D., Metamora, Mich.; Jesse V. (Mrs. Frederick W. Peterson) of R.F.D., Farmington, Minn.; Charles G., of Northfield, Minn.; John W. of Duluth, Minn.; Marion E., of Faribault, Minn.; and Amy M. (Mrs. Joseh Vandenheuvel) of Austin, Minn.; the five Huttons: Gilmore D., and Margaret M. (Mrs. Lawrence Schrader) both of R.F.D., Dundas, Minn.; Frank J., of R.F.D., Farmington, Minn.; Mary E. (Mrs. Clifford Schrader) of St. Paul, Minn.; and Miss Anna A., of Northfield, Minn.; and the five Batemans of South St. Paul, Minn.; Mary C. (Mrs. Leonard Emblon) of R.F.D., Sauk Centre, Minn.; and Robert of Sioux Falls, S.Dak. There are 75 great-grandchildren and over 60 great-great-grandchildren.
Swan A. Magnuson, July 25, 1960, late of 105 N. Michigan avenue, VillaPark, Ill., beloved husband of Hulda; dear father of Virginia R.Rodeghier and Helen Svenonius : fond grandfather of Gerald, James,Patricia and Susan Lynn; brother of Emily Magnuson, Elizabeth Landstrom,Caroline Bengtson, and Tora Erickson. Funeral Thursday, 1 p.m., atchapel, 5149-51 N. Ashland avenue, at Foster. Interment Acacia park.Member of Flat Janitors' union, local No. 1. LO 1-5147.
Chicago Tribune, 27 July 1960
WILL of OLIVE WRIGHT of Kelvedon (Hatch) - 22 June 1560
[Taken from "Essex Wills", Archdeaconry of Essex,page 92,
with added information from "History of The Wright Family"
by William Henry Wright and Gertrude Wright Ketcham 1913. Added part in blue.]
Olive Wright of Kelvedon (Hatch), 22 June 1560
In the Name of God, Amen. 22 June 1560.
Olyve Wryght of the parish of Kelvedon, County Essex, sick of body but whole of mind. Soul to God.
To be buried in the chancel of Kelvedon church. To the reparations of the said church £4. To the reparations of South Weald church 40s. To the poor people at my burial £5 and at my month's day £5. To the poor people of Kelvedon and South Weald for 20 years after my decease, 30s, every year, half in Kelvedon and half in South Weald, at my executors' descretion. To Katherine my daughter £5. To Richard, Thomas, Reynold, Parnell and Elizabeth GREENE 40s apiece. To Mary GREENE and Olive her daughter 20s, and to Katherine's children 6s. 8d. apiece. To Olive WRIGHT, daughter of Robert my son 20s. and to Katherine, Dorothy, and Thomas, his children 20s. apiece. To Joan WRIGHT daughter of John WRIGHT of Kelvedon 40s and to Thomas her son 20s and her other two children 6s. 8d. apiece. To Olive and Dorothy daughters of John WRIGHT of the bridge my son late deceased 20s apiece and to John, Robert, and Agnes his children 13s. 4d apiece. To Katherine GREENE my daughter 3 chests in my chamber and a cupboard in my parlour. I will that my linen be equally divided among my children. To the said Katherine 6 silver spoons and 1 silver cup with a covering. To Alice PARKYNS my daughter £5 and to her children 20s. apiece. To Elizabeth SHEPPARD my daughter £5 and to William OUTRED 20s, and his two sons 20s apiece. To Robert WRIGHT, my son 1 chest in my chamber. To John my son of Wealdside [in South Weald] 1 silver pot with a cover, to John HUMPHREY and Mary his children 40s. apiece, to Anthony and Dorothy 20s. apiece, and to his two youngest children 6s. 8d. apiece. To John WRIGHT of Kelvedon my son a joined table and a spit, and to his children John, Robert and Dorothy 20s. apiece. To Katherine my daughter my bed as it is and a little board coffer. To Oliver CONBERS my goddaughter now being with me 20s. The residue of my goods shall be given among the poor people in Kelvedon, [South] Weald and Navestock by my executors, whom I ordain John WRIGHT of Wealdside and John GREENE of Navestock, and for their labour 20s. apiece, and John WRIGHT of Kelvedon and Robert WRIGHT to be my overseers, and for their labour 10s apiece. To Alice STACEE widow of Weald churchgate 20s., Oliver STACEE my godduaghter 6s. 8d., and Alice GREENE 13s, 4d. To John WRIGHT, Humphrey WRIGHT and Mary WRIGHT 2 silver spoons apiece.
Paul SPENCE curate, of Kelvedon
John CHESSON, Thomas NEVELL.
Proved 12 Oct 1560.
[Duodecimo die mensis prefati (Oct 1560) probatum fuit tesm Olavi Wright nuper de Kelydon def juram to Execator Quibus commissa fuit administraco, etc. Jurat ad sea dei evangelia. (Act Book I, folio 17.)]
Van Murray Sim, 80, supervised Army LSD tests Dr. Van Murray Sim,retired chief of the medical research division of the U.S. Armybiomedical laboratory at Edgewood Arsenal, died of respiratory failureThursday at his home in Bel Air. He was 80.
Dr. Sim worked at the Harford County installation from 1952 until his retirement in 1980.
In 1975, it was revealed that Dr. Sim had supervised an Army LSD testing program from 1956 to 1967 that administered the drug and other powerful hallucinogens to servicemen and civilians. He said in an interview at the time that the tests were without consequence.
A native of Cashmere, Wash., Dr. Sim earned his bachelor's degree in 1936 and his master's degree in 1941 in pharmacology from the University of Washington. He earned his medical degree in 1944 from the St. Louis University School of Medicine.
He served in the Navy from 1944 to 1946 as an assistant surgeon assigned to a destroyer squadron in the South Pacific and later with the 1st Marine Division.
He was discharged with the rank of lieutenant at the end of the war. He re-enlisted in the Navy in 1952, becoming liaison officer to the Army Chemical Command at Edgewood Arsenal.
Services are planned for 10 a.m. tomorrow at McComas Funeral Home, 1317 Cokesbury Road, Abingdon, with burial in Seattle.
He is survived by his wife of 27 years, the former Mary Kinnard; a daughter, Susan Kiracofe of Star, Idaho; two grandchildren; and two great-grandchildren.
Donations may be made to St. Louis University School of Medicine, Room 536, 3525 Caroline St., St. Louis, Mo. 63104.
The Sun, 17 December 1995
Stuart Anthony Pratt born January 21,1951 in Modesto, CA, passed awaypeacefully on April 13, 2009, due to congestive heart failure. Stuart wasthe first of three children to Joyce and Paul Cooke. He is survived byhis daughter Heather (Joe) Vuica of Surprise, AZ. Mother Joyce Cooke ofFolsom,Ca. Brother Michael Pratt of Roseville,Ca. Sister Catherine Kunkelof El Dorado Hills,Ca.And many nieces, nephews, extended family (Beach)and a multitude of friends. A celebrations of life was held SaturdayApril 18,2009, at Walnut Grove Marina.Memorial contributions maybe givento The American Heart Association. American Heart Association DataProcessing 1710 Gilbreth Road, Burlingame, Ca940101-800-242-8721www.americanheart.org Heather Pratt-Vuica 13327 W.Acapulco Lane Surprise, AZ 85379
The Sacramento Bee, 22 April 2009
WARREN - Charles "Charlie" E. Shepard, 90, of Elm View Farm, East Road,who became the state's first secretary of administration and finance in1971, died Wednesday in Quaboag Nursing Home, West Brookfield, after along illness.
His wife of 60 years, Marcia E. (Davis) Shepard, died in 1984. He leaves three sons, Herbert E. Shepard of Acton, Charles E. Shepard Jr. and David A. Shepard, both of Warren; 12 grandchildren; and 19 great-grandchildren. He was born in Warren, son of Herbert N. and Grace P. Shepard, and lived here all his life.
He graduated from the former Warren High School and Bay Path Business Institute in Springfield.
Mr. Shepard was a dairy farmer and the seventh generation of Shepards to own and operate Elm View Farm. He lived and worked on the farm for most of his life.
Mr. Shepard became a state representative for the 4th Worcester District in 1940, and was re-elected in 1942 and 1944. During his third term, he was named vice chairman of the Ways and Means Committee and helped modernize the state's budgeting process. From 1947 to 1965, he was budget director of the House Ways and Means Committee.
In 1965, Mr. Shepard became deputy commissioner of administration and finance for fiscal affairs, and from 1970 to 1971 was commissioner of administration and finance. In 1971, Mr. Shepard was chosen by then Gov. Francis W. Sargent to be the first secretary of administration and finance, the top cabinet office in the newly reorganized executive branch.
After retiring from state government in 1972, Mr. Shepard became a part-time consultant for the Massachusetts Taxpayers Foundation.
He served on the Warren Finance Committee from 1935 to 1943. He was a corporator of Warren Savings Bank for 47 years, and was its president from 1957 to 1973. He was a trustee of the Warren Public Library from 1936 to 1964, and was president of the board for eight years. Mr. Shepard was elected master of the Warren Grange in 1920. He joined Quaboag Masonic Lodge in 1923 and was master of the lodge in 1930 and 1931. He was a 32nd-degree Mason. He was a member of Warren Federated Church. He was grand marshal for Warren's 200th and 250th anniversary parades, in 1941 and 1991.
During the 1930s, Mr. Shepard headed the Massachusetts Federated Dairy Association. He was involved in many other agricultural groups, including serving as president of the Federated Dairy Association of Massachusetts, legislative agent for the Dairy Farmers of Massachusetts, chairman of the Warren Home Defense Committee, chairman of the Massachusetts Agriculture Defense Committee on credit and finance, past deputy for the Massachusetts State Grange; and an honorary board member of the Warren Rural Improvement Association.
The funeral will be held at 10 a.m. tomorrow in the Federated Church of Warren, Winthrop Terrace. Burial will be in Pine Grove Cemetery. Calling hours at Pillsbury Funeral Home, Old West Brookfield Road, are 2 to 4 and 7 to 9 p.m. today. Flowers may be sent, or memorial contributions made to the Charles and Marcia Shepard Youth Fund, care of Warren Federated Church, Winthrop Terrace, Warren, 01083; or Hospice of Hampshire County, P.O. Box 1087, Northampton, 01061.
Worcester Telegram & Gazette, 11 September 1992
The Wrights of Kelvedon Hatch are fairly well know in gene- alogy circlesas the Kelvedon Wrights. Records indicate the early family lived atDagen- hams as Sir John Wright(1) was Christened there on 27 Oct 1450, aswas his son John Wright(2) who was Christened on 12 Jul 1488, and diedthere on 5 Oct 1551. Olive Hubbard, the wife of John Wright(2) was alsoborn at Dagenhams, and Christened there on 22 Feb 1487. The same recordsalso indicate their marriage on 17 Mar 1509 at Dagenhams.
However, before Kelvedon Manor was purchased, John Wright, although had been recorded as in Kelvedon Hatch, was considered as a yeoman of South Weald. From this we can gather that the family had moved into the South Weald area from Dagenhams, sometime after his marriage in 1509. As of this writing, we do know that John Wright and his wife Olive Hubbard were in the Kelvedon Hatch area by 1522. Their son, John [Myddle] Wright was born 19 Jun 1522, Kelvedon Hatch, as was John [young] Wright, 4 May 1524.
The Kelvedon Manor was purchased in 1538, yet "The first Book of the Registers of St Peter" has "Johanis Wryght, son of Johanis of Wealdside, md. Alicia Wood, widow, 13 Sep 1541". This indicates that John and Olive Wright may have still lived at Wealside.
The "Eldest" John Wright remained in Kelvedon Hatch, while "Myddle" John, although born in Kelvedon Hatch, lived near Wealdside in South Weald and is considered by most as John Wright of "Wright's Bridge" [when looking at the map, it looks as though it is in Havering]. "Young" John was considered as John Wright "of South Weld".
"History and Topography of The County of Essex
Comprising its Ancient and Modern History"
1895, Vol 2, page 421.
John Wright, esq. with Olive his wife, were buried in Kelvedon church, in 1551. John, his son, died in 1563. By his wife Joan, he had his heir John, who held this manor of Robert lord Rich: he had also the manor of White Notley, and, on his death in 1608, left John Wright, his son, his heir, who married Anne, one of the daughters of sir Edward Sulyard, of Flemyngs, in Runwell; and had by her three sons and four daughters.
He died in 1661; their eldest son was John Wright, esq. who married Frances, eldest daughter of sir Phillip Waldegrave, esq. of Borley; he died in 1661, leaving John, Phillip, and Frances. John Wright, the eldest son, married Philippa, daughter of Willilam Fitz-Williams, esq. of Glixby, in Lincolnshire, and had by her five sons and four daughters. She died in 1687, and he in 1691.
John Wright, esq. the eldest son and heir, married Eugenia, daughter of Charles Trinder, esq. and had by her his son and heir, John, who died in 1751, leaving, by his wife ___ Smith, or ?Carrington, John Wright, esq. Arms of Wright: Azure, two bars argent, in chief, a leopard's face, or.
A teacher in Vancouver and Battle Ground schools, Barbara E. Simpson,died Wednesday, Nov. 4, 1998, at Southwest Washington Medical Center ofcancer. She was 86.
Mrs. Simpson graduated from Mills College in Oakland, Calif., and attended the University of Washington. She was a member of the American Association of University Women. During World War II, she was a Marine Corps flight instructor.
Mrs. Simpson was born May 11, 1912, in Lelam, Wash., and resided in Vancouver the past 80 years.
Her husband, Donald, died in 1996.
Survivors include one daughter, Patricia L. Simpson of Seattle; one son, George B. of Vancouver; and four grandchildren.
A graveside service will begin at 2 p.m. Sunday at Park Hill Cemetery. Hamilton-Mylan Funeral Home is in charge of arrangements.
The Columbian, 6 November 1998
Was given Great Babington by her brother, Robert d'Umfraville when shemarried.
1860 Census for Peebles Township, Allegheny, PA list Frederick(40-1820)and Maria(42-1822) Brinker and son Henery(14-1856), all of Germany; thehead of house hold is Christopher Rohlf. Note that the Post Office wasWilkins and the City of Pittsburgh annexed Peebles Township June 30, 1868.
1870 CENSUS NOTE No John Brinker with family
Name Home in 1870 Age Est.Birth Year Birthplace Race Gender
Fred Brinker East Deer, Allegheny, PA 53 1816 Hannover / Hanover White Male
Henry Brinker East Deer, Allegheny, PA 23 1846 Hannover / Hanover White Male
Mary Brinker East Deer, Allegheny, PA 53 1816 Hannover / Hanover White Female
Location: Allegheny Co., Pennsylvania
Page Number: 12
Document Type: Immigrant Record
Source: Passenger and Immigration Lists Index
WESTERN PENNSYLVANIA GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY, Pittsburgh, compilers. A List of Immigrants Who Applied for Naturalization Papers in the District Courts of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. Pittsburgh: the society. 9700 ---Vol. 5, 1880-1887. 1981. 141p. 9701 ---Vol. 6, 1881-1891. 1981. 138p. 9702 ---Vol. 7, 1892-1906. 1982. 220p.
Immigrant: Brinker, Henry
Location: Allegheny Co., Pennsylvania
Page Number: 10
Document Type: Immigrant Record
Source: Passenger and Immigration Lists Index
WESTERN PENNSYLVANIA GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY, Pittsburgh, compilers. A List of Immigrants Who Applied for Naturalization Papers in the District Courts of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. Pittsburgh: the society. 9700 ---Vol. 5, 1880-1887. 1981. 141p. 9701 ---Vol. 6, 1881-1891. 1981. 138p. 9702 ---Vol. 7, 1892-1906. 1982. 220p.
From 1880 census Pittsburgh, Allegheny, PA:
Fredrick Brinker b. 1841 in Hanover
Wife is Mary b. in Hanover
Children are William, Harry, Mary, Catherine
Richard F. Gray, age 68, of Homosassa, FL, died on Friday August 20,2010, at his home under the care of his family and Hospice of CitrusCounty.
Born February 1, 1942, in Greenfield, MA, to Gaylord and Grace (Underwood) Gray. He came here 10 years ago from Islamorada, FL. He was a retired Fireman/Dispatcher with the NYFD with 25 years of service. A U.S. Army veteran, he enjoyed woodcarving, fishing and restoring cars.
His wife, Ann Gray, preceded him in death in 1994. Surviving are his sons, Christopher Gray and wife Dawn of Keller, TX, and Rick Gray of CT; 1 brother, Gaylord Gray of MA; 2 grandchildren, Madelyn and Brayden Gray, both of TX. Strickland Funeral Home, Crystal River.
Citrus County Chronicle, 23 August 2010
Evansville Courier & Press (IN) - July 2, 1998
Deceased Name: Paul Schmitt
Paul Stephan Schmitt, 63, of Evansville, died Tuesday afternoon at home of natural causes. He formerly owned Standard Concrete Burial Vault Co. He retired from Krieger-Ragsdale Co. Inc.
He was a Navy Reserve and National Guard veteran and a member of St. Paul Lutheran Church, American Association of Retired Persons, Southwestern Indiana Regional Council on Aging and the Jacobsville Neighborhood Improvement Association.
Surviving are his wife of 42 years, Delores Maxine (Bengert); three daughters, Susan E. and Rebecca D. Schmitt and Debra M. Paulson, all of Evansville; a foster daughter, Brenda L. Stapleton of Evansville; three sisters, Juanita Todd of Columbus, Ohio, Lucille Turner of Evansville and Lillian Bull of Pompano Beach, Fla.; and nieces and nephews.
Services will be at 2 p.m. Friday at Alexander Funeral Home West Chapel, the Rev. R. Lee Hagan officiating, with burial in Oak Hill Cemetery.
Friends may call from 3 to 8:30 p.m. today and from noon to service time Friday at the funeral home.
Delores Maxine (Bengert) Schmitt, 69, of Evansville, Ind., went to bewith the Lord on Monday, October 24, 2005, at West Park RehabilitationCenter.
She was a member of St. Anthony Catholic Church. Early in life, Delores worked at Deaconess Hospital as a nurse's aide and later she enjoyed working at the Republican Headquarters for many years. Delores volunteered her time for many different organizations throughout this city. She was an avid animal lover.
Delores is survived by daughters, Sue E. Schmitt, Evansville, Ind., Debra M. Paulson and her husband, Ralph, Evansville, Ind., Rebecca D. Schmitt, Evansville, Ind., and Brenda L. Stapleton, Evansville, Ind.
She was preceded by her mother, Flora (May), her father, George Bengert, and her husband of 42 years, Paul S. Schmitt.
Funeral services 2 p.m. Friday, October 28, 2005, at St. Anthony Catholic Church, with Father Jay Davidson officiating, and burial will follow in St. Joseph Catholic Cemetery. Friends may visit from 2 to 8 p.m. Thursday, October 27, 2005, at Browning Funeral Home, 738 Diamond Avenue, Evansville, Ind. 47711 and from 1 p.m. until service time at the church on Friday, October 28, 2005.
Evansville Courier & Press, 26 October 2005
Helen E. Miner, a 9-year resident of Oakland and prior 48-year residentof El Cerrito, died Thursday, July 1, 2004 in Oakland. She was 86. Anative of Beresford, SD, she graduated from Beresford High School in 1936and came to California that same year. Mrs. Miner was a homemaker for 62years who enjoyed baking and craft work. When her children were in highschool and as a means of therapy for successful treatment of breastcancer she worked at Capwells in the El Cerrito Plaza in the Art-GiftsDepartment until retirement. She was a member of the NorthminsterPresbyterian Church in El Cerrito.
Survived by her son, James Miner of Santa Rosa; her daughter and son-in-law, Vicki and Gilbert Avila of Hayward; sister, Virginia Doris Wimple of Oakland; 4 grandchildren; 3 great-grandchildren, and several nieces and nephews.
Private interment will be at Sunset View Cemetery, El Cerrito. A Memorial Service will be held at a later date. Memorial Gifts are suggested to the American Cancer Society, 2000 Vale Road, San Pablo, CA 94806 or to the charity of your choice.
Contra Costa Times, Walnut Creek, 7 July 2004
Helen Eileen Miner a 9-year resident of Oakland and prior 48-year resident of El Cerrito, died Thursday, July 1, 2004, in Oakland. She was 86. A native of Beresford, S.D., she graduated from Beresford High School in 1936 and came to California that same year. Mrs. Miner was a homemaker for 62 years who enjoyed baking and craft work. When her children were in high school and as a means of therapy for successful treatment of breast cancer, she worked at Capwells in the El Cerrito Plaza in the Art-Gifts Department until retirement. She was a member of the Northminster Presbyterian Church in El Cerrito. Survived by her son, James Miner of Santa Rosa; her daughter and son-in-law, Vicki and Gilbert Avila of Hayward; sister, Virginia Doris Wimple of Oakland; four grandchildren; three great-grandchildren; and several nieces and nephews. Private interment will be at Sunset View Cemetery, El Cerrito. A memorial service will be held at a later date. Memorial gifts are suggested to the American Cancer Society, 2000 Vale Road, San Pablo, CA 94806, or to the charity of your choice. Sunset View Mortuary & Cemetery (510) 525-5111.
Alameda Times-Star, 7 July 2004
Harold and his wife farmed southof Beresford, SD before moving toBeresford in 1939.
Harold's last job was with the highway maintenance department.
Paul F. Childress of Scaggsville died April 7 at his home. He was 71.
Born July 2, 1933, in Washington, Mr. Childress moved to Maryland at age 18. Prior to that, at age 17, he went to work for the federal government. He worked with several agencies, including U.S. Map Service, Naval Intelligence Support Center and the National Security Agency.
After retiring at age 55, Mr. Childress spent much of his time working on his home and spending time with his grandchildren, family members said. Many a summer was spent at the Childress' pool and at the beach, the family added.
He and his wife, Virginia, were members of Christ Memorial Presbyterian Church in Columbia for 40 years. Mr. Childress held several positions in the church, but may be best remembered for his Men of the Church dinners, the family said.
In addition to his wife, he is survived by his daughter, Bonni Bost ; his son, Paul Childress Jr.; and six grandchildren.
A memorial service was held at Christ Memorial Presbyterian Church April 13.
Memorial contributions may be made to Christ Memorial Presbyterian Church, 6410 Amherst Ave., Columbia, MD 21046 or to Montgomery Hospice, 1355 Piccard Drive, Suite 100, Rockville, MD 20850.
Howard County Times, MD, 12 May 2005
Hedy Daber, 72, Bradenton, died May 21, 2004.
She was born Sept. 22, 1931, in Geresdorf, Austria, and came to Manatee County in 1994 from Parsippany, N.J. She retired after 25 years as a technician for Thomas Electronics Inc. in Wayne, N.J. She was a member of St. Joseph Catholic Church.
Survivors include her husband of 46 years, John; daughters Cheryl Nelson of Long Valley, N.J., and Lisa Ochman of Aberdeen, N.J.; a sister, Anna Neubauer of Clifton, N.J.; a brother, Joseph Luipersbeck of Clifton; and four grandchildren.
Visitation will be from 10:30 a.m. to noon today, with a service to follow, at Brown & Sons Funeral Homes, 26th Street Chapel. Burial will be in New Jersey.
Memorial donations may be made to Bradenton Hospice House c/o Hospice of Southwest Florida, 5955 Rand Blvd., Sarasota, FL 34238; or to St. Joseph Catholic Church, 3100 26th St. W., Bradenton, FL 34205.
Sarasota Herald-Tribune, 24 May 2004
Isabelle was born with her twin sister, Helen. She moved to San LuisObispo, CA in 1979. In 1990, she moved to Arroyo Grande, CA. She wassurvived by a daughter, two grandchildren, a great grandson after herdeath.
Mary M. (Pogoda) Zak, 90, formerly of 88 High St., Turners Falls, Mass.,died Tuesday at a local nursing home. She was a teacher in Gill, Mass.,North Orange, Mass., and Orange, Mass. Born in Wilgus, Pa., she was a1925 graduate of Turners Falls High School, and Fitchburg, Mass., NormalSchool in 1927. She received a bachelor of arts degree from FitchburgState College in 1972. She was a communicant of Our Lady of CzestochowaChurch, and a member of the Polish Women's Alliance, the Greenfield,Mass., Women's Club, and the Orange Teachers Association. Her husband,Andrew P. Zak, died in 1965. She leaves a son, Andrew P. of Mendon, Vt.;a daughter, Martha E. Swift of Whately, Mass.; two brothers, Edward ofNorth Hadley, Mass., and Louis of Turners Falls; four sisters, BlancheSermeth and Anna Godlesky of Greenfield, Alice Wojtkowski of MillersFalls, Mass., and Amelia Brzozowy of Newington, Conn.; fivegrandchildren. A calling hour will precede the funeral at noon Friday atKostanski Funeral Home and the church, with the burial in the parishcemetery, all in Turners Falls. Memorial contributions may be made to thePolish National Women's Alliance, in care of Our Lady of CzestochowaChurch, Turners Falls, 01376.
Union-News, Springfield, MA, 8 January 1997
Mary A. Radatz, nee O'Gara, loving wife of the late William J. Radatz;beloved mother of Margaret [Frank] Kahr, Catherine [John] Martin, andRose [Raymond] Phillips; dear sister of James and Thomas O'Gara, RoseMcGury, the late Catherine, John, William, and Edward; dear grandmotherof 12 great-grandmother of two. Funeral Wednesday 9:15 a.m. fromBlame-Lamb Funeral Home, 4727 W. 103d street, Oak Lawn, to St. ThomasMore church. Interment Holy Sepulchre cemetery.
Chicago Tribune, 19 May 1970
October 5, 2007. Age 83. Loving husband of the late Sylvia Rae Brown.Dear father of the late Sidney Lockwood Lyon. Survived by sons Lockwood,Stephen Maxwell, Mark Damon, and Hanford. Brother of Mary Holden and thelate Margaret Blanchard. In lieu of flowers, memorial tributes toAmerican Cancer Society, please call 1-800-227-2345 or www.cancer.org
The Detroit News, 8 October 2007
Stephen and Henry owned Standard Concrete Co in Evansville. Prior tothat he worked as a plasterer, earning about $.50/hr. On that salary hesupported his wife, son, mother-in law, mother, and a great-nephew HenrySchuck from infancy to adulthood. At various times he accepted otherdistant relatives into his home, Steve Bitzer and John Hoffman.
Stephen's mother, Margaretha, married Georg Pitzer on 3 Feb 1853 in Hessen-Oberingelheim Germany. Georg was born 10 Apr 1828. They had a girl Anna Marie, born in 1852. After they arrived, the name Pitzer was Americanized and became Bitzer. They had 4 more children, all born in Posey County Indiana. Jacob Bitzer (1854), William F. Bitzer (1855), Helena Bitzer (1858), and George Edward Bitzer (1860). Georg, the father, died in 1861 in Evansville IN. George Edward lived with Stephan and Lizzie Schmitt after his wife died, until he died.
Margaretha married Peter Schmitt in 1862. They had 3 children all born in Posey County IN around Blairsville. Wilhelmina "Minnie" (1864), Margarete "Maggie" (1867), and Stephen 1870. My mother says that Stephen acknowledged 1 full sister "Maggie". There is an undocumented report from another Geneology site, that she married Lazarus Epstein, and that she died prior to 1944 in Evansville.
By Donna Dotson
Memorial services for Evelyn R. Thomas, age 91, of Albert Lea, will beheld 11 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 15, at Salem Lutheran Church. The Rev. DwightNetzer will officiate. Friends may greet the family 5 to 7 p.m. Friday atSalem Lutheran Church.
Bayview / Freeborn Funeral Home is assisting the family.
Evelyn died Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005, at the Albert Lea Medical Center.
Evelyn Ruth Thomas was born June 18, 1913, to Ernest and Mabel (Kottke) Grussendorf in New Ulm. She grew up in the Cosmos, Minn., area and graduated from Hutchinson High School in 1931. In November 1940, Evelyn was united in marriage to Edwin J. Thomas. She had worked as a receptionist for the State Highway Department, working all four districts near Albert Lea.
Evelyn was a member of the Salem Lutheran Church, Sew & Tell, the Margaret Haupt circle, Salem Senior Citizens, the American Legion Auxiliary, Friends of the Library, and the Naeve Auxiliary, as well as a 4-H volunteer, a Red Cross Volunteer, and a volunteer at the Freeborn County Fair. She was an avid Minnesota Twins fan and enjoyed crocheting and traveling. On Dec. 19, Evelyn was a Golden Angel in the Sunday School Christmas program.
Survivors include her daughter, Linda and husband, Rod Johnson of Albert Lea; grandchildren: Joshua and his wife Karen Johnson of Liberty, Mo., and Matthew Johnson and his fiance Christine Hebl of Minneapolis; brothers: Gordon and his wife Doris Grussendorf, and DuWayne and his wife Doris Grussendorf, all of Minneapolis; and nieces and nephews.
Evelyn was preceded in death by her parents; her husband, Edwin; and brothers: Ralph, Donald and Robert.
Memorials are preferred to the Salem Lutheran Building Fund, or the Albert Lea-Freeborn County United Way.
Albert Lea Tribune
Check this out
Date of Death: 10/11/1933
County of Death: HENNEPIN
Date of Death: 05/20/1950
County of Death: HENNEPIN
Margaretha was the daughter of Jacob and Elisabeth Braun. She marriedGeorg Pitzer (name changed to Bitzer after immigration), who died andleft her with 5 children. He was 33 at the time of his death. She thenmarried Peter Schmitt, he was 24 years older. They had 3 children. Hedied between 1870 & 1880. She had no occupation, so I assume she livedwith one of the Bitzer children, until Stephen's marriage in 1877. Shelived with Stephen and Lizzie until her death in 1900. She contracted TBand was treated at some point in time. She is buried in Oakhill Cemetaryunder the name of Margharetha Braun. Her grave stands alone.
Marion A. "Pat" Kime, 81, of 326 Rasbach St. died Sunday at Oneida CityHospital.
A native of Limaville, Ohio, Mr. Kime moved to Canastota in 1954. He retired in 1972 after 18 years as the owner and operator of Canastota Agway Store. He previously was a supervisor of the petroleum and engineering departments of GLF, Agway's predecessor. Mr. Kime was a graduate of Cornell University.
Mr. Kime was a member and elder of the United Church of Canastota, a charter member and former president of the Canastota Rotary Club and a former chairman of the board of directors of the former Lenox Memorial Hospital. He was a former president and member for 22 years of the board of directors of the former Canastota Savings and Loan Association. He also was a member of the board of directors of the Sherrill Auto Club and a member of Cobleskill Lodge, F&AM.
A son, Ronald P., died in 1991.
Surviving are his wife, the former Marian E. Ward; a son, Allen W. of Canastota; a daughter, Janice E. Walterick of Hudson; a sister, Elizabeth West of Millport; six grandchildren; and several nieces and nephews.
Services will be 2 p.m. Wednesday in the United Church of Canastota. Burial will be in Lenox Rural Cemetery.
The Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY) - 5 May 1992
Funeral services for Mrs. Charles Prinzing, 79, were conducted Monday,Nov. 8, at Coeur d'Alene, Idaho. Mr. and Mrs. Reginald Prinzing ofFaribault attended the service. Mrs. Prinzing died Friday, Nov. 5, at thehome of her eldest daughter, Mrs. Gladys Carver, in Coeur d'Alene, whereshe made her home. Her son, the Rev. Kelsey Prinzing of Lodi, Calif.,officiating at the funeral. Mrs. Kelsey Prinzing sang the sacredselections at the service. A native of St. James, Mo., Mrs. Rose Prinzingwas the widow of the late Charles Prinzing, who preceded her in death inJuly, 1952. Mrs. Prinzing is survived by seven children, all of whomattended the service. They are Mrs. Carver of Coeur d'Alene, Mrs. HenryDierking (Pearl) of Lodi, Calif., Ray Prinzing of Coeur d'Alene, AlvinPrinzing of Hood River, Ore., Reginald Prinzing of Faribault, the Rev.Kelsey Prinzing of Lodi, and Mrs. Ruby Walker of Coeur d'Alene. Alsosurviving are 39 grandchildren and 20 great-grandchildren. Her grandsonsserved as pallbearers at the funeral.
In the fall of 1927 for the YMCA Camp Hochelaga, Mason S. Stone createdthe Alma Wright Stone Trust Fund with $6000 in his wife's name.
Educational.--The Bristol Scientific Institute was established many years ago, and during the late war was changed to the Bristol Academy, which name it retained till March 2, 1881, when it was organized as the Bristol Graded School. The present building, erected in 1855, was removed a hundred rods to its present location about 1876. Mason S. STONE is principal of the academy, assisted by E. A. HASSELTINE, Julia BARRY, Hattie BISSONETTE and Miss SPENCER. The town has nine school districts.
Name: MASON S. STONE
Source: Vermont Legislative Directory--Biennial Session--1896 Prepared Pursuant To Law--By Chauncey W. Brownell, Secretary Of State Montpelier: Watchman Publishing Company, 1896 Biographical And Political Notes Of The Federal Officers, Congressional Delegation, Judiciary, Members Of The Executive Department, Senate And House Of Representatives, Constituting The Civil Government Of Vermont.
Biography: STATE SUPERINTENDENT OF EDUCATION. MASON S. STONE of Montpelier, Independent, was born in Waterbury December 14, 1859, and located in town in 1892; prepared for college at People's Academy, Morrisville, graduated from the University of Vermont in 1883; was successively principal of Williston Academy, Bristol High School and People's Academy. In 1889 was elected Supervisor of Schools for Orleans County; in 1891 was elected Superintendent of schools for the Easthampton District, Massachusetts; in 1892 was elected State Superintendent of Education of Vermont, in 1894 and 1896 was re-elected to the same office. Religious preference, Congregationalist.
Stone, Mason Sereno,of Montpelier, son of Orson N. and Candace (Mason) Stone, was born at Waterbury Center, Dec. 14, 1859.
His early education was received in the public schools and seminary of that place, and he afterwards attended the People's Academy of Morrisville. He was graduated from the classical department in the University of Vermont in 1883.
Having had some experience as an instructor during his college course, he resolved to devote his life to the cause of education, and during the next six years filled the office of principal of the Williston Academy, Bristol high school, and People's Academy, Morrisville. In 1889 he was elected supervisor of schools in Orleans county, and in the next year organized the first summer school in Vermont. In 1891 he was appointed tutor in mathematics in the University of Vermont to fill the position left vacant by the absence of the regular instructor. While at the university he was appointed chief of the educational division of the Indian Bureau at Washington, but declined the position, preferring to accept the office of superintendent of schools for the district of Easthampton, Mass., which post he resigned a year later, when he was elected superintendent of education for the [p.386] state of Vermont, the duties of which office he continues to discharge.
Mr. Stone is independent in his politics. For several years he has been a member of the Congregational church in Morrisville, and has always manifested a lively interest in the religious work of the young people's societies. Mr. Stone is a self-reliant and energetic man, possessing the happy faculty of arousing the enthusiasm and interest of those with whom he comes in contact in the professional work to which he has hitherto devoted his life.
F. GERALD (JERRY) FELL Jerry Fell passed away on April 13, 2009 a fewdays before his 98th birthday. Born in Libertyville, Iowa on an EasterSunday, he resided in the Enumclaw and Milton areas for most of the past58 years. He had recently moved to Gig Harbor. He was a devoted husband,loving father, accomplished musician, and Eagle Scout who enjoyedworking, traveling, reading, tinkering in his garage, and tellingstories. His career with Boeing spanned 35 years. He was a member ofseveral Masonic organizations, including Crescent Lodge 109 F. & A. M.,Nile Shrine, and was a Past Worthy Patron of Crystal Chapter, O. E. S. Hewas preceded in death by Katharine, his wife of 71 years; a brother and asister. He is survived by his daughters Linda (Duane) Damgaard of OceanShores and Sandy (Alan) Barrie of Gig Harbor; son Jan (Bonnie) Fell ofAuburn; seven grandchildren and six great-grandchildren. There will be noservices at his request.
The News Tribune, Tacoma, WA, 9 January 2009
Likely SSA hit:
ARTHUR C MILLER b: 22 Oct 1907 d: 02 Oct 2000 at Washington, DC) -- 261-01-0927 in Florida
Likely FL death index ID:
b. 16 Dec 1907 d. 7 Jan 1984 Bradford County, FL
Humphrey de Bohun, 4th Earl of Hereford (1276 - March 16, 1322) was amember of an important Norman family of the Welsh Marches. His father wasHumphrey de Bohun, 3rd Earl of Hereford and his mother was Maud deFiennes, daughter of Enguerrand II de Fiennes. He was born at PlesheyCastle located in Essex, England. The castle is nothing more than anearthwork ruin now.
He succeeded his father to the titles of Earl of Hereford and Baron de Bohun. Humphrey held the title of "Bearer of the Swan Badge". He married Elizabeth of Rhuddlan, daughter of King Edward I of England and his first Queen consort Eleanor of Castile, on November 14, 1302, at Westminster. She gave him 10 children:
1. Margaret de Bohun (September 1303 - 1305)
2. Eleanor de Bohun (October 1304), married James Butler, 1st Earl of Ormonde and Thomas, Lord Dagworth.
3. Humphrey de Bohun (1305 - died young)
4. John de Bohun, 5th Earl of Hereford (November 23, 1306 - 1335)
5. Humphrey de Bohun, 6th Earl of Hereford (December 6, 1309 - 1361)
6. Margaret de Bohun (April 3, 1311 - 1391), married Hugh Courtenay, 2nd Earl of Devon
7. William de Bohun, 1st Earl of Northampton (1312-1360). Twin of Edward.
8. Edward de Bohun (1312 - 1334). Twin of William.
9. Eneas de Bohun, died after 1322, when he's mentioned in his father's will.
10. Isabel de Bohun (May 5, 1316). Elizabeth died in childbirth, and this child died a few days afterwards.
At the battle of Bannockburn, he charged alone at Robert the Bruce, only to be felled and held for ransom for the Bruce's wife. In this battle his nephew Henry de Bohun was also killed by Bruce. Humphrey was killed while fighting Andrew de Harclay, at the Battle of Boroughbridge in a particularly gory manner. As recounted in The Greatest Traitor by Ian Mortimer, page 124:
"[The 4th Earl of] Hereford led the fight on the bridge, but he and his men were caught in the arrow fire. Then one of de Harclay's pikemen, concealed beneath the bridge, thrust upwards between the planks and skewered the Earl of Hereford through the anus, twisting the head of the iron pike into his intestines. His dying screams turned the advance into a panic."
She married Richard Chadwell 22 July 1649 in Sandwich, Plymouth, MA.
He was born abt 1620; died 27 Nov 1681, Sandwich, Barnstable, MA, Age of 61.
Sigurd Snake-eye was one of the sons of Ragnar Lodbrok and Kraka. Whenhis father died, he inherited Skåne, Halland, the Danish islands, andViken. He was considered to be the grand-father of Gorm the Old.
Marcus worked as an electrical engineer for 38 years for the GeneralElectric Company in Chicago, Minneapolis, and since 1967, in South Bend.After his retirement, his generous spirit kept him as a volunteer withMeals on Wheels for 20 years. He was a long time- member of PeaceLutheran Church of Granger.
South Bend Tribune, 17 August 2005
PRENTISVALE, PA - Joyce L. Corah, 81, of Looker Mountain Trail, diedFriday (Oct. 30, 2009) at her residence, following a lengthy illness.
Born May 14, 1928, in Kinzua, she was a daughter of Roy E. and Bertha Moore Kio. On Feb. 28, 1947, in Olean, NY, she married Ellis F. Corah, who survives.
Mrs. Corah was a 1944 graduate of Port Allegany High School and had resided in Prentisvale since 1954. She had been employed by the Olean American Tile Co. and later the Viko Furniture Co. in Eldred, PA. She was also employed as a bookkeeper for the R.V. Andrews Garage in Duke Center, PA.
For 12 years prior to her retirement in 1990, she was employed by the McKean County Children and Youth Services.
She is a member of the Otto Township Red Hat Mamas. She enjoyed sewing, reading and family genealogy. She also loved being the "ice cream grandma."
Surviving in addition to her husband are five children, Arlene (Lee) Thompson of Horsham, PA; Carol (Don) Bosworth of Newberry, FL; Max (Darla) Corah of Statesville, NC; Jeff (Shirley) Corah of Eldred, PA; and Phyllis (Thom) Allen of Georgetown, DE; 10 grandchildren and 14 great-grandchildren; two brothers, Basil (Jane) Kio of Boonton, NJ; Roy R. (Georgianna) Kio of Port Allegany; many nieces and nephews.
She was preceded in death by two brothers, Seth and Clifford Kio, and three sisters, Mary Culver, Oaka Rees and Carol Jean Toats.
Friends may call from 2 to 4 p.m. and 7 to 9 p.m. Monday at the Frame Funeral Home, where funeral services will be held at 11 a.m. Tuesday with the Rev. Glenn Hamilton, pastor of the Cyclone Free Methodist Church, officiating. Burial will be in Lamphier Cemetery, Eldred, PA.
Aslaug, Aslög, Kraka or Kráka, was a queen of Scandinavian mythology who appears in Snorri's Edda, the Völsunga saga and the saga of Ragnar Lodbrok.
Aslaug was the daughter of Sigurd and the shieldmaiden Brynhild, but was raised by Brynhild's fosterfather Heimer. At the death of Sigurd and Brynhild, Heimer was concerned about Aslaug's security, so he made a harp large enough to hide the girl. He then travelled as a poor harpplayer carrying the harp containing the girl.
Once they arrived at Spangereid at Lindesnes in Norway, where they could stay for the night in the house of Åke and Grima. Åke believed that he saw precious items stick out from the harp, which he told his wife Grima. Grima then convinced him of murdering Heimer as he was sleeping. However, when they broke the harp, they discovered a little girl, who they raised as their own, calling her Kraka (Crow). In order to hide her noble origins, they forced the girl always to be dirty and to walk in dirty clothes.
However, once as she was bathing, she was discovered by some of Ragnar Lodbrok's men, who had been sent ashore to bake bread. Confused by Kraka's beauty, they allowed the bread to be burnt, and when Ragnar enquired about this mishap, they told him about the girl. Ragnar then sent for her, but in order to test her wits, he commanded her neither to arrive dressed nor undressed, neither hungry nor full and neither alone nor in company. Kraka arrived dressed in a net, biting an onion and with only the dog as a companion. Impressed, Ragnar married her and she gave him the sons, Ivar the Boneless, Björn Ironside, Hvitserk and Ragnvald.
Once Ragnar visited viceroy Östen Beli of Sweden and Östen convinced Ragnar of marrying the Swedish princess Ingeborg and of rejecting Kraka. At his return home, three birds had already informed Kraka of Ragnar's plans, and so she reproached him and told him of her true noble origins. In order to prove that she was the daughter of Sigurd who had slain Fafnir, she said that she would bear a child whose eye would bear the image of a serpent. This happened and she bore the son Sigurd Snake-Eye. When Östen learnt of Ragnar's change of mind, he rebelled against Ragnar, but was slain by Ragnar's sons at Kraka's behest.
When Ragnar was about to undertake his fated expedition to England, his failure was due to his not heeding Kraka's warnings about the bad condition of the fleet. When Ragnar had been thrown into the snake pit by king Ella, he was protected by an enchanted shirt that Kraka had made. It was only when this shirt had been removed that the snakes could bite Ragnar and kill him.
Arrangements are by Hillside Chapel. I. Herman Seal Herman Seal, who hadlived in Vancouver, Wash., since the early 1920s, died Nov. 14, 1995, atage 93.
A graveside service will be at 1 p.m. Friday, Nov. 17, in Evergreen Memorial Gardens Cemetery.
Mr. Seal was born Sept. 13, 1902, in Claiborne County, Tenn. He worked for the Columbia River Paper Mill (now Boise-Cascade) in Vancouver and Kriegs Millworks in Hood River and from 1964 to 1980 was custodian of Hillcrest Church of the Nazarene in Vancouver.
Survivors include his wife of 69 years, Lois; daughters, Evelyn White of Ridgefield, Wash., and Donna Prinzing of Hood River; sister, Flora Caldwell of Longview, Wash.; six grandchildren, 12 great-grandchildren; and two great-great-grandchildren.
It appears that Christine Loomis was first married to a Mr. McDaniel.
Died as result of a house fire along with her sister.
He was a semi-legendary King.
He is said to possibly be the Ragnar who entered the Seine in 845 with 120 ships. Charles the Bald deployed his army on both sides of the river and Ragnar attacked and routed the smaller contingent and hung 111 prisoners on an island in full viewof the other Frankish force who offered no more resistance. Ragnar sailed into Paris and sacked it on Easter Sunday. Charles the Bald paid him 7000 pounds of silver to depart in peace and thus gained six years free of invasion.
Another story says in his old age he became jealous of his son's reknown as vikings and raided Northumberland and was captured by King Ella who threw him in a snake pit. As he was being bitten he sang his death song starting each stanza with "Downwe hewed them with our swords" and in his dying breath prophesized, "How piglets would grunt if they know the plight of the boar!"
His sons did avenge his death by capturing King Ella, carved a "blood eagle" on his back, hacked out his ribs and pulled his lungs out spreading them across his back like wings
Ragnarr Lođbrók or Ragnar Lodbrok was a semi-legendary King of Denmark and Sweden who reigned sometime in the eighth or ninth centuries. According to the Danish chronicler Saxo Grammaticus, Ragnar belonged to the Swedish Yngling Dynasty. Both Saxo and Icelandic sources describe him as the son of Sigurd Ring, a king of Sweden who conquered Denmark.
Although he is something of a hero in his native Scandinavia, reliable accounts of his life are very sketchy and heavily based on ancient Viking sagas. Even the dating of his reign is not certain; there are sources that date it from 750-794, and others from 860-865. Neither matches with what we know of him, and he probably held power as a warlord from approximately 835 to his death in 865, perhaps only being recognized as king in the last five years of his life.
Ragnar was a pagan who claimed to be a direct descendant of the god Odin. One of his favorite strategies was to attack Christian cities on holy feast days, knowing that many soldiers would be in church.
He spent most of his life as a pirate and raider, invading one country after another. He would generally accept a huge payment to leave his victims alone, only to come back later and demand more riches in exchange for leaving. But as the extent of his realm shows, he was also a gifted military leader.
By 845, he was a powerful ruler, and most likely a contemporary of the first ruler of Russia, the Viking Rurik. It is said he was always seeking new adventures because he was worried that his freebooting sons would do things that outshined his own achievements.
In that year, he sailed southward, looking for new worlds to conquer. With 120 ships and 5,000 Viking warriors, he landed in modern France, probably at the Seine estuary, and ravaged West Francia, as the westernmost part of the Frankish empire was then known.
Also in 845, Paris was captured and held ransom by a Viking raider, whom the sagas say was Ragnar Lodbrok. The traditional date for this is March 28, which is today referred to as Ragnar Lodbrok Day by many Scandinavians. The King of West Francia, Charlemagneʼs grandson Charles II "The Bald", paid him a fantastic amount of money not to destroy the city. Ragnar Lodbrok, according to Viking sources, was satisfied with no less than 7,000 pounds of silver in exchange for sparing the city. However, that did not stop Ragnar from attacking other parts of France, and it took a long time for the Franks to drive him out.
After he was done with France, he turned his attention to England. In 865, he landed in Northumbria on the northeast coast of England. It is claimed that here he was defeated in battle for the only time, by King Aelle II of Northumbria. Ellaʼs men captured Ragnar, and the King ordered him thrown into a pit filled with poisonous snakes. As he was slowly being bitten to death, he was alleged to have exclaimed "How the little pigs would grunt if they knew the situation of the old boar!"
One Viking saga states that when his four sons heard the manner of his death, they all reacted in great sorrow. Hvitserk, who was playing chess, gripped the piece so hard that he bled from his fingernails. Björn Ironside grabbed a spear so tightly that he left an impression in it, and Sigurd Snake-Eye, who was trimming his nails, cut straight through to the bone.
Ragnarʼs fourth son, Ivar the Boneless soon learned the details of his fatherʼs death and swore that he would avenge his fatherʼs killing, in time-honored Viking tradition. In 866, Ivar crossed the North Sea with a large army, met King Ella in battle, and captured him. He sentenced him to die according to the custom of Rista Blodörn, an exceedingly painful death. Although this story may not be accurate, like virtually all tales concerning Ragnar Lodbrok, his death had serious consequences. Ivar was the mastermind behind the attacks on the English mainland in the final quarter of the ninth century. He invaded East Anglia, and the following year attacked York. He was aided by the internal struggle for power in Northumbria-which he was of course responsible for by killing Ella. These wars were a prelude to the long struggle of the Saxons of Alfred the Great against the "Danes" a generation later.
Meanwhile, in France, the Vikings kept coming back for more booty. Among their feats was destroying the city of Rouen several times. Ultimately, many of them settled there permanently, in a land that became known as Normandy (for "Northmen", as the Franks called the Vikings).
Bragi Boddason is said to have composed the Ragnarsdrápa for the Swedish king Björn at Hauge. However, this does not correspond to what we know about the historical Ragnar. It is consequently said that in the Norse sagas, he was identified with a Swedish king Ragnar (770-785), the son of Sigurd Ring. According to legend, he married Aslaug and became the son-in-law of Sigurd the Völsung.
Lois Helen Seal, a homemaker, died in Vancouver Sunday, Sept. 3, 2000.She was 92.
Mrs. Seal lived in Vancouver since 1962. She was born April 2, 1908, in Bandon, Ore.
Her husband, Herman, died in 1995.
She is survived by two daughters, Evelyn L. White of Ridgefield and Donna C. Prinzing of Hood River, Ore.; one sister, Mildred Sarff of Vancouver; 13 grandchildren; and six great-grandchildren.
Mrs. Seal was a member of Hillcrest Church of the Nazarene. She and her husband were custodians of the church for 20 years.
Mrs. Seal enjoyed gardening and sewing.
A graveside service will begin at 1 p.m. Thursday at Evergreen Memorial Gardens Cemetery, followed by a memorial service at 2:30 p.m. at the church. The casket will be open until 9 tonight and from 9 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. Thursday at the chapel. Memorial Gardens Funeral Chapel is in charge of arrangements.
Memorial contributions may be made to the church building fund, 14410 N.W. 21st Ave., Vancouver, WA.
The Columbian, Vancouver, 6 September 2000
Gladys Louise Ferree Stilwell, age 93, passed away on Tuesday, October21, 2003 at her home in Ionia, MI. She was born on October 10, 1910, inClay County, KS, the daughter of Frank and Vernie (Baldwin) Ferree.Gladys attended the Kansas City Art Institute from 1935 to 1939, whereshe studied under Thomas Hart Benton and his contemporaries. On June 24,1935, Gladys married artist Wilber Moore Stilwell. They lived inVermillion, SD, where Wilber was the Chairman of the Art Department atthe University of South Dakota. Gladys and Wilber enjoyed working as ateam and were recognized for their success on many art projects. She waspreceeded in death by her husband, Wilber, her brother, Frank L. Ferree,of Kansas City, KS, and grandson Joseph Van Loan of Ionia, MI. SurvivingGladys are daughters and sons-in-law Elizabeth and Jon Brechtel of HotSprings, S.D., Mary and Charles Van Loan, and Joan and Roger Cremer ofIonia, MI. Grandchildren include Zac and wife Angie, Ben, Catherine andhusband Shawn, and Vailferree Brechtel; Adria, Michael, and Elizabeth VanLoan; and Jacqueline and Sarah Cremer. Gladys has one great grandchild,Caitlin Brechtel. Services and burial will be in Kansas City. Thefamily requests all memorial donations be sent to "The Wilber and GladysStilwell Art Award Endowment", PO Box 5555, Vermillion, SD 57069-5555 atthe University of South Dakota. This endowment is dedicated tofurthering the education of art students. Arrangements are entrusted tothe Schrauben-Lehman Funeral Home, Cook Chapel, Ionia, MI.
Died in a house fire.
Nofziger.- Lena Elizabeth Mullet, 87, Roseburg, Ore., died July 5.Spouse: Virgil Nofziger (deceased). Parents: Jacob J. and ElizabethKauffman Mullet (deceased). Survivors: children Carolyn Proven, CarolMiller, Doug; five grandchildren; two great-grandchildren. Funeral: July9 at Lebanon (Ore.) Mennonite Church.
She may have died in Roseburg, Douglas, OR.
In the Volsungsaga, Sigurd is the posthumous son of Sigmund and his second wife, Hjordis. Sigmund dies in battle when he attacks Odin, and Odin shatters Sigmund's sword. Dying, Sigmund tells Hjordis of her pregnancy and bequeaths the fragments of his sword to his unborn son.
Hjordis marries King Alf, and Alf sends Sigurd to Regin as a fosterling. Regin tempts Sigurd to greed and violence by first asking Sigurd if he has control over Sigmund's gold. When Sigurd says that Alf and his family control the gold and will give him anything he desires, Regin asks Sigurd why he consents to a lowly position at court. Sigurd replies that he is treated as an equal by the kings and can get anything he desires. Then Regin asks Sigurd why he acts as stableboy to the kings and has no horse of his own. Sigurd then goes to get a horse. An old man (Odin) advises Sigurd on choice of horse, and in this way Sigurd gets Grani, a horse derived from Odin's own Sleipnir.
Finally, Regin tempts Sigurd by telling him the story of the Otter's Gold. Regin's father was Hreidmar, and his brothers were Fafnir and Otr. Regin was a natural at smithing, and Otr was natural at swimming. Otr used to swim at Andvari's waterfall, where the dwarf Andvari lived. Andvari often assumed the form of a pike and swam in the pool. One day, the Aesir saw Otr with a fish on the banks, thought him an otter, and Loki killed him. They took the carcass to the nearby home of Hreidmar to display their catch. Hreidmar, Fafnir, and Regin seized the Aesir and demanded compensation for the death of Otr. The compensation was to stuff the body with gold and cover the skin with gold. Loki got the net from the sea giantess Ran, caught Andvari (as a pike), and demanded all of the dwarf's gold. Andvari gave the gold, except for a ring. Loki took this ring, too, although it carried a curse of death on its bearer. The Aesir stuffed Otr's body with gold and covered its skin in gold and covered the last exposed place (a whisker) with the ring of Andvari. Afterward, Fafnir killed Hreidmar and took the gold.
Sigurd agrees to kill Fafnir, who has become a dragon out of greed. Sigurd has Regin make him a sword, which he tests by striking the anvil. The sword shatters, so he has Regin make another. This also shatters. Finally, Sigurd has Regin make a sword out of the fragments that had been left to him by Sigmund. The resulting sword, Gram, cuts through the anvil. To kill Fafnir the dragon, Regin advises him to dig a pit, wait for Fafnir to walk over it, and then stab the dragon. An old man (Odin) advises Sigurd to dig several trenches also to drain the blood, and to bathe in it after killing the dragon; bathing in Fafnir's blood confers invulnerability. Sigurd does so and kills Fafnir; Sigurd then bathes in the dragon's blood, which touches all of his body except part of his shoulder where a leaf has stuck. Regin then asks Sigurd to give him Fafnir's heart. Sigurd tastes Fafnir's blood and gains the power to understand the language of birds. Birds advise him to kill Regin, since Regin is plotting Sigurd's death. Sigurd beheads Regin, roasts Fafnir's heart, and consumes part of it. This gives him the gift of "wisdom" (prophecy).
Sigurd met Brynhild, a "shieldmaiden," after killing Fafnir. She pledges herself to him but also prophecies his doom and marriage to another. (In Volsungsaga, it is not clear that Brynhild is a Valkyrie or in any way supernatural.)
Sigurd went to the court of Heimar, who was married to Bekkhild, sister of Brynhild, and then to the court of Gjuki, where he came to live. Gjuki had three sons and one daughter by his wife, Grimhild. The sons were Gunnar, Hogi, and Guttorm, and the daughter was Gudrun. Grimhild made an "Ale of Forgetfulness" to make Sigurd forget Brynhild, and he then married Gudrun. Later, Gunnar wanted to court Brynhild. Brynhild's bower was surrounded by flames, and she promised herself only to the man daring enough to go through them. Only Grani, Sigurd's horse, would do it, and only with Sigurd on it. Sigurd exchanged shapes with Gunnar, rode through the flames, and won Brynhild for Gunnar.
Some time later, Brynhild taunted Gudrun for having a better husband, and Gudrun explained all that had passed to Brynhild and explained the deception. For having been deceived and cheated of the husband she had desired, Brynhild plots revenge. First, she refuses to speak to anyone and withdraws. Eventually, Sigurd was sent by Gunnar to see what was wrong, and Brynhild accuses Sigurd of taking liberties with her. Gunnar and Hogi plot Sigurd's death and enchant their brother, Guttorm, to a frenzy to accomplish the deed. Guttorm kills Sigurd in bed, and Brynhild kills Sigurd's three year old son. Brynhild then wills herself to die, and a funeral pyre is built for Guttorm (killed by Sigurd), Sigurd, Brynhild, and Sigurd's son.
Sigurd and Brynhild had the daughter Aslaug who married Ragnar Lodbrok.
DAMON, Clara (Kingman), 70, of Wilsons Mills, ME and formerly of MApassed away on July 14, 2004. She was born in New Bedford the daughter ofMetcalf and Helen (Bruce) Kingman. She was a graduate of New Bedford HighSchool. She resided in Boston and Goshen before retiring to ME. She issurvived by 2 daughters; stepchildren; grandchildren; greatgrandchildren; a brother, a niece; nephews and cousins. Funeral Serviceswill be held on July 19, 2004 at 12 noon at the Church of Jesus Christ ofLatter Day Saints in Randolph, NH. A calling hour will be from 11 to 12prior to the funeral. Burial will be in Wilsons Mills, ME. Memorialdonations may be made to Wilson Mills Fire & Rescue Dept. Wilsons Mills,ME 03579 or to the Friends of the Errol Library, Errol, NH 03579.
The Boston Globe, 17 July 2004
Mrs. Clara (Kingman) Damon, 70, of Wilsons Mills, Maine, died on
Wednesday, July 14, 2004 at the Central Maine Medical Center in Lewiston,
She was born in New Bedford, Mass., on June 20, 1934, the daughter of
Metcalf and Helen Mae (Bruce) Kingman. She was a graduate of New Bedford
High School with the Class of 1952, and furthered her education at Simmons
She resided in Boston and Goshen, Mass., before retiring to Wilsons
Mills in 1993. She was a lab technician at Massachusetts General Hospital
and the Cooley Dickinson Hospital in Northampton, Mass. She also worked as
She was a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints,
the Aziscohos Grange in Wilsons Mills, the Wilsons Mills Fire Department
and the Friends of the Errol Library. Her interests were traveling, family
history, correspondence, cribbage, her camp on Aziscohos Lake, reading,
gourmet cooking, family and friends. She was an avid Red Sox fan.
Members of the family include two daughters, Betsey Hyde of Temple,
Maine and Katherine Skroski of Phippsburg, Maine; stepchildren Jared Damon
of Otisfield, Maine, Meredith Lawson of Hampden, Maine, Carol Hammon of
Idaho Falls, Idaho, Claudia Darneille of Porter, Maine, Jonathan W. Damon
of Mechanic Falls, Maine, and Keith R. Damon of Park City, Utah; 40
grandchildren; several great-grandchildren; a brother, Metcalf Kingman of
Mattapoisett, Mass.; a niece, nephews and several cousins. She was
predeceased by her husband, Philip W. Damon, a sister, Ruth Greenhalgh, and
a brother, James Kingman.
Funeral services were held on Monday, July 19 at the Church of Jesus
Christ of Latter Day Saints in Randolph. Interment will be in the Lincoln
Plantation Cemetery in Wilsons Mills, Maine. Calling hours were held prior
to the funeral service.
Donations in Mrs. Damon's memory may be made to the Wilsons Mills Fire
and Rescue Department or the Friends of the Errol Library. The Bryant
Funeral Home in Berlin is in charge of the arrangements.
Martha Johanna Bartz died on Feb. 17, at Dove Healthcare in Eau Claire,Wis., at the age of 92.
Her victory service will be held at Messiah Lutheran Church, 2015 N. Hastings Way, Eau Claire, at 11 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 27, with visitation the hour before the service. Pastors Paul Tiefel and Bruce Naumann will officiate.
Martha was born on Oct. 17, 1917, at home in rural Suring, Wis., the daughter of John H. and Susan (nee Hernlem) Bartz. Martha was baptized into the Christian faith on Oct. 28, 1917, by Pastor Andrew Plass of St. John Ev. Lutheran Church in Hayes, Wis. She was later confirmed in her Christian faith at St. John on April 26, 1931. Her confirmation verse was John 6:68-69. Martha attended Linzy Brook School and St. John Lutheran Grade School before spending her freshman high school year at Dr. Martin Luther College in New Ulm, Minn. The economics of the Depression required Martha to return home, and she was graduated from Suring Public High School on May 22, 1936.
For a short time after her graduation, Martha worked in the kitchen of an orphanage near Chicago, but then she moved to Red Wing, Minn., to live near her maternal grandmother and work for her uncle and aunt at Quandtʼs Food Shoppe. After nearly 15 years, she left Quandtʼs to begin employment at the Carnegie-Lawther Public Library. Martha later entered the Red Wing Area Practical Nursing Program offered by St. Johnʼs Hospital and was graduated in 1966 as a Licensed Practical Nurse. She worked at St. Johnʼs Hospital until her retirement.
After her retirement, Martha provided home health care for her landlady, Mrs. L.E. Claydon. In 1988, she moved to Eau Claire where she resided until her death.
Martha enjoyed cooking, reading, and visiting with family and friends. She was soft-spoken, faithful, and caring in her relationships. She was a strong Christian and an active member of Our Redeemerʼs Lutheran Church in Red Wing and of Messiah Lutheran Church in Eau Claire. Perhaps because she did not have a husband and children of her own, there was extra room in Marthaʼs heart for her siblings, her nieces and nephew and their children, and her extended family. She was on hand to be a help and comfort at the time of her brother Conradʼs death as well as at the time of death of both her sisters. In many ways, she was a mother and grandmother to her nieces and nephew and their children. Martha will be remembered by her nephew and nieces and her other relatives and friends as a dear and gracious woman who lived her faith.
Martha was preceded in death by parents, John and Susan Bartz; brothers, Conrad and Marcus; sisters, Irma and Eva; and two brothers who died shortly after birth.
She is survived by nieces, Linda Alexander, Janet Pagels, Ruth Ahrens, Susan Lentz, and Beth Kranz; nephew, Paul Nolting; numerous cousins; and many friends.
In lieu of flowers, memorials may be given for some aspect of the work of the Kingdom.
Friends may offer condolences online at www.fullerspeckien.com. Fuller Speckien Hulke Funeral Home, 3209 Rudolph Road, Eau Claire, is assisting the family with the arrangements.
Red Wing Republican Eagle, 22 February 2010
Nofziger, Virgil E., 76, Albany, Ore. Born: Oct. 9, 1917, Lebanon, Ore.,to Dan and Lydia Erb Nofziger. Died: Nov. 26, 1993, Lebanon, Ore.Survivors-wife: Lena Mullet Nofziger; children: Carolyn Proven, CarolMiller, Douglas; brothers and sisters: Morris, Alfred, Verl, Leo, InaRoth, Ruth Zech; 5 grandchildren. Predeceased by: Jim (son). Funeral:Dec. 1, Lebanon Mennonite Church, by Brent Kauffman. Burial: Lebanon's100F Cemetery.
Gospel Herald, January 11, 1994.
PRENTISVALE, PA - Ellis F. Corah, 83, of Looker Mountain Trail diedTuesday (May 11, 2010) while living with his daughter in Horsham.
Born May 25, 1926, in Eldred, PA, he was a son of Ambrose R. and Alice Hall Corah. On Feb. 28, 1947, in Olean, NY, he married Joyce L. Kio, who died Oct. 30, 2009.
Mr. Corah attended Eldred schools and had resided in Prentisvale since 1954.
He was a veteran of World War II, having served as gunner with the U.S. Navy in the Pacific Theater.
He had been employed in local oil fields and later for 39 years and four months at American Olean Tile Co., retiring in 1988 as maintenance foreman.
He was known in the area for his many pig roasts and his deer processing that he provided.
Since 1956; Mr. Corah was a Third Degree Mason with Northern Star Lodge 555 F&AM of Duke Center. He was a member of the Coudersport Consistory, Orak Grotto, Zem Zem Shriners Temple of Erie and a life member of Eldred VFW Post 2092. He was a member of Eldred American Legion Post 887 and Port Allegany Moose Lodge 460. His favorite place to spend time was in his "clubhouse," where family and friends gathered. He also enjoyed collecting and displaying antique tools.
Surviving are five children, Arlene (Lee) Thompson of Horsham, Carol (Don) Bosworth of Newberry, FL, Max (Darla) Corah of Statesville, NC, Jeff (Shirley) Corah of Eldred and Phyllis (Thom) Allen of Georgetown, DE; 10 grandchildren; 16 great-grandchildren; and many nieces and nephews.
He was predeceased by several brothers and sisters
FAIRMONT - Funeral services for Esther V. Glienke, 87, of Fairmont,Minn., will be Friday, Feb. 19, 2010, at 1:30 p.m. at St. Paul's LutheranChurch in Fairmont. Burial will be following the service in the FairviewMemorial Park Cemetery in Fairmont. Visitation will be today, Feb. 18,2010, from 5-7 p.m., with a prayer service held at 6:45 p.m. at LakeviewFuneral Home in Fairmont, and continue one hour prior to the time ofservice beginning at 12:30 p.m. Friday at the church. Esther passed awayon Sunday, Feb. 14, 2010, at Fairmont Medical Center in Fairmont, Minn.
Esther Violet (Miller) Glienke was born July 5, 1922, in Waverly Township, Minn., the daughter of Charles and Meta (Klinger) Miller. She attended country school in Waverly Township.
On Aug. 7, 1943, Esther was united in marriage to Werner Glienke. This union was blessed with two children, James and Sharon. Together, the couple made their home in Truman, Minn., and worked in Truman until 1967, when they moved to Fairmont.
Esther worked at Stokely's Food and Armor Food in Fairmont for many years. She was an active member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church in Fairmont and also the American Legion Auxiliary. In her spare time, Esther enjoyed traveling, fishing, camping, and golf. She cherished time spent with her children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren and treasured memories made attending different events to support them throughout the years. Her zest for life will be greatly missed by those that loved her and called her friend.
Left to cherish her memory is her husband, Werner Glienke of Fairmont, Minn.; children, James Glienke and wife, Lois of Fairmont, Minn., and Sharon Crysler and husband, Dean of Grand Junction, Colo.; grandchildren, Steve Glienke and wife, Ann; Tim Glienke and Kari Glienke, Jodi Anderson and husband, Tim, and Barry Glienke and wife, Jill; great-grandchildren, Zachary and Wyatt Glienke; Sydney and Savannah Glienke; Maxwell, Jessica, Mitchell, and Jenna Anderson; and Madison, Jackson, and Mason Glienke; one sister, Burnetta Reckard of Truman, Minn.; one brother-in-law, Bernard Glienke and wife, Elaine of St. James, Minn.; one sister-in-law, Elfrieda Senf of St. James, as well as many nieces, nephews, extended family and friends.
In addition to her parents, Charles and Meta, Esther is preceded in death by a sister, Marilyn Johnson; brother, Lester Miller; two sisters-in-law, Hertha Sternberg and Erna Moeller; and one brother-in-law, Arnold Glienke.
Christian, according to my sources, is a niece of Robert de Caen, Earlof Gloucester
The graveside funeral will be held June 17 for Mildred Olive Rindahl ofMedford, formerly of Springfield, who died June 10 of age-related causes.She was 88.
Rindahl was born Jan. 10, 1917, in Clark County, South Dakota, to Bertha and Oscar Rasmussen.
She married Wilton Rindahl on Dec. 30, 1933, in Huron, S.D. He died in 1962.
She moved to Springfield in 1949 and worked as a sales supervisor for J.C. Penney Co. She retired in 1979. She lived in Springfield until 2004, when she moved to Medford. She was a member of Springfield Lutheran Church.
Survivors include two daughters, Sharon Laws of Ashland and Marilyn Sherman of Tucson, Ariz.; a son, James of Eugene; four brothers, Erlenn Rasmussen of Sun City West, Ariz., Allen Rasmussen of Wessington Springs, S.D., Orland Rasmussen of Mendota Heights, Minn., and Elwin Rasmussen of Worthington, Ohio; a sister, Elaine Blashill of Crocker, S.D.; eight grandchildren and 17 great-grandchildren. A daughter died previously.
Friday's service and burial will be held at 1 p.m. in Lane Memorial Gardens in Eugene.
The Register-Guard, 15 June 2005
COTTAGE GROVE - Leo W. Gernandt of Cottage Grove died March 25 ofage-related causes. He was 81.
Gernandt was born May 30, 1924, in Graceville, Minn., to John and Lena Hess Gernandt. He married Margaret Ecker on May 30, 1989, in Sitka, Alaska.
He grew up and attended schools in Minnesota. He served in the Navy during World War II. He later lived in McMinnville and Lafayette, then lived in Sitka for 24 years. He was a heavy equipment operator for many years and also worked as a storesman with Alaska Pulp Corporation.
Gernandt moved from Sitka to Cottage Grove in 1990. He enjoyed the outdoors, especially gardening and fishing. He was a life member of the Elks.
Survivors include his wife; a daughter, Mary Christoffersen of Nikiski, Alaska; four sons, Leo Gernandt Jr. and Bill Peters, both of Sitka, Wayne Gernandt of California and Dean Gernandt, of South Dakota; a sister, Agnes Diedrickson of Joplin, Mo.; and 10 grandchildren.
A gathering of family and friends was held. Smith-Lund-Mills Funeral Chapel in Cottage Grove is in charge of arrangements.
The Register-Guard, Eugene, OR. April 2, 2006
Arthur was born Brockton, Mass., 23 March 1888, the third son of DavidHowes and Mary Ann Kelley. He was born in Brockton when his parents livedthere briefly, but grew up mostly in West Dennis, MA.
Arthur married first Susan Herrick Gage in Providence, Rhode Island on 8 October 1906. She was the daughter of Richard Gage and Hannah Ellis. They had nine children together:
1. Ralph, who married first a woman named Olive and had a daughter Beverly. He married second a woman named Philomena. He died in South Yarmouth in 1982 at age 74.
2. Ruth, who married Benjamin Roscoe and had two sons, David and Bruce. She died in South Yarmouth in 1978 at age 68. Iʼve been in touch with her grandson James, who has been wonderful to exchange information with.
3. Evangeline, nicknamed Vannie, who married Victor Shanks and had two daughters, Marilyn and Rosemary. She died in Manchester, Connecticut in 1994 at age 83.
4. Arthur died in Brockton at age 69 in 1984. He married Mary Ann Doucette and had: Arthur, Janice, Susan, and Richard.
5. Avis married John Sullivan and had one son, Dennis. She died in 1961 at age 45, leaving a son of about 10 years of age.
6. Hazel died 1938, in Avon, at just 19 years of age, of rheumatic fever.
7. Virginia who died at age 5 in 1926 in Avon.
8. June married Norman Willard and had a son, Timothy. She lives is Florida.
9. Claire, who married Herbert DeMers and had: Herbert, Dennis, Donald, Cathleen. She died at age 64 in 1989 in Brockton.
They raised their large family in Avon, Mass. Arthur was raised in the Reorganized Latter Day Saint Church, but at some point became a Baptist.
According to various records Arthur worked as a wire cloth worker as a young man and then as a mail clerk for the railroad. His daughter June says he was a teacher for a time as well.
Arthur and his sister, Ethel, (my great-grandmother) were close, so I found a lot of photos of his family and old cards/letters. This led me to his daughter June, whom I met in 2000. She was so friendly and welcoming and helped me identify her siblings in some of the photos I brought with me. She was the last of her siblings living, which must be difficult for her but she maintains a very positive attitude. Weʼve exchanged Christmas cards ever since.
Susan died from a stroke in September 1933 at just 45 years of age. Arthur married second Mildred Brown on 1 May 1940. They had a daughter, Elizabeth, born in 1942. Arthur married third, Ida Rogers, whose nickname may have been May, in 1968.
After his retirement, Arthur lived in South Yarmouth, Mass. on Cape Cod.
Arthur passed away 20 July 1972 at a nursing home in Plymouth, Mass. He was 84.
Josiah Sweet Roscoe, b. Dec 1745 at New Canaan, Fairfield, CT, d. Nov1812 at Billtown, NS.
He married 26 Aug 1785 at St Johnʼs Anglican Church, Cornwallis, NS
His bride was Lydia Sweet, b abt 1765 ar Cornwallis, Kings, NS.
Dr. Muriel V. Roscoe wrote in her geneology - 21 June 1984
On February 26, 1793, Josiah Sweet RUSCO, stonemason, bought land from Barnabas Tuttle LORD, some 15 acres on the right side of Silas WOODWORTH's 200 acre division. This was in the Cornwallis township of Kings County, Nova Scotia. The place is known as Centreville. He built a house and established the family home there. At that date, Theophilus, was (?) years old; James was 9; Lydia 4 and Joseph 2. William was born three years later, in 1796.
Josiah died in 1812/13. In September, 1816, Lydia married Oliver THORP and moved to North Mountain. In 1819 Theophilus left for Petitcodiac, N.B., but ultimately settled in River Philip. James had married Isabell ROBINSON and moved to Hall's Harbour. Josiah married Catherine ATKINSON in October, 1820, and took up farming across the Minas Basin in what later was called West River. William had married on January 4, 1820, Amy Miner PORTER and they remained in the Centreville home.
It should perhaps be noted when Theophilus and Josiah settled in River Philip and West River, they still were in Kings County, although in the township of Parrsborough. That portion of Kings did not become included in Cumberland County until 1840.
William Roscoe, a native of Bristol, England, came to Nova Scotia abt 1790 and settled in Centreville, Corwallis. He married Miss Miner and had sons: William, b. in 1797; James; Josiah; unkown. Of thise sons, William lived at Centreville until his death in 1860. James settled near Halls Harbour; Josiah went to Cumberland county; the 4th and son settled on St. John River, NB.
The history of Kings County, Nova Scotia, Heart of the Acadian Land
by Arthur Wentworth Hamilton Eaton, Salem Press, 1910
oseph Reynolds: (John) born Norwich March 1660, or shortly before hisfather's removal to Norwich, died there Feb. 1, 1728/9. He married Jan.10, 1688 Miss Sarah Edgerton, born Norwich Apr. 1667, d. there Aug. 14,1714, daughter of Richard and Mary (Sylvester) Edgerton. Sarah's brotherJohn married Mary Reynolds, Joseph's sister. [Norwich VR]
Joseph and Sarah were of the Congregation of Rev. James Fitch [Caulkins p. 173]. In 1714, Joseph Reynolds was licensed by the Selectman to keep a tavern in Norwich. In 1717/18, his wife having died in 1714, he deeds to his son, John, his house and home-lot, "excepting reserving" to himself "ye West Room, ye lodging Room, with ye porch Chamber," etc. "during my natural life," and then makes the provision "if I do marry again and it shall please God to remove me by death, and leave my wife surviving that she shall have ye free use and benifet and ye west rooms and ye Lodging Room, etc., during ye time of her living in sd house a widow."
In 1711/12 he was allowed liberty "to sett the shop, he hath already sett up the frame of, to sett the one halfe of sd shop in the street, and so to continue during the towne's pleasure." This may have been the old house which formerly stood facing the south, close to the street.
Russell Medad Wright was born at Easthampton, Mass., December 17, 1815.He taught one year at Cambridge, N. Y., and studied theology a year atEast Windsor. Since then he has been devoted to teaching. From 1843 to1847 he was connected with Williston Seminary, Easthampton. He then wentsouth, locating at Washington, Ga., and in 1858 removed to Athens, Ga. Hereturned north in 1861, and soon after, went to Williston, where he isnow teacher of chemistry and natural history. He was married, December25, 1854, to Caroline A. Branch, of Castleton, Vt.
BIOGRAPHICAL ANNALS, by Calvin Durfee
"Being a single man, Francis was invited by a Mr. Thomas of Marshfield tocome to new England. He left the toen of Salisbury, Old England andsettled in Duxbury where he married Margery by whom he had 5 children."So wrote Hon. Judge Zebulon West (1707-1770), a grandson of theimmigrant in Duxbury, who probably learned these facts from his father,also named Francis (1669-1731), who lived with his father in Duxburyuntil he grew up. He is spoken of as a carpenter in the Duxbury records,and the Plymouth Colony Records show that he made a pair of stocks forthe town of Duxbury in 1640. In 1640 & 1642 he was a member of the GrandJury. In 1642 he bought a house and land in Duxbury (Millbrook). In 1643he was on a list of those able to bear arms. He was admitted a Freeman inPlymouth Colony in 1656. In 1658 he was Surveyor of Highways in Duxbury;Constable in 1661; and in 1662, '69, '74, '78, '80 & '81 was a member ofthe"Grand Inquest". During the last years of his life his son, Peter,took care of him. His estate, which amounted to only 16 pounds, 15shillings, was given to Peter by the Probate Court.
Harvey Hess, 78, died Wednesday, March 9, 2005 at the CNC Unit ofNorthwest Medical Center in Thief River Falls.
Funeral services will be held at 11:00 AM Monday, March 14, 2005 at Riverside Lutheran Church in Wannaska, MN with Reverend Paul Koch officiating. Burial will be at Palmville Cemetery at Wannaska, MN.
Visitation will be held from 4:00 PM until 7:00 PM prayer service on Sunday, March 13, 2005 at Johnson Funeral Service in Thief River Falls, MN. Visitation will also be held for one hour prior to services on Monday at the church.
Harvey Owen Hess was born March 26, 1926 in Graceville, MN, the son of John L. and Lena (Hess) Gernandt. He was raised by his aunt and uncle, Earl and Alma Hess. Harvey lived in Wheaton, MN until he was six years old. The family moved to Wannaska, MN in 1932, where he attended Torfin School and later received his G.E.D. in Thief River Falls.
Harvey was united in marriage to Evangeline Lorenzen, August 12, 1947 in Roseau, MN. He farmed most of his life and worked construction, as a Heavy Equipment Operator. He moved to Fourtown, MN in 1994 and lived on Jackpine Road, and in 1997 moved to Thief River Falls where he has since resided.
Harvey was a member of Operating Engineers #49 in St. Paul, MN, the Moose Lodge in Aurora, and the Eagles Club in Thief River Falls. Harvey served as a Palmville Township Supervisor and also served on the Wannaska Creamery Board of Directors.
Survivors include three sons: Richard (Mary) Hess of Aurora, MN, Jerald (Peggy) Hess of Hallock, MN and Thomas Hess of Warroad, MN; three daughters: Linda (Wayne) Simmons of Middle River, MN, Connie Starren of Williams, MN and Peggy (Dr. Lyle) Kenner of Thief River Falls, MN; mother of his children, Evangeline Hess of Hallock, MN; 14 grandchildren, Jaime, Tasha, Kendy, David, Lisa, Jason, William, Brandi, Michael, Rebecca, Leah, Nathan, Naomi, Luke; 12 great grandchildren, Chase, Allie, Nathaniel, Liam, Christopher, Brendan, Spencer, Jestina, Taylor, Lilian, Gage, Ivy; brother: Leo Gernandt of Oregon; sister: Agnes Dedrikson of Joplin, Missouri; special friend, Martha Dunsmore of Thief River Falls; and many nieces and nephews.
He is preceded in death by his parents; one sister Lillian Lynns; and four brothers: Jack, Frank, George and Louis.
Father is from Scotland and mother from Connecticut.
The will of Ichabod Wright states that he had no children or descendants,only a wife and brothers.
This begs the question as to his relationship to Edwin Wright. The will state that he was raise from infancy by Ichabod but was never legally adopted.
THOMPSONVILLE - Lottie Arview, 78, went to be with our Lord and SaviorJesus Christ at 2 a.m. Monday, Nov. 22, 2010, after a two-year battlewith cancer.
Services will be at 11 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 24, 2010, in Townmount Baptist Church in West Frankfort, with Brother Carroll Toler officiating. Interment will be in East Fork Cemetery in West Frankfort. Visitation will be from 9 to 11 a.m. Wednesday at the church.
Lottie was born April 5, 1932, in Martin, Tenn., to Luther Willet and Lizzie Holland Fitch.
She was a member of Townmount Baptist Church in West Frankfort.
Lottie was a loving mother and grandmother. She was an avid reader, she loved flowers and gardening, and she also was a story writer.
She will be greatly missed by one brother, Kenneth Fitch and wife, Dorothy, of Thompsonville; one sister, Dorothy Lovan of Benton; six children, Cheryl Braggs and husband, Ronnie, of West Frankfort, Bernard "Rock" Arview and wife, Kathy, of New Richmond, Ohio, Darrell Arview and wife, Brenda, of Fairfield, Debi Reed of Athens, Tracy Jones and husband, Mike, of Thompsonville, and Cathy Prinzing and husband, Jay, of Stayton, Ore.; 22 grandchildren; and 30 great-grandchildren.
She was preceded in death by her husband, Cecil Bernard Arview; granddaughter, Kimberly Dawn Arview; parents, Willet and Lizzie Fitch; and 11 brothers and sisters.
Union Funeral Home in West Frankfort is in charge of arrangements.
Southern Illinoisan, Carbondale, 23 November 2010
Seneca Falls, March l1 - Word has been received here of the death ofJames P. Hubbell, 73, retired manufacturer at his home in Washington, D.C. on Wednesday.
Mr. Hubbell was born In Seneca Palls and was educated at Williams college where be was a member of Sigma Phi Fraternity. Following graduation he entered business here, leaving this village to 1887 for Chicago, where he was engaged to the manufacture of oil supplies. He moved to Colorado Springs in1905 and went to Washington to 1919 upon his retirement from business. He married Miss Adelaide Guion of Seneca Falls. She died in 1907.
He leaves two sons, James P. Hubbell, Jr., of Cincinnati and Murray G. Hubbell of Los Angels" and two daughters, Miss Elisabeth G. and Miss Mary L. Hubbell, both of Washington, D. C. Burial was to Denver yesterday.
Geneva Daily News, 11 March 1933
Thomas Arnold Thielbar, age 35, passed away Dec. 29th, 2001.
Our courageous Tom is survived by parents, Bob and Jeanne (Thul) Thielbar; brothers, Mike and Steve; grandmother, Clarabelle; aunts, Eva (Carl) Beck and Doris (Dan) Mitchell; uncle, Jim (Judy) Thul; his dog, Tika; and many other relatives and friends. Tom was employed by the State of Minnesota. Mass of Christian Burial 3 pm Thursday Jan. 3rd at Holy Name of Jesus Catholic Church, 155 County Rd 24 in Medina. Visitation beginning 1 pm at church. Interment Holy Name Cemetery. David Lee Funeral Home Wayzata 952-473-5577
Star Tribune, 1 January 2002.
William de Ros, 2nd Baron de Ros (1255 - 1317) was a claimant to thecrown of Scotland. He was the son of Robert de Ros, 1st Baron de Ros.
William 2nd Baron de Ros of Hamlake, Yorkshire, was one of the claimants of the crown of Scotland, in 1292, during the reign of Edward I, and was summoned to Parliament during the reigns of Edward I and Edward II. He succeeded to the family honours and estates on the death of his mother. He was an unsuccessful competitor for the crown of Scotland, founding his claim on his descent from his great grandmother, Isabel, a bastard daughter of William I of Scotland. He was buried at Kirkham Priory.
His wife was Maud or Matilda de Vaux (b. 1275), whom he married in 1287.
Through this marriage the patronage of Penteney and Blakeney Priories in Norfolk and of Frestun in Lincolnshire, came into the De Ros family. The De Vaux family was descended from Robert De Vaux who came over from Normandy with William I of England.
Their children were Margaret de Ros and William de Ros, 3rd Baron de Ros.
Seneca Falls, Aug. 27 - Services were held Saturday afternoon In Newton,Mass., for LeRoy Partridge Guion, 76, a native of Seneca Falls who diedlest Wednesday.
Mr. Guion, son of the late Gen. George M. Guion and Adelaide Partridge Guion, was born, educated and married in this community. The family had resided in Newton several years.
He is survived by his wife, Ellen Lormore Guion, also a former Falls resident; a sister, three daughter, seven grandchildren, and a great-granddaughter.
Geneva Daily Times, 27 August 1951
Freundschuh, Dorothy W., age 76, of Bloomington, passed away peacefullyat home November 1st. Survived by loving husband of 58 years, Edward;children, Edward (Jan), Paul (Jeanne), Sue (Rich) Sande, Scott, Pat, Joe(Marci); 10 grandchildren; 1 great-granddaughter; sister Mary Ann Delaneyand special friends, Dave and Julie. Mass of Christian Burial Wednesday10 AM at the Church of the Nativity of Mary, 9900 Lyndale Ave. So.Private interment Fort Snelling National Cemetery. Visitation Tuesday,4-8 PM at Gill Brothers Funeral Chapel, 9947 Lyndale Ave. So. and 1 hourprior to Mass at church. Memorials preferred to Hospice of the Lakes.
Star Tribune, 2 November 2009
MEDINA -- Lauretta O. Sailer, 73, passed away April 15, 1994.
She was a member of the Medina General Hospital Ladies Auxillary and also the Order King's Daughters.
She is survived by her husband, John; daughter and son-in-law, Diane and Ken Blair; son, David; four grandchildren; sisters, June and Mildred Walter; sister-in-law, Alta Walter; brother and sister-in-law, Mike and Gwen Walter. She was preceded in death by her parents, Raymond and Lydia Walter, and brothers, George and Burdette.
Service 11 a.m., Tuesday at the Waite & Son Memorial Home, 765 N. Court St., Medina, where friends may call Monday, 2 to 4 and 7 to 9 p.m. The family suggests memorial contributions to the Medina General Hospital Ladies Auxillary, 1000 E. Washington St., Medina 44256, or the American Heart Association, 1689 E. 115th St., Cleveland 44106.(Waite & Son, 723-3229.)
Akron Beacon Journal (OH)
Date: April 17, 1994
Robert de Ros, 1st Baron de Ros (c. 1223 - May 13, 1285), was an Englishnobleman and the first holder of the ancient title Baron de Ros.
He was grandson to Robert de Ros and Isabel Avenal, an illegitimate daughter of William I of Scotland and an elder Isabel Avenal. He was son to William de Ros d. 1264/1265) and Lucy Fitzpiers, daughter of Reginald FitzPiers, Lord of Blewleveney.
He was summoned to Parliament in 1264, during the reign of Henry III.
He was married to Isabel D'Albini, rich heiress of William Albini IV. They reportedly had eight children:
* William de Ros, 2nd Baron de Ros (1255 - 1317).
* Isabel de Ros (c. 1244 - June 12, 1356. Married de Fauconberge.
* Mary de Ros (1245 - May 23, 1326). Married William de Braose, son of John de Braose and Margaret ap Llewellyn. Margaret was a daughter of Llywelyn the Great.
* Joan de Ros (c. 1252 - October 13, 1348). Married John Lovell, 1st Baron Lovell of Tichmarch.
* Avelina de Ros. Married Sir John de Bohun of Midhurst. Alleged eighth-generation ancestor of Daniel Boone.
* Robert de Ros (1265 - 1361). Married "Ernberge".
* John de Ros, Bishop of Carlisle (d. 1332).
* Nicholas de Ros.
On July 3, 1257, Ros obtained from Henry III a grant of the free warren, in the lordship of Belvoir, by which the boundary was determined. In 1258, he was actively employed in Scotland, in delivering King Alexander III of Scotland out of the hands of his rebellious subjects; and at Chester, in resisting the hostile invasions of Llewelyn the Last. In the same year, he and his lady Isabel had a controversy with the Prior and Convent of Belvoir, relative to the right of presentation to the Church of Redmile (near Bottesford), which was amicably compromised by their relinquishing the patronage to the convent, for a certain compensation. In 1261 he obtained from the king the grant of a weekly market, to be held at Belvoir, on Tuesday; and of an annual fair on the feast of St John the Baptist, to continue for three days. In 1264, he was one of the insurgent barons who defeated Henry III at the battle of Lewes, and took him and the prince prisoner, confining them in Hungerford Castle. In 1264, de Ros was summoned to the parliament, which was called by the barons in the king's name. He died in 1285, and was buried at Kirkham.
Elmer's mother is Belle born August 1864 at Texas and his father is JackI. Reynolds born 01 Feb 1865 at Orstrom, PA, and died 24 Oct 1935 at ElPaso, TX, buried at McGill Pauper Cemetery. Belle may have died Aug. 9,1942 with burial at Evergreen Alameda Cemetery, El Paso.
Glen Boscaljon went home to be with his Lord and Savior on June 7, 2010after a long, hard and courageous battle with colon cancer. He wassurrounded by his loving family as the band of angels took him home.
Glen was born on July 18, 1935 in Armour SD. He was raised and went to school and college in Huron SD. Glen served proudly in the South Dakota National Guard for many years. Glen married Marlene Baker January 7, 1957 in Huron SD. They moved to California for a few years before finally settling back in Sioux Falls SD. Glen worked in sales for many years, but later in life changed careers and became a massage therapist before retiring.
Glen loved to hunt, fish, and tinker in his shop and help people. His passion was to cook for his family and friends. He enjoyed participating in his grandchildren's and great grandchildren's lives. Glen will be dearly missed by his family and many friends.
Glen is survived by his wife, Marlene Boscaljon, sister, Janet Dave, three sons, Martin Boscaljon, of Gillette WY, Ronald (Pam) Boscaljon, of Vero Beach FL, and David (Marcel) Boscaljon of Brandon SD, and seven grandchildren Tony Kenyon, Valerie Arens, Ashley Capalite, Chelsea, Alyssa, Nate and Cole Boscaljon, Three great grandchildren, Jayda Kenyon, Claire and Nathan Arens and many nieces and nephews. He was preceded in death by his Parents Marie and William Boscaljon.
The family will be present between 5:30pm and 7:00pm on Friday (6/11/2010) with a prayer service beginning at 6:30 pm all at the Miller Funeral Home (507 S. Main). A memorial service will be held Saturday (6/12/10) at Celebrate Church at 10:30am.
Peter Fitz-Herbert, Baron of Berstaple in Devonshire, the honor of whichhe obtained from King John with fifteen knight's fees, part of the landsof William de Braose, and he was made Governor of Pickering Castle inYorkshire, and Sheriff of that county by the same monarch. This Peter wasone of the barons named in Magna Carta and, by his signature, fourth inrank amongst the barons. He m. first, Alice, dau. of Robert Fitz Roger, agreat baron in Northumberland, Lord of Warkworth and Clavering, andsister of John, to whom Edward I gave the surname of Clavering, Lord ofCallaly in Northumberland. By this lady he had a son and heir, ReginaldFitz Peter. He m. secondly, Isabel, dau. and coheir of William de Braose,and widow of David Llewellin, Prince of Wales, and by the allianceacquired the lordships and castle of Blenlevenny and Talgarth in thecounty of Brecknock, with other possessions in Wales. He fortified hiscastle of Blenlevenny, and, dying in 1235, was s. by his son, ReginaldFitzPeter, Lord of Blenlevenny, [John Burke, History of the Commoners ofGreat Britain and Ireland, Vol. IV, R. Bentley, London, 1834, p. 728,Jones, of Llanarth]
Peter Fitz-Herbert, who, being very obsequious to King John, was reputed one of that prince's evil counsellors. In 1214, he was constituted governor of Pykering Castle, co. York, and sheriff of the shire; but afterwards falling off in his allegiance, his lands at Alcester were seized by the crown, and given to William de Camvill. Returning, however, to his duty upon the accession of Henry III, those lands were restored to him. He m. 1st, Alice, dau. of Roger Fitz-Roger, a great baron in Northumberland, but by her had no issue; and 2ndly, the 3rd dau. and co-heir of William de Braose, Baron of Brecknock, and d. 1235, leaving a son, Herbert Fitz-Peter. [Sir Bernard Burke, Dormant, Abeyant, Forfeited, and Extinct Peerages, Burke's Peerage, Ltd., London, 1883, p. 206, Fitz-Herbert, Baron Fitz-Herbert]
Niece of Ichabod and Elizabeth Trimble
WILLIAM MINER (MINOR, MYNAR) is listed as a resident paying taxes (one of13) in North Elm section of Chew Magna, Somersett, England in 1523 (Paid4p tax on goods assessed at 2£4s.). Wife unknown. He received a ChewMagna house and land grant on 29 Jun 1554 with his son Thomas and Thomas'wife, Joan. He was buried at Chew Magna on 23 February 1585/6.
He may be related to John Minere who appears on a Chew Magna manor account roll for the year 1494-5 as paying for the grass on 46 acres of meadow and to Joan Minere, a widow, who appears on that roll as paying a tax known as churchscot.
Jenell Rene Anderson, 36, of Tampa, Fla., formerly of Evansville, diedApril 1 in Tampa, from injuries sustained in a car accident in Tampa.
Surviving are a daughter, Lacey Anderson of Clarksville, Ind.; two sons, Jack and John Smith, both of Louisville, Ky.; her mother and father, Jonalee Wiggers of Clarksville, Tenn., and John Wiggers of Evansville; and two sisters, Jetti Milligan and Jolene Wiggers, both of Louisville.
Private services were Saturday in Louisville.
Evansville Courier & Press, 16 April 1997
Giles exchanged his 1200 acre manor at Walton-on-Thames with King HenryVIII for 200 pounds sterling and the recently dispossesed priory ofHatfield, Peverell in Essex County.
SIR WILLIAM DE ROS, son and heir, did homage for his inheritance; he wasincluded with his father in the special Bull of excommunication, January1215/6, and remained an active partisan of Prince Louis till the finalbattle of Lincoln, 19 May 1217, in which he was captured; he paid 20marks to be delivered from prison, and was handed over to his father inOctober 1217. In May 1224 he was sent to Poitou in the King's service,and in August took part in the siege of Bedford Castle. He witnessed thepromulgation of the Forest charter, February 1224/5, and accompaniedHenry in his expedition to France, 1230. In January 1235/6 he attestedthe confirmation of Magna Carta at Westminster, and in 1237 was of theescort of the King of Scots, to his meeting with Henry at York, attestingthe agreement between the two Kings. In 1242-43 his lands were seized forhis failure to attend, with his peers, the muster at Rhuddlan, August1241, and the King's expedition to France, May 1242. In 1244 he witnessedKing Alexander's letter to the Pope. He went on pilgrimage to Santiago in1252; was summoned, with his son Robert, for service in Scotland, 1257/8;for service against the Welsh, 1258 and later; to London, with all hisservice due, 1260 and 1261; in March 1263/4, for service in Wales, withattendance first at a Council at Oxford. He seems to have taken no partin the Barons' War, and was reputed to be loyal. He married Lucy. Hedied, probably in 1264, and was bur. at Kirkham. His widow was living inMichaelmas term, 1266. [Complete Peerage II:93-4]
District No. 3. - Amherst, Hadley, Hatfield, South Hadley - ALVIN L.WRIGHT, Republican, of South Hadley, was born in Easthampton, Oct. 28,1857; educated in public schools of South Hadley and Wesleyan Academy ofWilbraham. Farmer for several years; at present treasurer of South HadleyGas Company and president of Evergreen Cemetery association. On board ofselectmen in 1893-4 (clerk '03 and chairman '04). Tax collector 1904-5-6.Director Hampshire Street Railway Company since 1903; trustee Gaylordfree public library; member Mt. Holyoke lodge of Masons; past masterSouth Hadley Grange. On committee on ways and means in House, 1906: same,State House (chairman), 1907.
A Souvenir of Massachusetts legislators, 1907
Despite other info, the following could be possible ID:
GERALDINE J HESS, b. 12 Apr 1937, d. Dec 1990; SSN 501-78-7353 issued in North Dakota
Melvin B. Sundstrom, 86, of Lake Forest, a retired contracting officerfor NASA, died April 29, 2001, of natural causes. Arrangements by theNeptune Society of Riverside.
Wife, Alberta; son, Robert; daughter, Jennette Gant; six grandchildren; one great-grandchild.
The Orange County Register, Santa Ana, CA, 3 May 2001
Roddy, Michael J., Age 60. Of Mendota Heights. Died on February 24, 2006.Survived by wife Donna "Jerry"; daughter, Tracy; mother, Elizabeth Roddy;sisters, Carolyn (Doug) Wilskie, and Margaret (Kevin) Wills; nieces;nephews; grandniece; grandnephew; best friend Toby; special friend Gary;also other relatives and friends. Mass of Christian Burial 11:00 a.m.Tuesday at the CHURCH OF ST. PETER, 1405 Highway 13, Mendota. Privateinterment. Visitation 4-8 Monday at WILLWERSCHEID WEST-HEIGHTS CHAPEL,235 W. Wentworth Ave., West St. Paul. A special thanks to the neighborsfor their love and care.
St. Paul Pioneer Press, 26 February 2006
First wife was Joyce E. Steenwyk.
Lois Koch Landgraf 69, born November 17, 1938 in Evansville, died July6, 2008 in Indianapolis. She graduated from Indiana University in 1960with a degree in marketing and was a Gamma Alpha Chi member. Lois workedin advertising at Associated Dry Goods (May Company) in Cincinnati,Federated Department Stores in Milwaukee and U.S. Shoe Corporation inCincinnati. After moving to Indianapolis she co-owned and managed Koch'sBooks and Cards till 1994. She was the widow of Clarence (Tiny) Landgraf.She is survived by her step daughter and friend Tamara (Mark) LandgrafGilbert, granddaughter Alissa Gilbert, brother Malcolm Koch and specialnephew Willis Chandler and nieces Rebekka and Rachel Koch, plussisters-in-laws and brothers-in-laws and grand nieces and a grand nephew.Memorial services will be Monday July, 14 at 11 a.m. at St. Peter'sLutheran Church, 2525 East 11th Street. The family will greet friendsfrom 10 - 11 a.m. at the church. In lieu of flowers, memorialcontributions may be made to the St. Peter's Lutheran Church Organ Fund.Services entrusted to Feeney-Hornak Shadeland Mortuary.
IndyStar, 13 July 2008
Lillian Rose (Strubhar) Miller, 90, of Lebanon, died July 6, 2008, at theMercy Medical Center in Roseburg.
A funeral service was held July 10, 2008, at the Southside Church of Christ in Lebanon. A private family burial took place in the Lebanon I.O.O.F. Cemetery.
She was born Sept. 20, 1917, in Portland, the daughter of Herbert and Minnie (Fletcher) Kliewer. She moved to Sweet Home in 1941. She moved to Lebanon in 2005.
Mrs. Miller was an active member of the Highway 20 Church of Christ in Sweet Home.
Lillian married Wesely Strubhar on Jan. 3, 1937. He died March 4, 1991. She married Vernon Miller in Dallas, Texas, on Nov. 13, 1992.
She is survived by her husband Vernon Miller of Roseburg; sons Gary Strubhar of Roseburg and Ronald Strubhar of Portland; daughter Bonnie Morehead of Sweet Home; stepsons Richard Miller of Roseburg and Charles Miller of Houston, Texas; stepdaughter Nancy Kay Miller of Alberta, Canada; and many grandchildren, great-grandchildren and great-great-grandchildren.
Her first-born son Herbert Strubhar and brothers Glen and Verl died before she did.
The family requests memorial contributions are sent to the Highway 20 Church of Christ Upward Bound Ministry or the Agape Christian Church for Morning Glory School in Guatemala, in care of Huston-Jost Funeral Home, 86 W. Grant St., Lebanon, OR 97355.
Nettie, b. Aug 1879 Married Reed unlikely
Lina, b. Apr 1880
Jessie, b. Oct 1884
Millie, b. Nov 1894 - Too young
He was first married to Margaret Rae McIver
THIBEAU, WILLETTA - 1930 - 2011 - Willetta Thibeau, age 80, of 960 St.George Blvd. Moncton, and formerly of Ontario, passed away at herresidence, on Friday, January 21, 2011. Born in Comeauville, NS; she wasthe daughter of the late Charles E. and Celina (Doucette) Steele.Willetta was employed as a RNA in Ontario, before her retirement. Aloving mother, grandmother, sister and friend, Willetta will be sadlymissed by her daughter Stella Loiselle (Serge) of Sherbrooke, QC; hersons John Thibeau (Thongpoon) of Toronto, ON; and Gerald Thibeau ofWaterloo, ON; four sisters Celina St.Pierre (the late Leo), Estelle McGee(Duncan), Dellis Belliveau (the late Lionel) and June Bourgeois (Ola) allof Moncton; two brothers Charles Elton Steele (Mary Ellen) of Rochester,NY; and Joseph Steele of Lawrencetown, NS; three grandsons Stefan, Danieland David; three great grandchildren Bryson, Nathan and ?odie; as well asnieces and nephews. Besides her parents she is predeceased by her sisterGloria Norris and (her husband Rayburn) and by her sister Rose Martin(Norman). A memorial service will be held at Tuttle Brothers MemorialChapel, 171 Lutz St. Moncton on Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 11:00 amwith Father Phil Mulligan officiating. Donations in Willetta's memorymade to the Arthritis Society or to the charity of the donor's choicewould be appreciated by her family. Arrangements have been entrusted toTuttle Bros. Funeral Home 171 Lutz Street Moncton, NB.
Times & Transcript, 24 January 2011
Alberta Marie Sundstrom, 88, of Lake Forest, a homemaker, died Feb. 9,2006, of natural causes. Arrangements by Neptune Society of OrangeCounty, Costa Mesa.
Daughter, Jennette Gant; son, Robert; six grandchildren; three great-grandchildren.
The Orange County Register, Santa Ana, CA, 21 February 2006
HAMBLIN Lucy E. Age 86 of Cincinnati, passed away on Thursday November10, 2005 at Hospice of Cincinnati at Western Hills. On January 30, 1939in Harlan, Kentucky she married Robert G. Hamblin and he preceded her indeath on June 13, 1989 after 50 years of marriage. She is survived by hersons, Harold E. (Sue) Hamblin of Okeana and Jack G. (Donna) Hamblin ofCincinnati; daughter-in-law Sherry (Ray) Schutter of Cincinnati; sixgrandchildren. Lucy was also preceded in death by her son Ed L. Hamblin.Funeral service will be held at 11:00 A.M. on Tuesday, November 15, 2005at Ross Christian Church, 3750 Herman Road Hamilton, Ohio 45011. Burialwill follow at Arlington Memorial Gardens. Visitation will be held onehour prior to the service at the church. Family suggest contributions bemade in her memory to the church. Webb Noonan Funeral Home is serving thefamily.
Cincinnati.Com, 14 November 2005
William III de Cantilou (died September 25, 1254) was Baron ofAbergavenny in right of his wife. He was the son of William II deCantilou and Millicent de Gournay.
He married Eve de Braose, daughter of William de Braose, Lord of Abergavenny, and Eve Marshal, before 15 February 1247/48. They had three children:
1. Milicent de Cantelou, married (1) John de Montalt; (2) Eudo de la Zouche
2. Joan de Cantelou (died by June 1271), married Henry Hastings
3. George de Cantelou (died 1273).
He died "in the flower of his youth" in 1254. Simon de Montfort, a close friend of the family, was the chief mourner at William's funeral. His arms were: De gueules, à trois fleurs de lys d'or.
Congressman (Riksdagsman) and Juryman (Namndeman) at the time of hiswife's death in 1799. This are very prominent positions in the community.
Unmarried and witness at marriage of cousin, Helen Hahn.
Igor Riurikovich, or Ingvar Röreksson, ruled Kievan Rus from 912 to 945.Very little is known about him from the Primary Chronicle. It has beenspeculated that the chroniclers chose not to enlarge on his reign, as theregion was dominated by Khazaria at that time. That he was Rurik's son isalso questioned on chronological grounds.
He twice besieged Constantinople, in 941 and 944, and concluded with the Emperor a favourable treaty whose text is preserved in the chronicle. Igor was killed by Drevlians in 945 and revenged by his wife, Olga of Kiev.
First Married to Oscar Bunch, who died in 1998.
Olga (also called Olga Prekrasa, or Olga the Beauty, Old Norse: Helga)(died July 11, 969 in Kiev) was a Pskov woman of Varangian extraction whomarried the future Igor of Kiev, arguably in 903.
The Primary Chronicle gives 879 as her date of birth, which is rather unlikely, given the fact that her only son Svyatoslav was probably born some 65 years after that date. She spent great effort to avenge her husband's death at the hands of the Drevlians, and succeeded in slaughtering many of them. After Igor's death, she ruled Kievan Rus as regent (945-c.963) for their son, Svyatoslav.
She was the first Rus ruler to convert to Christianity, either in 945 or in 957. The ceremonies of her formal reception in Constantinople were minutely described by Emperor Constantine VII in his book De Ceremoniis. After her baptism she took the Christian name Yelena, after the reigning Empress Helena Lekapena.
Olga was one of the first people of Rus to be proclaimed saint, for her efforts to spread the Christian religion in the country. However, she failed to convert Svyatoslav, and it was left to her grandson and pupil Vladimir I to make Christianity the lasting state religion.
UNIVERSITY FACULTY RESUME
December 31, 2009
Name: Malcolm G. Koch
Rank: Instructor, Political Science, term appointment
Campus Address: 19 Business Administration
Ph.D. 1973, Brandeis University, Political Science
M.A. 1970, Brandeis University, Political Science
M.A. 1967, Fletcher School, Tufts University, International Affairs
B.A. 1966, Vanderbilt University, Political Science
1994 - 2007 First Tennessee Bank, Memphis, Tennessee
Vice President, International Department, 1995-2007
Manager, Credit Production, Credit Department, 1994
1989 - 1993 National Commercial Bank of Saudi Arabia
Group Head, Corporate Banking, Jeddah, 1992-1993
Group Head, Corporate Banking, Riyadh, 1989-1991
1987 - 1988 Deutsche Genossenschaftsbank, New York Branch
Vice President, Trade Finance, 1987-1988
1975 1986 Chemical Bank
Regional Manager, Trade Finance, Chicago, 1984-1986
General Manager, Bahrain Branch, 1981-1984
European Manager, Eastern Europe, Frankfurt, 1978-1981
Area Manager, Eastern Europe, New York, 1975-1978
1973 - 1974 Chase Manhattan Bank
Global Credit Department, Instructor, London, 1974
Global Credit Department, Trainee, New York, 1973
Faculty/Teaching Development Activities
2009 Administrative Retreat
Public Service/University Service
2009 University of Tennessee at Martin
Interim Director - Center for International Education
United States Department of Commerce null
Treasurer, Tennessee Export Council
2008 University of Tennessee at Martin
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
Committee on International Education and Activities
Canadian Studies Committee
Advisory Council, Center for Global Studies
United States Department of Commerce
Treasurer, Tennessee Export Council
THOMAS MINER of Chew Magna, Somerset, England was born roughly 1530 inChew Magna, son of William Miner. He married Joan [__?__] about 1554/9.He was a tailor and resident of Chew Magna in 1556 at which time it wasknown as a cloth making town. He was buried at Chew Magna on 15 November1573. An abstract of his will, dated 20 October 1573 and proved 15September 1574, survives. It indicated his desire to be buried in thechurch yard of Chew. To the church he granted 4 pence, to sons Clementand John a lamb each, to daughter Edith a lamb and a yearling heifer,residue to wife Joan, Executrix. To William Winch and Thomas Horte aswitnesses he granted each 20 pence. The inventory of his estate totaled16 pounds 5 shillings.
The manor court rolls show Joan succeeding her husband on 19 Jul 1574 under a grant of 29 Jun 1554. She was buried at Chew Magna on 21 December 1592.
Civil War participation:
Enlisted in Company E, Michigan 1st Cavalry Battalion on 31 Dec 1861. Mustered out on 28 Feb 1862.
Transferred to Company K, Michigan 16th Infantry Regiment on 28 Feb 1862. Mustered out on 26 Mar 1862 at Detroit, MI.
Enlisted in Company Dygert's, Michigan Dygert's Sharp Shooter Company on 13 Feb 1864. Mustered out on 08 Jul 1865 at Jeffersonville, IN.
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.
Geoffrey Fitz Peter, 1st Earl of Essex, (Piers de Lutegareshale), (b. ca. 1162), d. 1213, was a prominent part of the government of England during the reign of Richard I and John.
The patronymic is sometimes rendered Fitz Piers.
He was from a modest landowning family that had a tradition of service in mid-ranking posts under Henry II. Geoffrey's elder brother Simon was at various times sheriff of Northamptonshire, Buckinghamshire, and Bedfordshire. Geoffrey, too, got his start in this way, as sheriff of Northamptonshire for the last five years of Henry II's reign.
Around this time Geoffrey married Beatrice de Say, daughter and eventual co-heiress of William de Say. He was the son of William de Say, 3rd Baron de Say, and Beatrice, sister of Geoffrey de Mandeville, 1st Earl of Essex. This connection with the Mandeville family was to prove unexpectedly important.
In 1184 Geoffrey's father-in-law died, and he received a share of the de Say inheritance.
When Richard I left on crusade, he appointed Geoffrey one of the five judges of the king's court, and thus a principal advisor to bishop Hugh of Durham, who was chief justiciar was one of the regents during the king's absence. Later that year, Geoffrey's wife's cousin William de Mandeville, 3rd Earl of Essex died, leaving no direct heirs. His inheritance was disputed between Geoffrey and his in-laws, and Geoffrey used his political influence to eventually obtain it for himself.
On July 11, 1198 King Richard appointed Geoffrey 'Chief Justiciar', which at that time effectively made him the king's principal minister. He continued in this capacity after the accession of king John. On his coronation day the new king also recognized Geoffrey as Earl of Essex.
* m. Beatrice de Say.
* m. Aveline, daughter of Roger de Clare, Earl of Hertford.
Children of Beatrice: (note that his sons by this marriage took the de Mandeville surname)
o Geoffrey de Mandeville, 2nd Earl of Essex.
o William FitzGeoffrey de Mandeville, 3rd Earl of Essex.
o Henry, Dean of Wolverhampton.
o Maud Fitzgeoffrey, who married Henry de Bohun, 1st Earl of Hereford.
Children of Aveline:
o John Fitzgeoffrey, Lord of Shere and Justiciar of Ireland.
o Cecily Fitzgeoffrey.
o Hawise Fitzgeoffrey.
Geoffrey's first two sons died without issue. Apparently the earldom was associated with their mother's Mandeville heritage, for the earldom was inherited by the husband of their sister instead of their half-brother.
Olaf was the first King of Sweden to become Christian.
Olof of Sweden or Olof Skötkonung/Skottkonung (the meaning of the cognomen is disputed) was the son of Eric the Victorious and Sigrid the Haughty. He was probably born in the latter part of the 960s and he succeeded his father ca 994. Our knowledge of Olof is mostly based on Snorri Sturluson's accounts, which have been subject to criticism from source-critical scholars.
According to the Sagas, his father Eric the Victorious ruled together with Eric's brother Olof Björnsson. When Olof Björnsson died, Olof was proclaimed co-ruler instead of his cousin Styrbjörn Starke. This happened before he even was born. At his father's death, he inherited the throne of Sweden and became its sole ruler.
In a Viking expedition to Wendland, he had captured Edla, the daughter of a Wendish chieftain, and she gave him the son Emund (who was to become king of Sweden), and the daughter Astrid. He later married Estrid, a christian girl and she bore him the son Anund Jacob and the daughter Ingegerd Olofsdotter.
Olof is said to have preferred royal sports to war and therefore, Sweyn Forkbeard retook Denmark, which Olof's father Eric had conquered. Olof also lost the right to tribute which his predecessors long had preserved in the Baltic States.
In 1000, he allied with Sweyn Forkbeard, who was married to Olof's mother, and with the Norwegian Jarls Eric and Sven, against the Norwegian ing Olaf Tryggvason. Olaf Tryggvason died in the Battle of Svolder and Olof gained a part of Trøndelag as well as modern Bohuslän
When the Norwegian kingdom was reestablished by Olaf II of Norway, a new war errupted between Norway and Sweden. Many men in both Sweden and Norway tried to reconcile the kings. In 1018, the earl of Westrogothia, Ragnvald Ulfsson and the Norwegian king's emissaries Björn Stallare and Halte Skeggesson had arrived at the thing of Uppsala to sway the Swedish king to accept peace and as a warrant marry his daughter Ingegerd Olofsdotter to the king of Norway. The Swedish king was greatly angered and threatened to banish Ragnvald from his kingdom, but Ragnvald was supported by his foster-father Thorgny Lawspeaker, who was the wisest and most respected man in Sweden.
Thorgny rose and held a powerful speech where he reminded the king of the great Viking expeditions in the East that predecessors such as Erik Eymundsson and Björn had undertaken, without having the hubris not to listen to his men's advice. Torgny, himself, had taken part in many sucessful pillaging expeditions with Olof's father Eric the Victorious and even Eric had listened to his men. The present king wanted nothing but Norway, which no Swedish king before him had desired. This displeased the Swedish people, who was eager to follow the king on new ventures in the East to win back the kingdoms that payed tribute to his ancestors, but it was the wish of the people that the king make peace with the king of Norway and give him his daughter Ingegerd as queen.
Thorgny finished his speech by saying: if you do not desire to do so, we shall assault you and kill you and not brook anymore of your warmongering and obstinacy. Our ancestors have done so, who at Mula thing threw five kings in a well, kings who were too arrogant as you are against us.
These arguments convinced Olof to follow his people's advice. However, Olof showed no signs of wanting to keep his promise, but married his daughter to Yaroslav I the Wise instead, and then the Swedes became restless. However, the impending rebellion was settled when Olof accepted to share his power with his son Anund Jacob. Olof was also made to accept a settlement with Olaf II of Norway at Kungahälla, who already had been married (unbeknownst to Olof) with Olof's daugher, Astrid, through the Geatish jarl Ragnvald Ulfsson.
Olof was baptised, probably by the missionary Sigfrid the Holy, ca 1000, and he was the first Swedish king to remain christian until his death. However, according to Adam of Bremen, the fact that the vast majority of the Swedes were still pagan, forced him to limit the christian activities to the already christian border province of Westrogothia.
His death is said to have taken place, in the winter of 1020-1021.
Since the 1740s, it has been claimed that he was buried in Husaby in the christian part of his kingdom, but it should be noted that such identifications are speculation, and by no means uncontroversial.
BROWN, Gerald Douglas "Bud" - 81, Kentville, passed away Thursday, August16, 2007, in Valley Regional Hospital, Kentville. Born in Kentville, hewas a son of the late Albert and Harriett (Schofield) Brown. He had beenemployed with security for many years with the former Nova ScotiaSanatorium and the Blanchard Fraser Memorial Hospital, as well as theValley Regional Hospital. He is survived by sons, Donald (Shirley) Brown,Glenmont; Wayne (Elizabeth) Brown, Kentville; grandchildren, Matthew(Cindy), Wetaskiwin, Alta.; Kenneth and Eric, at home; Kirk, New Minas;Angela (Morgan) Swinamer, Kentville; great-grandchildren, Alison Brown,Kaija Cashin-Brown, and Ashlea Swinamer. He was predeceased by his wife,Muriel "Tooky" (Pearl) Brown; son, Bobby, in infancy; brothers, Ted, Jim,and Walter; sisters, Hazel and Marjorie. Visitation will be held from 7-9p.m. on Monday, August 20, in White Family Funeral Home, Kentville, wherethe funeral service will be held at 2 p.m. on Tuesday, August 21, Rev.Robert Billings officiating. A private family burial will take place inElm Grove Cemetery, Steam Mill, Kings Co. Donations in memory may be madeto the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Nova Scotia or The LungAssociation. Funeral arrangements have been entrusted to White FamilyFuneral Home, Kentville.
Halifax Herald, 18 August 2007
He was in Plymouth in 1667 through 1671 and after 1673 in Martha'sVineyard. Dr. Thomas is the ancestor of all that name on Martha'sVineyard. He was a man of great skill and ability and was the first knownphysician on Martha's Vineyard. He also seems to have been a lawyer ofsome rank because he was called "the King's Attorney" in 1681 and "TheirMajesties Attorney" in 1690. he joined the Chase family, near Homes Hole,where he bought thirty acres from Ponit, the Indian Sachem, and lateracquired several hundred acres on the west side of the lagoon. In 1700,the households of Thomas West, isaac Chase & William Cottle comprised thetown and numbered twenty-seven persons. By 1702 the Wests alone numberedthirty persons.
Dr. West and his wife became members of the Sabbatarian Church in Newport, RI in 1692. In 1702 he was excommunicated for not keeping the tenets of the church. His family, however, continued in good standing. At least six of the descendants of Dr. West were graduates of Harvard before 1800 and were distinguished clergymen in New England. His will dated 15 Jan 1697/98 mentions his six sons, but not his daughters, who however, are mentioned in a division of his real estate in 1722. His will also mentions "my brother Nathaniel Skiff."
Conrad F. Hernlem, 78, Zumbrota, died Thursday at his home. He was bornDecember 24, 1918, to Christ and Olive (Schultz) Hernlem in Suring, Wis.He served in the military during World War II. He attended the Universityof Minnesota Agriculture School and farmed for many years. He marriedIsabelle Carlson Dec. 27, 1947. After retiring from farming, he worked atLexvold Oil and then at Zumbrota Nursing Home. He enjoyed camping,gardening and cards. He was a member of Christ Lutheran Church, Zumbrota.
He is survived by his wife; three daughters, Linda (Bob) Quast of Zumbrota, Margaret (Pete) Coleman of Rochester and Becky Jo (Butch) Birmingham of Zumbrota; and five grandchildren. He was preceded in death by one brother, Paul.
Funeral will be at 10 a.m. Saturday at Christ Lutheran Church with Rev. Carl Ziemer officiating. Burial will be in Zumbrota Cemetery
Thomas was an "innholder", a "Mariner", and "Pilot" in Martha's Vineyard.He died early in 1728 from exposure and disease contracted as a result ofa shipwreck in the West Indies. His death occurred in RI. His estate wasadministered by his father-in-law, Stephen Presbury, 7 May 1728 and finaldegree in probate was rendered 3 Oct 1732.
Sviatoslav I, Prince of Kiev (c.945 - 972) was the warrior Varangian prince of Kiev, who carved out for himself the largest state in Europe and finally moved his capital to Pereyaslavets in Bulgaria in 969.
We have no information about Svyatoslav's minority and youth, which he spent reigning in Novgorod. His mother, Saint Olga, ruled as Kievan regent until his majority (c.963). Sviatoslav was notorious as a stubborn pagan who rejected the Christianity, which had been embraced by his mother ca 945.
Svyatoslav's life was spent with his druzhina in permanent warfare against neighbouring states. During his reign, he created an empire that stretched from the Volga to the Danube. His greatest success was the conquest of Khazaria, which for centuries had been one of the strongest states of Eastern Europe. By 965 he also defeated the Volga Bulgars, thus bringing under Kievan control the entire area of the Volga River. Then, as an ally of the Byzantine Empire, which was at war with the Bulgars, Sviatoslav decisively defeated the Bulgars of the Danube (968), thereby paving the way for victories of Basil the Bulgar-Slayer.
In moving his capital to Bulgaria, Svyatoslav intended to make it the center of his extensive empire. He was forced to give up the Balkan lands (971), however, in a war with the Byzantine Emperor John I. His unorthodox appearance was noted by the Greeks, who described him as having shaved one side of his head, and having a single large gold earring. During his return from the abysmal Byzantine campaign, Sviatoslav was ambushed and killed by the Pechenegs (972). According to the Primary Chronicle, his skull was made into a chalice by the Pecheneg khan.
Edward Gibbon upon Svyatoslav's war with Byzantium
The Russian traders had seen the magnificence, and tasted the luxury of the city of the Caesars. A marvellous tale, and a scanty supply, excited the desires of their savage countrymen: they envied the gifts of nature which their climate denied; they coveted the works of art, which they were too lazy to imitate and too indigent to purchase; the Varangian princes unfurled the banners of piratical adventure, and their bravest soldiers were drawn from the nations that dwelt in the northern isles of the ocean. The image of their naval armaments was revived in the last century, in the fleets of the Cossacks, which issued from the Borysthenes, to navigate the same seas for a similar purpose. The Greek appellation of monoxyla, or single canoes, might justly be applied to the bottom of their vessels. It was scooped out of the long stem of a beech or willow, but the slight and narrow foundation was raised and continued on either side with planks, till it attained the length of sixty, and the height of about twelve, feet. These boats were built without a deck, but with two rudders and a mast; to move with sails and oars; and to contain from forty to seventy men, with their arms, and provisions of fresh water and salt fish.
Yet the threats or calamities of a Russian war were more frequently diverted by treaty than by arms. In these naval hostilities, every disadvantage was on the side of the Greeks; their savage enemy afforded no mercy: his poverty promised no spoil; his impenetrable retreat deprived the conqueror of the hopes of revenge; and the pride or weakness of empire indulged an opinion, that no honour could be gained or lost in the intercourse with Barbarians.
At first their demands were high and inadmissible, three pounds of gold for each soldier or mariner of the fleet: the Russian youth adhered to the design of conquest and glory; but the counsels of moderation were recommended by the hoary sages. "Be content," they said, "with the liberal offers of Caesar; it is not far better to obtain without a combat the possession of gold, silver, silks, and all the objects of our desires? Are we sure of victory? Can we conclude a treaty with the sea? We do not tread on the land; we float on the abyss of water, and a common death hangs over our heads."
The memory of these Arctic fleets that seemed to descend from the polar circle left deep impression of terror on the Imperial city. By the vulgar of every rank, it was asserted and believed, that an equestrian statue in the square of Taurus was secretly inscribed with a prophecy, how the Russians, in the last days, should become masters of Constantinople. In our own time, a Russian armament, instead of sailing from the Borysthenes, has circumnavigated the continent of Europe; and the Turkish capital has been threatened by a squadron of strong and lofty ships of war, each of which, with its naval science and thundering artillery, could have sunk or scattered a hundred canoes, such as those of their ancestors. Perhaps the present generation may yet behold the accomplishment of the prediction, of a rare prediction, of which the style is unambiguous and the date unquestionable.
By land the Russians were less formidable than by sea; and as they fought for the most part on foot, their irregular legions must often have been broken and overthrown by the cavalry of the Scythian hordes. Yet their growing towns, however slight and imperfect, presented a shelter to the subject, and a barrier to the enemy: the monarchy of Kiow, till a fatal partition, assumed the dominion of the North; and the nations from the Volga to the Danube were subdued or repelled by the arms of Swatoslaus, the son of Igor, the son of Ruric. The vigour of his mind and body was fortified by the hardships of a military and savage life. Wrapped in a bear-skin, Swatoslaus usually slept on the ground, his head reclining on a saddle; his diet was coarse and frugal, and, like the heroes of Homer, his meat (it was often horse-flesh) was broiled or roasted on the coals. The exercise of war gave stability and discipline to his army; and it may be presumed, that no soldier was permitted to transcend the luxury of his chief.
By an embassy from Nicephorus, the Greek emperor, he was moved to undertake the conquest of Bulgaria; and a gift of fifteen hundred pounds of gold was laid at his feet to defray the expense, or reward the toils, of the expedition. An army of sixty thousand men was assembled and embarked; they sailed from the Borysthenes to the Danube; their landing was effected on the Maesian shore; and, after a sharp encounter, the swords of the Russians prevailed against the arrows of the Bulgarian horse. The vanquished king sunk into the grave; his children were made captive; and his dominions, as far as Mount Haemus, were subdued or ravaged by the northern invaders.
But instead of relinquishing his prey, and performing his engagements, the Varangian prince was more disposed to advance than to retire; and, had his ambition been crowned with success, the seat of empire in that early period might have been transferred to a more temperate and fruitful climate. Swatoslaus enjoyed and acknowledged the advantages of his new position, in which he could unite, by exchange or rapine, the various productions of the earth. By an easy navigation he might draw from Russia the native commodities of furs, wax, and hydromed: Hungary supplied him with a breed of horses and the spoils of the West; and Greece abounded with gold, silver, and the foreign luxuries, which his poverty had affected to disdain. The bands of Patzinacites, Chozars, and Turks, repaired to the standard of victory; and the ambassador of Nicephorus betrayed his trust, assumed the purple, and promised to share with his new allies the treasures of the Eastern world. From the banks of the Danube the Russian prince pursued his march as far as Adrianople; a formal summons to evacuate the Roman province was dismissed with contempt; and Swatoslaus fiercely replied, that Constantinople might soon expect the presence of an enemy and a master.
Nicephorus could no longer expel the mischief which he had introduced; but his throne and wife were inherited by John Zimisces, who, in a diminutive body, possessed the spirit and abilities of a hero. The first victory of his lieutenants deprived the Russians of their foreign allies, twenty thousand of whom were either destroyed by the sword, or provoked to revolt, or tempted to desert. Thrace was delivered, but seventy thousand Barbarians were still in arms; and the legions that had been recalled from the new conquests of Syria, prepared, with the return of the spring, to march under the banners of a warlike prince, who declared himself the friend and avenger of the injured Bulgaria. The passes of Mount Haemus had been left unguarded; they were instantly occupied; the Roman vanguard was formed of the immortals (a proud imitation of the Persian style), the emperor led the main body of ten thousand five hundred foot; and the rest of his forces followed in slow and cautious array, with the baggage and military engines. The first exploit of Zimisces was the reduction of Marcianopolis, or Peristhlaba, in two days; the trumpets sounded; the walls were scaled; eight thousand five hundred Russians were put to the sword; and the sons of the Bulgarian king were rescued from an ignominious prison, and invested with a nominal diadem.
After these repeated losses, Swatoslaus retired to the strong post of Drista, on the banks of the Danube, and was pursued by an enemy who alternately employed the arms of celerity and delay. The Byzantine galleys ascended the river, the legions completed a line of circumvallation; and the Russian prince was encompassed, assaulted, and famished, in the fortifications of the camp and city. Many deeds of valour were performed; several desperate sallies were attempted; nor was it till after a siege of sixty-five days that Swatoslaus yielded to his adverse fortune. The liberal terms which he obtained announce the prudence of the victor, who respected the valour, and apprehended the despair, of an unconquered mind. The great duke of Russia bound himself, by solemn imprecations, to relinquish all hostile designs; a safe passage was opened for his return; the liberty of trade and navigation was restored; a measure of corn was distributed to each of his soldiers; and the allowance of twenty-two thousand measures attests the loss and the remnant of the Barbarians.
After a painful voyage, they again reached the mouth of the Borysthenes; but their provisions were exhausted; the season was unfavourable; they passed the winter on the ice; and, before they could prosecute their march, Swatoslaus was surprised and oppressed by the neighbouring tribes with whom the Greeks entertained a perpetual and useful correspondence. Far different was the return of Zimisces, who was received in his capital like Camillus or Marius, the saviours of ancient Rome. But the merit of the victory was attributed by the pious emperor to the mother of God; and the image of the Virgin Mary, with the divine infant in her arms, was placed on a triumphal car, adorned with the spoils of war, and the ensigns of Bulgarian royalty. Zimisces made his public entry on horseback; the diadem on his head, a crown of laurel in his hand; and Constantinople was astonished to applaud the martial virtues of her sovereign.
Vsevolod I Yaroslavich (1030 - 13 April 1093) ruled as grand prince ofKiev from 1076 until his death. He was the fourth and favourite son ofYaroslav I the Wise by Ingigerd Olafsdottir. To back up an armisticesigned with the Byzantine Empire in 1046, he married a daughter of theEmperor Constantine IX and had by her a son, the future Vladimir Monomakh.
Upon his father's death in 1054, he received in appanage the towns of Pereyaslav, Rostov, Suzdal, and Beloozero which would remain in possession of his descendants until the end of Middle Ages. Together with his elder brothers Izyaslav and Svyatoslav he formed a sort of princely triumvirate which jointly waged war on the steppe people and compiled the first East Slavic law code. In 1067 Vsevolod's Greek wife died and he presently married a Kypchak princess. She brought him another son, who drowned after the Battle of the Stugna River, and two daughters, one becoming a nun and another Empress of Germany.
Upon Svyatoslav's death in 1077 he inherited the Kievan throne, but ceded it to the banished Izyaslav in return for his patrimony of Chernigov. Izyaslav died next year and was succeeded by Vsevolod. He was versed in Greek learning and spoke 5 languages. Last years of his reign were clouded by grave illness, and Vladimir Monomakh actually presided over the government.
Sir John de Croft; summoned to serve beyond the seas 7 July 1297.[Burke's Peerage]
Eleanor survived Hugh and married 2nd John Trummayn. [Burke's Peerage]
Name on marriage index is Esther D. Wright. Given her age she may havebeen a widow.
The 1860 census lists three other people living with the Esther and Horace. One was Horace E. Wright, who died a year later.
My specutaliton is that the other two are children from a previous marriage. Those two are Robert D. Wright, born about 1839 in Missouri, and Roinna, born about 1846 in Missouri.
Eric the Victorious (VI), Old Norse: Eiŕıkr inn sigrsæli, Modern Swedish: Erik Segersäll, (970?- 995), was king of the Swedes during the second half of the 10th century.
The extent of his kingdom is disputed. In addition to the Swedish heartland round lake Mälaren it may have extended down the Baltic Sea coast as far south as Blekinge.
The Norse sagas relate that he was the son of Björn Eriksson and that he ruled together with his brother Olof Björnsson. He married Sigrid the Haughty, the daughter of the legendary Viking Skagul Toste, but would later divorce her and give her Götaland as a fief. Before this happened, his brother Olof died, and a new co-ruler had to be appointed. The Swedes refused to accept his rowdy nephew Styrbjörn Starke as his co-ruler and the controversy was settled when Eric suggested that the new co-ruler would be his and Sigrid's unborn child, on condition that it was a son. Styrbjörn was given 60 longships by Eric and sailed away to live as a Viking. Styrbjörn would become the ruler of Jomsborg and an ally and brother-in-law of the Danish king Harold Bluetooth. Styrbjörn returned to Sweden with a major Danish army, which Eric defeated on the Fyris Wolds at Old Uppsala.
According to Adam of Bremen, Eric would conquer Denmark and chase away its king Sweyn Forkbeard and proclaimed himself the king of Sweden and Denmark which he ruled until his death which would have taken place in 994 or 995. He is said to have been baptised in Denmark, but later returned to the Norse gods.
In all probability he founded the town of Sigtuna, which still exists and where the first Swedish coins were stamped for his son and successor Olof Skötkonung.
However, Adam of Bremen only gives Emund Eriksson as predecessor to Eric the Victorious, but it is possible that Emund and Björn were co-rulers, like Erik and Olof and their semi-legendary ancestors Björn at Hauge and Anund Uppsale.
Harold Bluetooth Gormson (Old Norse: Haraldr blátönn Danish: Harald Blåtand, Norwegian: Harald Blåtann, German: Harald Blauzahn) (c. 958 - November 1, 986), sometimes Harold II, succeeded his father Gorm the Old as king of Denmark in 958 (or 959) and was king of Norway for a few years, probably around 970.
Although his predecessors had accepted Christianity at the instigation of the Frankish Carolingian kings in 826, heathendom remained extant among Danes and northerners for centuries. Harald Bluetooth embraced Christianity around 963, but whether this was a purely political move or the result of an actual conversion on Harald's part is impossible to say. His son Sweyn (Forkbeard) was baptized along with the rest of the royal family, and given the name of the Holy Roman emperor Otto the Great. Harold was wounded in battle against the forces of his son and successor Sweyn. He is believed to have died on November 1st, 986, although 985 and 987 are also mentioned, and is best remembered for having erected a large runic stone at Jelling:
"Harold, king, bade these memorials to be made after Gorm, his father, and Thyra, his mother. The Harald who won the whole of Denmark and Norway and turned the Danes to Christianity."
Norway was ruled by his vassal Håkon Jarl, who had joined with Harold Bluetooth in a conspiracy against Harald Greyhide, and who now in reality controlled the country. Håkon Jarl broke his alliance when King Harold attempted to force Christianity upon him. Having resisted subsequent attack from Denmark, Håkon became de facto sole ruler of ruler of Norway to 995.
Harold may have had three wives or consorts: Thora, Gunhilde and Gyrid (the niece of the Swedish king Eric the Victorious). He is believed to have had four children: Håkon, Sweyn I, Gunhild and Tyra (who married Styrbjörn Starke).
Mr. Emmett Clifford Gill, Jr., 84, passed away on Wednesday, May 6, 2009,at his residence. He was born in Fort Gaines, Ga., on November 1, 1924,to the late Emmett and Tamzy (Hasty) Gill. Prior to retirement from theU.S. Navy after 27 years of services, he started the Gill Well & Pumpservices in Keystone Heights where he had been a long time resident andDeacon of the Trinity Baptist Church. He is survived by his wife ofeleven years, Bessie Hansen Gill; children, Dawn Thompson (James) ofLoudon, Tenn.; Dr. Bud Gill (Karen) of Vero Beach, Fla.; Pastor Dick Gill(Edwina) of Dawson, Ga.; Pastor Danny Gill (Arlene) of Geneva, Ala.; Rev.Jeff Gill (Tanya) of Hawthorne, Fla.; Tammy McInarnay (Michael) & RichardHansen(Kimberly) both of Jacksonville; siblings, Earl Gill of Parrott,Ga.; Annette Norman of Keystone Heights; and Melba Sands of Dowling Park,Fla.; 24 grandchildren and 28 great-grandchildren. He is preceded indeath by his first wife, Louise. Funeral services will be held onMonday, May 11 at the Trinity Baptist Church. Burial followed at theKeystone Heights Cemetery. The family asks that contributions be made tothe Trinity Baptist Bldg. Fund, P.O. Box 1099, Keystone Heights or HavenHospice of the Lakes, 6400 St. Johnʼs Ave., Palatka, Fla., 32177.Arrangements are under the care of Jones-Gallagher Funeral Home, 340 E.Walker Dr. Keystone Heights, Fla., 32656. 352-473-3176.www.jonesgallagherfh.com
Clipping, hand notation: " 1945, Cassie Knowlton"
MRS. B.W. SKINNER
MAHONE BAY, Jan. 12 - The community was shocked today to learn of the sudden passing of one of its most esteemed residents, Mrs. B.W. Skinner, 53, wife of Dr. B.W. Skinner, resident physician. Mrs. Skinner had been in failing health for some time but her death early last evening came as a surprise to friends far and near.
Mrs. Skinner was born at Cambridge, Kings County, and was the daughter of Mrs. Minnie Knowlton and the late E.W. Knowlton, Cambridge. A graduate of the Provincial Normal School, she taught at Bear river, Digby, Parrsboro, and Canning schools before her marriage in 1920 to Dr. B.W. Skinner, a graduate of McGill, who was practicing at Hubbards following his return from overseas where he had served with the Hospital Corps in Mesopotamia.
The deceased was an active supporter of the various social and welfare organizations of the community. She was a member of the United Baptist Church and served for many years as a member of the choir and Women's Missionary Society.
She is survived by her husband, Dr. Skinner and daughter, Betty. Also surviving are her mother, Mrs. Minnie Knowlton; two brothers, J.P. Knowlton, Kentville, and F.D. Knowlton, Standard, Alberta; and one sister, Mrs. Charles Compton, Winnipeg, Manitoba.
Funeral arrangements have not yet been completed but a service will be held at Mahone Bay and Cambridge where interment will take place.
The sincere sympathy of the community is extended to the bereaved family.
Pastor Paul F. Nolting, age 81, of Eau Claire died Tuesday, March 22,2005, at the Clairemont Nursing Home.
Pastor Nolting was born on April 28, 1923, in Brooklyn, N.Y., the second son of Pastor Karl and Lucy (Plage) Nolting. He grew up in Frontenac, Minn. He attended Martin Luther College in New Ulm, Minn., graduating from the high school department in 1939 and the college department in 1944. He was graduated from the Wisconsin Lutheran Seminary in Thiensville, Wis., in 1947 and assigned to serve as a tutor at Martin Luther College in New Ulm, Minn., for the following year. In 1969, Pastor Nolting earned a masterʼs degree in political science from Mankato State University in Mankato, Minn.
Pastor Nolting married Eva Bartz in June, 1948. The couple was blessed with four children, Ruth, Susan, Paul and Beth. After his first wife died in July of 1991, Pastor Nolting married Betty Oster in June of 1992. He was blessed with eight stepsons, Glenn, Dennis, David, Jon, Daniel, Philip, Darin and Gerald.
Pastor Nolting served in the public ministry for 50 years from 1948 to 1998. He served congregations within the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod (WELS) in Pelican Lake, Minn., and Sleepy Eye, Minn., before leaving that church body in 1959 for reasons of conscience and helping to form a new church body, the Church of the Lutheran Confession (CLC). Pastor Nolting served congregations within the CLC in Sleepy Eye, Minn.; West Columbia, S.C.; Ketchikan, Alaska; Austin, Texas; Dallas, Texas; Alexandria, Va.; Loveland, Colo.; and Rochester, N.Y., before retiring to Eau Claire, Wis. After his retirement, Pastor Nolting served as a vacancy pastor in Sister Lakes, Mich., and Fridley, Minn. Pastor Nolting served for many years as the secretary of the CLC, the editor of Ministry by Mail, and a regular contributor to The Lutheran Spokesman and the Journal of Theology.
Pastor Nolting is survived by his wife, Betty; his children, Ruth (Dennis) Ahrens of Valentine, Neb., Susan (Steve) Lentz of Eau Claire, Paul (Sara) Nolting of Mankato, Minn., and Beth (Mark) Kranz of Eau Claire; eight stepsons, Glenn (Harriet) of West Columbia, S.C., Dennis (Chris) of Eau Claire, David (Mary) of Sioux Falls, S.D., Jon of Eau Claire, Dan of Arlington, Texas, Philip of Crivitz, Wis., Darin (Kathleen) of Eau Claire and Gerald (Anya) of Eau Claire; 12 grandchildren; 21 step grandchildren; two step great-grandchildren; two brothers, Carl (Nita) Nolting of Pompano Beach, Fla., and Albert (Marie) Nolting of Burnsville, Minn.; nieces and nephews.
Pastor Nolting was preceded in death by his wife, Eva.
A victory celebration will be at 1:30 p.m. on Monday, March 28, 2005, at Messiah Lutheran Church, 2015 N. Hastings Way in Eau Claire. Family will receive friends one hour prior to the services at church. Interment will be at a later date.
Evergreen Funeral Home is serving the family.
Married: 5 Aug 1762
Sir Hugh de Croft, KB (1305); present at a tournament at Dunstable, Beds.1308; Sheriff of Salop and Staffs, Constable of Bruges and ShrewsburyCastle 1311, MP Herefs 1312; summoned 1313 and 1315 to raise troopsagainst the Scots; present at a tournament in Stepney; and was murderedby the Lacys, to whom he was sent to treat for peace in Ireland.
SSN and place of death based on Eva Nolting b. 10/4/1920, so this couldbe wrong
Hugh de Montfort, who, on account of his mother being so great anheiress, assumed the name of Montfort, inherited all the possessions ofhis grandfather and was called Hugh the fourth. This Hugh, havingm.Adeline, dau. of Robert, Earl of Mellent, joined with Waleran, herbrother, and all those who endeavoured to advance William, son of RobertCurthose, against King Henry I in 1124, and entering Normandy for thatpurpose, he was made prisoner, with the said Waleran, and confined forthe fourteen years ensuing. The time of his death is not ascertainedbuthe left issue, Robert; Thurstan; Adeline, m. to William de Britolio;Ada,m. to Richard, son of the Earl of Gloucester. He was s. by his elderson, Robert de Montfort. [Sir Bernard Burke, Dormant, Abeyant, Forfeitedand Extinct Peerages, Burke's Peerage Ltd, London, England, 1883, p. 377,Montfort, Barons Montfort]
HTML created by Java Test Program written by Bill Sundstrom on Friday, 23 November 2012 at 22:11 UTC